Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,562 Members 37,799 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[DEV] HTC One X firmware | Partitions Info | [20.04.2012]

Tip us?
 
mike1986.
Old
(Last edited by mike1986.; 2nd January 2013 at 05:28 PM.)
#1  
mike1986.'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69322
Posts: 36,959
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: XDA-Developers

 
DONATE TO ME
Angry [DEV] HTC One X firmware | Partitions Info | [20.04.2012]

This thread's content might brick your device.
This is not a ROM thread, so I'm not going to answer again and again and again the same questions over and over and over again.
You can't read - quit this thread now. You can read but you can't understand more or less simple things - quit as well.
You can read and you understand things, but you are too lazy to read the whole thread before asking the question - watch this first. And quit.

This is what we know so far:



Some conclusions:

1. It's very nice to see that finally someone separated "internal sd card" from userdata partition. So it's no longer linked to /data/media, as it used to be on Asus Transformer, Transformer Prime, Galaxy Nexus etc. but it's a separate partition now - mmcblk0p14. Basically the biggest benefit from that is that now formatting userdata partition will no longer erase virtual sd card content.
2. It seems that NFC and WLAN deep settings are stored on separate partitions: mmcblk0p1 (wlan) and ? (NFC).
3. There is a 5th PHYSICAL core, but it's invisible to the system. Android only sees the 4 main cores. The 5th companion core is not controlled by Android. Tegra 3 architecture itself handles the load balancing between the main cores and the companion core. (Thanks to Diamondback)
4. There is no radio.img in current RUUs.

 

Download firmware for HTC One X (PJ4610000)

Firmware from 1.28.401.9 RUU
--- MD5 checksum: 83375DF988C86E92417AA8949012A1C2 *PJ46IMG.zip ---

Supported devices:
--- CID's added by users requests are marked with green color ---
cidnum: HTC__001
cidnum: HTC__E11
cidnum: HTC__203
cidnum: HTC__Y13
cidnum: HTC__102
cidnum: HTC__405
cidnum: HTC__304
cidnum: HTC__032
cidnum: HTC__J15
cidnum: HTC__A07
cidnum: HTC__016
cidnum: HTC__M27

Why it's better then full RUU:

1. It doesn't contain stock recovery
2. It doesn't contain stock, non rooted system
3. It doesn't contain secured boot.img
4. It wont wipe your data partition
5. It's much smaller

PJ46IMG.zip content: [UPDATE: 25.03.2012]

android-info.txt - updated [20.04.2012]
bct.img - updated [25.03.2012]
rcdata.img - updated [20.04.2012]

How to flash:

1. Check your CID using fastboot getvar cid and MID using fastboot getvar mid
2a. If your CID and MID are supported by default, navigate to point 3.
2b. If your CID or MID is not supported by default, do this: (you do it at your own risk)
2c. Open PJ46IMG.zip (don't extract it)
2d. Open android-info.txt in text editor
2e. Add your cidnum: <your CID> or modelid: <your MID> to the list, save file and close archive
3. Place PJ46IMG.zip on your SD card
4. Boot your device holding power button + vol down button
5. Follow instructions on the screen

Additional information:

1. Flash above firmware at your own risk!
2. It's recommended to flash it before flashing custom ROM based on proper RUU!
3. Unlocking via htcdev.com will change your CID number into "none".

4. RUU variants:
x.xx.61.x - Orange UK (United Kingdom)
x.xx.75.x - Orange ES (Spain)
x.xx.110.x - T-Mobile UK (United Kingdom)
x.xx.111.x - T-Mobile DE (Germany)
x.xx.112.x - T-Mobile AT (Austria)
x.xx.114.x - T-Mobile NL (Netherlands)
x.xx.118.x - T-Mobile PL (Poland)
x.xx.161.x - Vodafone UK (United Kingdom)
x.xx.166.x - Vodafone CH-DE (Switzerland - Germany)
x.xx.163.x - Vodafone FR (France)
x.xx.169.x - Vodafone AT (Austria)
x.xx.206.x - O2 UK (United Kingdom)
x.xx.207.x - O2 DE (Germany)
x.xx.401.x - World Wide English
x.xx.707.x - Asia WWE (World Wide English)
x.xx.720.x - Asia India
x.xx.771.x - Hutchison 3G UK (United Kingdom)
x.xx.862.x - Voda-Hutch AU (Australia)
x.xx.980.x - Optus AU (Australia)
x.xx.1400.x - HTC China


Please post here your findings, thoughts or experience with after flashing images listed above.


Archived devices and my other threads:

Join Android Revolution HD community

Facebook | Twitter | IRC chat | Visit my blog | Google+

If you appreciate my work, you can buy me a beer
Every donation is greatly appreciated and it helps the development!


The Following 39 Users Say Thank You to mike1986. For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mike1986.
Old
(Last edited by mike1986.; 23rd April 2012 at 12:12 AM.)
#2  
mike1986.'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69322
Posts: 36,959
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: XDA-Developers

 
DONATE TO ME
Here are some details about CPU kernel settings:

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies

51000 | 102000 | 204000 | 340000 | 475000 | 640000 | 760000 | 880000 | 1000000 | 1100000 | 1200000 | 1400000 | 1500000

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_governors

interactive conservative ondemand powersave userspace performance


Some details about how Tegra 3 works on HTC One X:

1. While screen is turned OFF only cpu0 is online. cpu1, cpu2 and cpu3 are all offline.
2. I think that cpu2 and cpu3 are online only on heavy load. That needs to be confirmed.
3. While screen is turned OFF only interactive governor is available.
4. When battery is < 20%, CPU downclocks to 1.0 GHz.

Fastboot commands that doesn't work without S-OFF:
  • fastboot flash rcdata rcdata.img
  • fastboot oem writesecureflag
  • fastboot oem writecid


Archived devices and my other threads:

Join Android Revolution HD community

Facebook | Twitter | IRC chat | Visit my blog | Google+

If you appreciate my work, you can buy me a beer
Every donation is greatly appreciated and it helps the development!


The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to mike1986. For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
shaky156 Old
#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Arent there 4 main cores and 1 companion core, so only companion core should be running when screen off?
 
mike1986.
Old
#4  
mike1986.'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69322
Posts: 36,959
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: XDA-Developers

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaky156 View Post
Arent there 4 main cores and 1 companion core, so only companion core should be running when screen off?
I don't see any companion core for now:

ls /sys/devices/system/cpu
cpu0
cpu1
cpu2
cpu3
cpu_on (output on ls = 2)
cpu_on_mdelay (output on ls = 0)
cpufreq
cpuidle
kernel_max
offline (output on ls = 1-3)
online (output on ls = 0-3)
possible (output on ls = 0-3)
present (output on ls = 0-3)


Archived devices and my other threads:

Join Android Revolution HD community

Facebook | Twitter | IRC chat | Visit my blog | Google+

If you appreciate my work, you can buy me a beer
Every donation is greatly appreciated and it helps the development!


shaky156 Old
#5  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1986. View Post
I don't see any companion core for now:

ls /sys/devices/system/cpu
cpu0
cpu1
cpu2
cpu3
cpu_on (output on ls = 2)
cpu_on_mdelay (output on ls = 0)
cpufreq
cpuidle
kernel_max
offline (output on ls = 1-3)
online (output on ls = 0-3)
possible (output on ls = 0-3)
present (output on ls = 0-3)
Thats weird :s
Cpu0 to cpu3 = main cpu cores
Any sign of a cpu1p? (Cpu1p = companion core)
 
mike1986.
Old
#6  
mike1986.'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69322
Posts: 36,959
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: XDA-Developers

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaky156 View Post
Thats weird :s
Cpu0 to cpu3 = main cpu cores
Any sign of a cpu1p? (Cpu1p = companion core)
I haven't found such yet. I know for sure that cpu0 is online all the time.


Archived devices and my other threads:

Join Android Revolution HD community

Facebook | Twitter | IRC chat | Visit my blog | Google+

If you appreciate my work, you can buy me a beer
Every donation is greatly appreciated and it helps the development!


shaky156 Old
(Last edited by shaky156; 18th March 2012 at 08:08 AM.)
#7  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1986. View Post
I haven't found such yet. I know for sure that cpu0 is online all the time.
EDIT: removed text, unsure if its true or false
 
Diamondback
Old
#8  
Diamondback's Avatar
Developer Committee / Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6319
Posts: 4,375
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaky156 View Post
Yup just found out that companion core is cpu0 (explains why cpu0 is on all the time)
There is only 4 physical cores
Wow thought they had 5 physical cores, guess not lol

EDIT: ill double check to confirm

EDIT: yup thats what it looks like
The saving power core is cpu0, it enters LP2 state when saving power
No that is wrong. There is a fith PHYSICAL core but it's invisble to the system. Android only sees the four main cores.
The fith companion core is NOT, i repeat NOT, controlled by android. The tegra architecture itself handels to load balacing between the main cores and the companion core.
YOu won't find any traces of this companion core in the system.

Contact the Developer Committee with any questions or concerns regarding
the Recognized Developer program.
Mention my name with @Diamondback in any post to easily get my attention.
Please use BB Codes to format your posts.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Diamondback For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
shaky156 Old
(Last edited by shaky156; 17th March 2012 at 11:21 PM.)
#9  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondback View Post
No that is wrong. There is a fith PHYSICAL core but it's invisble to the system. Android only sees the four main cores.
The fith companion core is NOT, i repeat NOT, controlled by android. The tegra architecture itself handels to load balacing between the main cores and the companion core.
YOu won't find any traces of this companion core in the system.
Thanks for clearing that up, I was thinking its hidden but then looking @ kernel code, when idle cpu0 enters LP2 state :s + cpu0 is online all the time
 
Diamondback
Old
#10  
Diamondback's Avatar
Developer Committee / Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6319
Posts: 4,375
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaky156 View Post
Thanks for clearing that up, I was thinking its hidden but then looking @ kernel code, when idle cpu enter LP2 state :s
Some time ago there was an official article from Nvidia about this topic, stating all those things, maybe I'll search for that

Having only that one core online probably means that in the end most of the time only the companion core does the work, but we don't really know.

Tegra handels that stuff on its own (and it does a great job btw on my Prime. Standby times are incredible.)

Contact the Developer Committee with any questions or concerns regarding
the Recognized Developer program.
Mention my name with @Diamondback in any post to easily get my attention.
Please use BB Codes to format your posts.

Tags
android revolution hd, htc one x, htc sense 4.0, ice cream sandwich, mike1986
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes