FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

 View Poll Results: CNA stop Developping. On what porting, should be based the Next Tiramisu?

AOKP
 
199 Vote(s)
45.96%
Dark Knight
 
33 Vote(s)
7.62%
Slim ICS
 
79 Vote(s)
18.24%
CM9
 
130 Vote(s)
30.02%
Other Tell me
 
20 Vote(s)
4.62%
CNA (no new updates)
 
8 Vote(s)
1.85%
Gummy
 
8 Vote(s)
1.85%

[ICS ROM]Tiramisu+ I.C.E.A.G.E. V.1.9.6 I'M DIFFERENT![CWM FileManager][AROMA][OTA]

738 posts
Thanks Meter: 883
 
By DjSound, Senior Member on 20th March 2012, 05:54 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
1st May 2012, 11:56 PM |#811  
Stoux2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariachi202

That's what i'm talking about!

One more question and then i'm buggering off.

Will this work with the latest gapps from 2904?

I guess I should try it for myself, yet I know that the chances of the talk app dissapearing are quite large.

If anyone should find a fix or has an idea on how to avoid this, please, do consider not witholding this valuable information

Sent from my SGH-I9000 using Tapatalk 2

He kicked a few apps out of the package (like talk), just flash the talk app from RootzWiki?
 
 
2nd May 2012, 12:04 AM |#812  
mariachi202's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Skopje, Macedonia
Thanks Meter: 101
 
More
Just did the flash, and i'm happy to report that everything works like a charm. And looks sexy too!

Perhaps the way i did it this time has something to do with it?

This time i flashed gapps as a separate package through CWM and then did the modification through the aroma installer.
I'm just hoping that this info could help someone.

Stoux, thanks a ton for your constructive comments.

As for DjSound, I trully believe that he deserves an action figure of somekind bearing his developing abilities ")

Sent from my SGH-I9000 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to mariachi202 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 12:04 AM |#813  
Denton.S's Avatar
Member
Flag Hastings
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Nope,sadly this super user is very strange and hates build prop changes in the settings. Going to go back to the old app I think as the 3g tweaks really help my speed. Aside from that ( and it's by no means the roms fault) everythings working very well

Sent from my GT-I9000 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Denton.S For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 12:07 AM |#814  
mariachi202's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Skopje, Macedonia
Thanks Meter: 101
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denton.S

Nope,sadly this super user is very strange and hates build prop changes in the settings. Going to go back to the old app I think as the 3g tweaks really help my speed. Aside from that ( and it's by no means the roms fault) everythings working very well

Sent from my GT-I9000 using xda premium

I believe the 3g speed hack to be enabled by default?

And for your build.prop-tweak-needs, why don't you consider the rom toolbox app from the play store. Could help you.

Sent from my SGH-I9000 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to mariachi202 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 12:08 AM |#815  
Stoux2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariachi202

Just did the flash, and i'm happy to report that everything works like a charm. And looks sexy too!

Perhaps the way i did it this time has something to do with it?

This time i flashed gapps as a separate package through CWM and then did the modification through the aroma installer.
I'm just hoping that this info could help someone.

Stoux, thanks a ton for your constructive comments.

As for DjSound, I trully believe that he deserves an action figure of somekind bearing his developing abilities ")

Sent from my SGH-I9000 using Tapatalk 2

You're welcome and enjoy the awesomeness DJSound has given us !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denton.S

Nope,sadly this super user is very strange and hates build prop changes in the settings. Going to go back to the old app I think as the 3g tweaks really help my speed. Aside from that ( and it's by no means the roms fault) everythings working very well

Sent from my GT-I9000 using xda premium

It doesnt recognize that it wants root acces and therefore doesn't give a message for you to allow it. Let me know if reverting to the old SU works ?
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Stoux2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 12:59 AM |#816  
Denton.S's Avatar
Member
Flag Hastings
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Ok first off let me state for the record, I'm an idiot. Had no back up of my old su app. How ever that was easily solved by getting the apk from Tiramisu 1.8.

I can confirm that root can now acces build prop settings ( and maybe anything else?) the new superSU won't.

Process is pretty simple- Get hold of previous superuser apk file ( if you can't find it on the market let me know and I'll host it some where,it didn't show up for me)
Install this file, go into prefrences and hit update binary.
Let it do its thing, grant any acces asked by either new or old apps (SU or newly installed)
Run update again.
That should be it.
Old (by old I mean original from previous rom versions) su program should now be default for any root permissions.
Then i disabled and force stoped the SU app the rom came with.
So far no problems, I apologise for the long post but maybe it can help someone else out too.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Denton.S For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 01:17 AM |#817  
Stoux2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denton.S

Ok first off let me state for the record, I'm an idiot. Had no back up of my old su app. How ever that was easily solved by getting the apk from Tiramisu 1.8.

I can confirm that root can now acces build prop settings ( and maybe anything else?) the new superSU won't.

Process is pretty simple- Get hold of previous superuser apk file ( if you can't find it on the market let me know and I'll host it some where,it didn't show up for me)
Install this file, go into prefrences and hit update binary.
Let it do its thing, grant any acces asked by either new or old apps (SU or newly installed)
Run update again.
That should be it.
Old (by old I mean original from previous rom versions) su program should now be default for any root permissions.
Then i disabled and force stoped the SU app the rom came with.
So far no problems, I apologise for the long post but maybe it can help someone else out too.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using xda premium

Ok good to hear, I know it requires some work but could you maybe try to re-install the new SuperSU again (that comes with the new rom) (and thus deleting the old one again).
It might give you an option to grant Superuser premissions this time (it might have something to do with the fact that it comes preflashed, and if it still doesn't give you the option to grant root acces it has to do with the way the app asks for SuperUser permissions).
The reason the old one doesn't show up in the market is because Chainfire deleted it from the market (play store..) and replaced it with the new one.

Stoux
The Following User Says Thank You to Stoux2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 01:25 AM |#818  
Denton.S's Avatar
Member
Flag Hastings
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
To be honest, I didn't really like the look of the new version anyway. I think I'm going to be stuborn on this one and stick with what I know works It's not damaged anything else and everything such as OTA still works just fine. So from now on this shall be my highly convoluted way of getting it back.

Didn't know it had been taken off the market though,I found it in the browser version but it said it wasn't compatible with my device. Very strange.

But cheers for your advice, I tend to flash far too many times so despite what I said theres a good chance I'll try your idea

Sent from my GT-I9000 using xda premium
2nd May 2012, 06:08 AM |#819  
ruk_design's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lahore
Thanks Meter: 10
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi Djsound. Very nice work.. gret rom.
i just have one question and suggestion too if possible.
well is it possible to port the ACCESS CONTROL from MIUI roms for builtin App security.? as MIUI have the best builtin app access control security.

Thanks.
2nd May 2012, 07:33 AM |#820  
carols's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
iam trying to install cnd launcher but every time i try to install it it don't install.
2nd May 2012, 08:17 AM |#821  
olarf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 408
 
More
Here some updates from my side. I like the new version and it runs smooth as silk The only problem I still have is about the Play store. After I install the new version with no theme and the default settings, the play store work complete (I could buy stuff). Then I modify my installation via AROMA and add that black Theme and also the inverted Gapps and then I wasnt able to buy anymore. Play store work and I can get any free stuff and also my apps but i can't buy anything new. So I went back into modification mose and select to go back to the original Gapps but that dont help. Finaly I try to wipe again anything and format system and flash again but this time with inverted Gapps directly selected and also black Theme but it has the same result, to buy stuff is not possible.

But there was another big difference, the new SU which made also some problems before with giving root access to some apps, work perfect this time. So the new SU works now perfect here.

Any advices about the Play Store stuff ?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android 4.0.3, android 4.0.4, aroma, galaxy s, i9000, ics, tiramisu
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes