FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

AT&T Release Date???

37 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By junodragon, Member on 16th March 2012, 04:47 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Red5
23rd April 2012, 07:22 PM |#661  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amswak

I had a family unlimited data plan. They said in the store I had to change it to unlimited LTE data plan. I asked what the difference was and they said no difference in the cost or the amount where it throttles back, it is just different in their system. So yes, I think they are trying to force people out of older grandfathered plans, but my plan was less than a year old so there was no real impact for me.

No, they cant change your grandfathered data plan unless you agree/sign saying you wish to move to another data plan. The LTE unlimited data plan gets throttled after 5GB instead of 3GB... so its better.
 
 
23rd April 2012, 07:55 PM |#662  
Maroon Mushroom's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portland, Oregon
Thanks Meter: 447
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red5

No, they cant change your grandfathered data plan unless you agree/sign saying you wish to move to another data plan. The LTE unlimited data plan gets throttled after 5GB instead of 3GB... so its better.

This.

Something can always go wrong so make sure you double check after you upgrade! If you lose your unlimited data plan, you can always get it back if you call 611. As long as you can "prove" that you

1.) Used to have unlimited
2.) It was removed without your consent
23rd April 2012, 09:14 PM |#663  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
UGH!!! so when I go to upgrade and get to the final page it says the total cost for the phone is 299 instead of 199....why is that, and how do I get it for the 199 price. I'm on a premier account.
23rd April 2012, 10:01 PM |#664  
Senior Member
Flag Greenville, MI
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nactownplaya

Perhaps me switching to LTE is the difference. I did not have the option to keep the exact same data plan I had with the iP4 as it wasn't LTE.

nope, I was wrong...my new plan says unlimited 4g LTE data for 30$. that was coming from my old unlimited iPhone data plan for the same price.
24th April 2012, 09:19 PM |#665  
Senior Member
Jersey
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
i need help. im trying to buy the phone using my brothers atnt upgrade but i want to go use the phone on my own pre paid service . whats the best way to go about this, ive never had prepaid before and not sure which company or bands work to pick
25th April 2012, 04:17 AM |#666  
vioalas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lakeland, Fl
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crizthakidd

i need help. im trying to buy the phone using my brothers atnt upgrade but i want to go use the phone on my own pre paid service . whats the best way to go about this, ive never had prepaid before and not sure which company or bands work to pick

If the bands match up just go on AT&T and upgrade his line and select the phone. You'll have to get it unlocked though. unless you're using go phone, then you're fine.
25th April 2012, 07:00 PM |#667  
Senior Member
Jersey
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vioalas

If the bands match up just go on AT&T and upgrade his line and select the phone. You'll have to get it unlocked though. unless you're using go phone, then you're fine.

do i ask for it unlocked then or just do it myself when i get home. and i decided on straight talk which uses atnt towers so my reception will still be good and has unlimited data. on atnt go phone its like 50$ for unlimited yet u sitll have to add a 20 $ data plan for 200 mb lol ! such a rip
25th April 2012, 08:29 PM |#668  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,982
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crizthakidd

do i ask for it unlocked then or just do it myself when i get home. and i decided on straight talk which uses atnt towers so my reception will still be good and has unlimited data. on atnt go phone its like 50$ for unlimited yet u sitll have to add a 20 $ data plan for 200 mb lol ! such a rip

AT&T does not sell unlocked phones. And they won't supply unlock codes for 10 months after the phone's release. Your best bet is to buy an unlock code for around $20. eBay, from a seller with a good rating, is probably your safest bet (or another website, if they have a good rep).
26th April 2012, 02:32 AM |#669  
vioalas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lakeland, Fl
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Exactly what he said!
29th April 2012, 09:01 PM |#670  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr2sweet

UGH!!! so when I go to upgrade and get to the final page it says the total cost for the phone is 299 instead of 199....why is that, and how do I get it for the 199 price. I'm on a premier account.

Im having the same problem. Anybody now how to fixes this?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes