Post Reply

[RESOLVED] A500 - SanDisk 64GB Mobile Ultra MicroSDXC Class 6 Memory Card compatible?

OP vprasad1

20th March 2012, 07:30 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Anybody know if the A500 is capable of using the 59.4GB formatted space on the SanDisk 64GB Mobile Ultra MicroSDXC Class 6 Memory Card?

edit: answer = Yes with setup tip provided by ojones838
Last edited by vprasad1; 29th March 2012 at 07:16 AM. Reason: See Ojones838 post for tip on setup
20th March 2012, 07:27 PM   |  #2  
mtmerrick's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern CA
Thanks Meter: 100
 
877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I may be wrong but I'm fairly certain that it only supports up to 32gb microsd
21st March 2012, 12:37 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtmerrick

I may be wrong but I'm fairly certain that it only supports up to 32gb microsd

That's strange, is there big difference between supporting 32gb and 64gb? I would have thought that when in development they would have made sure it supported the largest microsd on the market. 64gb (59) would be nice to have.
21st March 2012, 02:10 AM   |  #4  
mtmerrick's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern CA
Thanks Meter: 100
 
877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
well, i googled, thanks for making me second-guess myself. here's your answer.

http://forums.androidcentral.com/ace...rosd-card.html
The Following User Says Thank You to mtmerrick For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2012, 02:30 AM   |  #5  
CuriousTech's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Floor
Thanks Meter: 64
 
516 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Yep. Others here have said that it works. It just won't work with FAT due to the limits of the FS. FAT32 or NTFS will work.
21st March 2012, 11:13 AM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 6
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Guys,
I have used this SD card for months and it works like a champ. All I had to do was to format the SD in another device since the A500 has no provision for formatting a SD card. I formatted mine in my Galaxy S II, Epic 4G Touch(my first 64G SD Card went in this device anyway). Since then neither device has skipped a beat. The SD cards are expensive though. So be very careful taking them out of your device. ALWAYS unmount it or Eject it within file mgr before removing it. Also handle with care. More questions? Just ask...

Update: That's right! You don't have to unmount or eject it after use in the A500. As a matter of fact there's NO option to do so... But if you use it in another device you may need to unmount or eject it.
Last edited by ojones838; 21st March 2012 at 11:23 AM. Reason: clarification
The Following User Says Thank You to ojones838 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd March 2012, 02:10 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 212
 
441 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Just to add to the information given, a few weeks ago I bought from Woot a "Centon 64Gb Class 10" SDXC card (not micro...full size) for $55 and am using it happily with my A500. I use it with a Targus USB card reader and attach it to the full size USB port on the A500. The only snag which occurred originally was that I used "SD's" own application to format it and it would only format in "Ext", this turned out to be unreadable by the A500 but I resolved the problem by formatting the card in Windows as Fat32. This now works fine and given the size you can put on as many movies as you wish.

Just to add to what ojones838 said above.....Generally speaking the A500 will automatically mount external SD storage or USB storage as soon as it is plugged in (at least this is true of my ICS rom) but it's wise to "Unmount" the storage media before removing it.
Last edited by metpolds; 22nd March 2012 at 02:18 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to metpolds For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd March 2012, 01:45 AM   |  #8  
CuriousTech's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Floor
Thanks Meter: 64
 
516 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Just for future reference, the hardware and software limitations for size are 32GB (FAT and SDHC) and 2TB (SDXC). Nothing in-between those.
The Following User Says Thank You to CuriousTech For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2012, 07:44 PM   |  #9  
saeba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Just picked one of these up from eBay. Thanks for pointing these out and the details on how to format and use it on the A500 :)!

FYI - Just ran SD Card Tester on it and it ran at 5.91MB/s Write and 9.19MB/s Read. So inline with expectations for a class 6 card.
The Following User Says Thank You to saeba For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2012, 03:08 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 212
 
441 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
@saeba.....Glad the card works for you, as I said above with that amount of usable space you can put as many movies (including large size blu-ray's) as you want. Certainly enough to keep me happy on my transatlantic flights!
Thanks for the info re the speed test, class 6 seemed to me about right.....have learn't to take maker's claims about speed with a grain of salt.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes