Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,116 Members 47,971 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Global Radio?

Tip us?
 
xM Minton Mx
Old
#1  
xM Minton Mx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 94
Posts: 443
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sikeston

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Global Radio?

Just out of curiosity for my roommate here with me in Qatar, I have a question... I don't think it's even possible but I told him I would do some research. Is there a way to make the inspire 4G pick up quad band umts like my incredible 2 does? For instance like flashing a different radio? Thanks for any feedback

Sent from my skyraider Incredible 2 using xda premium
 
Agoattamer
Old
#2  
Agoattamer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 486
Posts: 2,064
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
Without trying to be too short, no.
Samsung I717R Note
I717RUXMD1 Rogers Deodexed Stock JB ROM

Samsung I497 10.1 Tab2
I497UCBMF2 stock JB

HTC HD2 T9193
Winmo 6.5 Energy.Leo.29022.Sense2.5.Jul.04
2.12.50.02_2 RADIO
The Following User Says Thank You to Agoattamer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
drkamaldeep
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 48
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Delhi
Android's Radio Interface Layer (RIL) provides an abstraction layer between Android telephony services (android.telephony) and radio hardware. The RIL is radio agnostic, and includes support for Global System for Mobile communication (GSM)-based radios.
The Android radio interface is radio-agnostic and the Vendor RIL can use any protocol to communicate with the radio. Android provides a reference Vendor RIL, using the Hayes AT command set, that you can use as a quick start for telephony testing and a guide for commercial vendor RILs

A signal at baseband is often used to modulate a higher frequency carrier wave in order that it may be transmitted via radio. Modulation results in shifting the signal up to much higher frequencies (radio frequencies, or RF) than it originally spanned. A key consequence of the usual double-sideband amplitude modulation (AM) is that, usually, the range of frequencies the signal spans (its spectral bandwidth) is doubled

The simplest definition is that a signal's baseband bandwidth is its bandwidth before modulation and multiplexing

SO I guess HD DESIRE HD listens to 2100 band FOR 3G
while HTC INSPIRE 1900 BAND FOR 3G
AND 3G IN INDIA HAS 2100 BAND

So i guess it should make things work

Im not sure about everything.
Waiting for adminsitrators and senior members to correct me
 
Agoattamer
Old
#4  
Agoattamer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 486
Posts: 2,064
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agoattamer View Post
Without trying to be too short, no.
It is a hardware thing. No genius explanation needs to be given. And Inspire 4G/Telus Desire HD is HSDPA 850 / 1900. European/Asain Desire HD is HSDPA 900 / 2100.
Samsung I717R Note
I717RUXMD1 Rogers Deodexed Stock JB ROM

Samsung I497 10.1 Tab2
I497UCBMF2 stock JB

HTC HD2 T9193
Winmo 6.5 Energy.Leo.29022.Sense2.5.Jul.04
2.12.50.02_2 RADIO
 
xM Minton Mx
Old
#5  
xM Minton Mx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 94
Posts: 443
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sikeston

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agoattamer View Post
It is a hardware thing. No genius explanation needs to be given. And Inspire 4G/Telus Desire HD is HSDPA 850 / 1900. European/Asain Desire HD is HSDPA 900 / 2100.
I figured as much so but developers do some awesome things. Didn't know if maybe a port could be made from the DHD to the Inspire.

Sent from my skyraider Incredible 2 using xda premium
 
drkamaldeep
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 48
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Delhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by xM Minton Mx View Post
I figured as much so but developers do some awesome things. Didn't know if maybe a port could be made from the DHD to the Inspire.

Sent from my skyraider Incredible 2 using xda premium
Waiting for senior developers to correct me,

Im not at all sure.
 
pazzo02
Old
#7  
pazzo02's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 112
Posts: 341
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago area
Quote:
Originally Posted by xM Minton Mx View Post
I figured as much so but developers do some awesome things. Didn't know if maybe a port could be made from the DHD to the Inspire.

Sent from my skyraider Incredible 2 using xda premium
You can't port hardware.
If at first you don't succeed...SEARCH!

HTC Inspire 4G - retired
HTC One X+ - awesome

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Blast Those Flags with Knock the Flags

Lately, we have seen a rather drastic shift in the world of mobile device gaming. The infamous Angry … more

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more