Post Reply

[FIX/ HOW-TO] Detach App from Market to Enable Purchase

14th March 2012, 08:34 PM   |  #1  
moonzbabysh's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mesa, AZ
Thanks Meter: 351
 
760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Archer posted an easier solution a few post down, to this problem.
Make sure to thank him a few posts down.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archer

Nice find - a lot of people have been complaining about this problem recently.

For anyone who doesn't want to do the above, simply copy and paste this code into the address bar when you're on the relevant Google Play page...

Code:
javascript:document.getElementsByClassName("buy-link")[0].setAttribute("data-ispurchased", false)
You could create a bookmark of that if you expect to need it often.


Old Method:

Prerequisites : Desktop/Laptop computer Browser with ability to "inspect element"
Must have a valid credit card and a registered wallet account for this to work
And must be able to follow directions

Thank - jollyb for Finding/Translating THIS fix he found on a croatian forum.


1. Open Google play (Market) in Chrome browser (on your desktop/laptop) and find the wanted app (best would be that you backup the app via Ttitanium backup if you can, and uninstall it)

2. 'Right-Click' on "PURCHASED and select Inspect element

3. Above the selected row you'll see [data-ispurchased="true"]


4. Change "true" to "false" and press ENTER
(Having problems with downloading another app? Change the inspect element back to "true", app should start downloading now)

5. Click PURCHASED that will open the popup to buy via Google Wallet so you can purchase the app.



Tested on Google Chrome browser, please post if you've had success with/on different browsers.



MoPhoACTV Initiative
Last edited by moonzbabysh; 24th March 2012 at 06:41 PM.
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to moonzbabysh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2012, 07:06 AM   |  #2  
gollyzila's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 92
 
410 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
What would people use this for?
15th March 2012, 08:02 AM   |  #3  
moonzbabysh's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mesa, AZ
Thanks Meter: 351
 
760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gollyzila

What would people use this for?

People who have downloaded apps from Amazon app store for the free app of the day, and now since the Android Market has been updated to the Play Store, alot of those amazon apps are showing as purchased in Play Store but aren't downloadable or able to be purchased at all since it's linked to your Google account as I guess a pirated app or something.

MoPhoACTV Initiative
15th March 2012, 11:59 PM   |  #4  
prezmater's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chalmers, IN
Thanks Meter: 45
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Awesome. I've been wondering how to do this. I traded phones with someone a while back and made a backup of all apps before I wiped the phone and I have been unable to purchase ADW Launcher EX because I restored the backup and then the market said it was purchased already but wouldn't let me download it.

Sent from my MB855 using Tapatalk
16th March 2012, 12:06 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 159
 
519 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I also found that if you uninstall the market updates (temporarily) and go back to the older style market, you can properly purchase them, even if it said "purchased" when using the newer market versions.

The amazon free app a day is a great example of what causes this problem.
The Following User Says Thank You to my2cents For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th March 2012, 04:13 AM   |  #6  
sliverr7x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Eau Claire
Thanks Meter: 516
 
879 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Man this is so awsome, it works like a charm and solved many headaches of not being able to update stuff..
The Following User Says Thank You to sliverr7x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th March 2012, 04:57 PM   |  #7  
Archer's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - (Un)Recognized Pole Dancer
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 4,064
 
10
13,804 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Nice find - a lot of people have been complaining about this problem recently.

For anyone who doesn't want to do the above, simply copy and paste this code into the address bar when you're on the relevant Google Play page...

Code:
javascript:document.getElementsByClassName("buy-link")[0].setAttribute("data-ispurchased", false)
You could create a bookmark of that if you expect to need it often.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Archer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th March 2012, 04:28 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 126
 
509 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
For anyone who doesn't want to do the above, simply copy and paste this code into the address bar when you're on the relevant Google Play page...

Code:
javascript:document.getElementsByClassName("buy-link")[0].setAttribute("data-ispurchased", false)

To clarify, this goes into mobile browser while using google play app?
24th March 2012, 06:39 PM   |  #9  
moonzbabysh's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mesa, AZ
Thanks Meter: 351
 
760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtyreturn

For anyone who doesn't want to do the above, simply copy and paste this code into the address bar when you're on the relevant Google Play page...

Code:
javascript:document.getElementsByClassName("buy-link")[0].setAttribute("data-ispurchased", false)

To clarify, this goes into mobile browser while using google play app?

In your Desktop Browsers address bar.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to moonzbabysh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th March 2012, 03:36 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Thumbs up
Worked great thanks alot

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes