Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD][TWEAKS] ThunderBolt! v3.3.0 3/17/14 [Performance+Battery Life Mods & Tweaks]

OP pikachu01

26th October 2011, 01:02 AM   |  #701  
Senior Member
Flag Kay El
Thanks Meter: 155
 
1,174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Deleted....

---------- Post added at 07:02 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:37 AM ----------

[/QUOTE]Edit: Think I saw something about making a widget for drop cache, or? cant seem to find the guide [/QUOTE]

You can use script manager's widget if youre not using memory freak. just download the drop.txt file from pikachu's other thread and run it first in script manager then after that you'll be able to run it by applying script manager ads widget from the add widget option when long pressing homescreen.

hope this helped...PERKA
26th October 2011, 01:54 AM   |  #702  
Senior Member
Flag Hatillo
Thanks Meter: 116
 
660 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I'm using Talon big mem 1,200 on a Capy I already install thunderbird. My question is, Do I need to change the governors in control freak app?

Sent from my SGH-I897 using XDA App
26th October 2011, 04:05 AM   |  #703  
pikachu01's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Penang
Thanks Meter: 4,515
 
6,197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackeron

Ok just posting some screens of my idle drain, and is great.. first pic is with no fligthmode, 3d/sync/wifi and everything on..


Second is over night with flightmode active:


I dont recall having this good results for a while. So these tweak seems to do a good job.. And ofc the Talon kernel also. FYI the phone is really fast as well...
I do use UV so that helps as well I quess.... -175 on the 100mhz state for example.

Cool Yeah less battery drain overall with ThunderBolt! tweaks I experienced that too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perka

Hi, just getting better and better, good info and a lot of fun

Again thanks for your time!

Vote here to get this thread on the front page <-----------------------


What country ,os or browser will get the most voters? Look here


Edit: Think I saw something about making a widget for drop cache, or? cant seem to find the guide

Yeah, Memory Freak has drop caches there. And thanks for the vote Appreciate it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by trip007in

The tweaks looks quite interesting and exhaustive, Can you make one for I9003. Thanks in advance.

It should work in i9003 (except the 3G tweak). Please test it out and let me know if it works (as no one tried it yet, there is a risk for issues).

Be sure to have a nandroid backup handy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel2k

Just had my first freeze after a call with 1.6.6. I'm going on testing.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk

Hmm, please test it out more. I would need to tackle this freezing problem as well

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla

Going to flash 1.6.6 soon, but thought I'd report back one last time with 1.6.5. Lag is crazy after not restarting the phone for over 18 hours. Couldn't get Navigon and Angry Birds to run properly, though Navigon still managed to lead me to my destination somehow. I was able to open smaller apps like Messaging and Dialer just fine though, so the tweaks indeed do work.

Drop caches and ZRAM didn't help btw.

Yes 1.6.5 has lags as more as multitasking was the forefront and performance was taking a backseat 1.6.6 should be more performance centric.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunder22

I'm on cm7 nightly 159 on captivate. Do I download cm7 version, unzip, then take out the two libsql.so files and remount script, then rezip and flash with cwm.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using XDA App

Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefy009

On cm7 remove the two libsq files then flash?

Done it all seems fine, not mounted through script manager though

Is that right? Seems quicker

Edit : causing freezing and reboots restored back up

sent from my commodore 64

What was causing the freeze? Can you tell me which app you accessed when it froze?

Quote:
Originally Posted by flolep

Maybe because you are on talon kernel right?
This kernel has still memory leaks even with the two new commands included in memory freak and the phone is going to lag very much after more than 15 hours of use or so (reboot is the only viable way of recovering performance and smoothness).

BUT I have to say that for me too, on semaphore, and it never did me such a thing on this kernel and an odexed rom, on thunderbolt 1.6.5, my phone seemed a little bit lagging after one day of use and I had to reboot to recover performance... Found it strange and don't know if it was due to 1.6.5...
I am now on 1.6.6 and maybe this behaviour is gone... We will see tomorrow but for the first tests I did, 1.6.6 seems even better than 1.6.5 performance wise and not redrawing launcher too much. Thanks pika.

Sent from my GT-I9000

Yes 1.6.6 has better performance than 1.6.5. As this is still a beta, it needs more polish. Hoping that the beta testers will help test more builds to come

Quote:
Originally Posted by mab71

Deleted....

---------- Post added at 07:02 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:37 AM ----------

Edit: Think I saw something about making a widget for drop cache, or? cant seem to find the guide


You can use script manager's widget if youre not using memory freak. just download the drop.txt file from pikachu's other thread and run it first in script manager then after that you'll be able to run it by applying script manager ads widget from the add widget option when long pressing homescreen.

hope this helped...PERKA

Yes, it's in the Android Optimization Tips in my sig

Quote:
Originally Posted by melvinaury

I'm using Talon big mem 1,200 on a Capy I already install thunderbird. My question is, Do I need to change the governors in control freak app?

Sent from my SGH-I897 using XDA App

You can change governors in the screenstate_scaling script as that takes precedence rather than the Control Freak's one.
26th October 2011, 04:06 AM   |  #704  
pikachu01's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Penang
Thanks Meter: 4,515
 
6,197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Thanks to the person who donated as well! Appreciate it
26th October 2011, 08:20 AM   |  #705  
MajinkenSword's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Hi pika, i'm pretty good with 1.6.5. Do you suggest upgrading to 1.6.6 or is it a matter of preference between multitasking and performance?

Thanks again!

Sent using Tapatalk
26th October 2011, 10:14 AM   |  #706  
pikachu01's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Penang
Thanks Meter: 4,515
 
6,197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajinkenSword

Hi pika, i'm pretty good with 1.6.5. Do you suggest upgrading to 1.6.6 or is it a matter of preference between multitasking and performance?

Thanks again!

Sent using Tapatalk

If you're interested in Beta testing, yes you should upgrade to 1.6.6. I'm going to hit a sweet spot soon with the help of beta testers. I just need to know how each LMK/OOM setting I changed affects them.
26th October 2011, 10:57 AM   |  #707  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 253
 
1,149 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pikachu01

If you're interested in Beta testing, yes you should upgrade to 1.6.6. I'm going to hit a sweet spot soon with the help of beta testers. I just need to know how each LMK/OOM setting I changed affects them.

Again, my small feedback of the day! After nearly 16 hours testing 1.6.6. What I can say is that the freeze I was speaking about a bit earlier didn't happen again yet. So that could be "bad luck". Anyway, the phone is still performing good at the moment, BUT I still experience autoclose with GoSMS and the dialer (and sometimes Maps) while using it. That's really annoying, and except that, the rest is really working good so far!

By the way, there's something I can't understand: how is it possible that Android ActivityManager is silly enough to close the main foreground/visible/in-use app? Is it really something related with LMK/OOM settings? Isn't it possible to keep those LMK/OOM settings and just add some directive to the system like "never touch to the app the user is running you stupid!"

Hope you could find out a solution for it Pika. Still there during the day to test out things and to report as much as I can to help in the developpment of this great bunch of scripts!
26th October 2011, 11:04 AM   |  #708  
chiefy009's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 791
 
4,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
The freezing and reboot on cm7 started was not doing anything in particular phone just kept hanging and rebooting, then got stuck at boot. I removed the two lib files before flashing and didnt mount from script manager although mounted data and system in cwm

sent from my commodore 64
26th October 2011, 11:06 AM   |  #709  
pikachu01's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Penang
Thanks Meter: 4,515
 
6,197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel2k

Again, my small feedback of the day! After nearly 16 hours testing 1.6.6. What I can say is that the freeze I was speaking about a bit earlier didn't happen again yet. So that could be "bad luck". Anyway, the phone is still performing good at the moment, BUT I still experience autoclose with GoSMS and the dialer (and sometimes Maps) while using it. That's really annoying, and except that, the rest is really working good so far!

By the way, there's something I can't understand: how is it possible that Android ActivityManager is silly enough to close the main foreground/visible/in-use app? Is it really something related with LMK/OOM settings? Isn't it possible to keep those LMK/OOM settings and just add some directive to the system like "never touch to the app the user is running you stupid!"

Hope you could find out a solution for it Pika. Still there during the day to test out things and to report as much as I can to help in the developpment of this great bunch of scripts!

Hmm, autoclose is still being experienced. I'll release another beta in a couple of hours that could fix this (I'm not sure as I never experience auto-closing). I'm testing the basics of it right now.

Thanks for the feedback!
26th October 2011, 11:07 AM   |  #710  
pikachu01's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Penang
Thanks Meter: 4,515
 
6,197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefy009

The freezing and reboot on cm7 started was not doing anything in particular phone just kept hanging and rebooting, then got stuck at boot. I removed the two lib files before flashing and didnt mount from script manager although mounted data and system in cwm

sent from my commodore 64

Remove the two lib files in the CWM zip. Not from your phone right?

If you removed it from your phone, your phone will have lots of problems :S

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
at&t galaxy sii, pikachu, script, sql optimization, system accelerator, thunderbolt, tweak, tweaks, zach, zipalign
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes