Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] SD Card Problem (Mount ReadOnly)

OP ThomasAndroid

21st March 2012, 02:01 PM   |  #1  
ThomasAndroid's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Got my phone on late February 2012.

I recently installed a SanDisk 16GB Class 4 SDHC Card from a trusted store. Over the weeks, the SD card has a problem, specifically the unmount issue (unmount itself, have to mount again by tapping the notification). Kept getting this everyday about two to four days.

My phone isn't rooted as I don't know how.

So are there solutions to this?

Another question: If HTC Sensation and Sensation XE is different, what's the difference? (yep, I'm a noob)

EDIT: The notification is:
"Mounted ReadOnly
The SD card has an unexpected problem. Tapping to recover it."


Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using XDA
Last edited by ThomasAndroid; 23rd March 2012 at 08:40 AM.
21st March 2012, 03:42 PM   |  #2  
malybru's Avatar
Forum Moderator
London
Thanks Meter: 12,118
 
15,025 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasAndroid

Got my phone on late February 2012.

I recently installed a 16 GB SanDisk SD card from a trusted store. Over the weeks, the SD card has a problem, specifically the unmount issue (unmount itself, have to mount again by tapping the notification). Kept getting this everyday about two to four days.

My phone isn't root.

So are there solutions to this?

Another question: If HTC Sensation and Sensation XE is different, what's the difference? (yep, I'm a noob)

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using XDA

Hi,

Make a copy of the data on your sd card.
Try formatting your sd card in your pc/laptop to Fat 32.
Then,put it back into your phone.
Android will put on the files it needs.
Then add your data only(music ,films,pictures,etc.)

The only differences between HTC Sensation and Sensation XE ,is beats,and a different battery,and the price.

The Following User Says Thank You to malybru For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd March 2012, 12:26 AM   |  #3  
ThomasAndroid's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
So I have to backup my SD card data?

How about the applications? Must all be removed?

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using XDA
22nd March 2012, 01:57 AM   |  #4  
malybru's Avatar
Forum Moderator
London
Thanks Meter: 12,118
 
15,025 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasAndroid

So I have to backup my SD card data?

How about the applications? Must all be removed?

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using XDA

Hi,

Yes,back up the data,and move the apps to your phone.
You can put it all back after you format it.

22nd March 2012, 02:03 AM   |  #5  
ThomasAndroid's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by malybru

Hi,

Yes,back up the data,and move the apps to your phone.
You can put it all back after you format it.

Ok.
Does that solve my "Mounted ReadOnly" problem?

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using XDA
Last edited by ThomasAndroid; 23rd March 2012 at 08:42 AM.
23rd March 2012, 08:47 AM   |  #6  
ThomasAndroid's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by malybru

Hi,

Make a copy of the data on your sd card.
Try formatting your sd card in your pc/laptop to Fat 32.
Then,put it back into your phone.
Android will put on the files it needs.
Then add your data only(music ,films,pictures,etc.)

The only differences between HTC Sensation and Sensation XE ,is beats,and a different battery,and the price.

Your solution does not fix anything.

I got a reply from someone from another thread and he said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pash.

As for your problems, worst case scenario, it could be a dud card or you may have a faulty connector in your phone - try somebody else's sdcard first and see how that goes. If you get the same problem with another card, its your phone, unfortunately. If you have no issues, then you need a new card, obviously.

Best scenario is a file system problem. Try connecting it to your PC and repairing the file system and see if that helps.

I did the last one but like I said, doesn't work. So it could be that my phone has a faulty connector or just my SD card...

and sorry if I double post. :x
24th March 2012, 02:09 AM   |  #7  
ThomasAndroid's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Am I allowed to bump? If not, I'm so sorry.

OFFT: My phone hates me now o_O

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes