Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

**Solved**Viber microphone working fix on ICS (all galaxy models)

OP mcse_hst

21st March 2012, 05:12 PM   |  #1  
mcse_hst's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 96
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Hi All,

As of now I have confirmation from many users running different ICS ROMs on different galaxy models.


To summarize my changes to make Viber microphone work.

1)modified my build prop and replaced GT-I9000 with SGH-I9000.
2) Installed semaphore kernel 0.9.5b and fixed permissions from cwm.(optional)
3) Reboot your mobile.
4) Calls using Viber should work now. (This change will magically fix the microphone issue)


You can use free application from market named 'build.prop editor'.

All the best with your testing.

Press thanks if this works for you. :thumbup:
-----------------------++--
Games Fix
-----------------------++--
Big thanks to artikeln, now we have another good source of information on fixing Viber (without breaking game) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=24527729

##########post contents #######
With this solution I have tested that Viber and games works

TO MAKE VIBER WORKS Thanks to mcse_hst, thaidroid and Mc.canos

- Modify build prop (i.e with Root Explorer, it is in System dir and with R/O) and replace "GT-I9000" in lines:
ro.product.model=Nexus S
ro.product.brand=Samsung
- Maybe it's necessary fix permissions [DALVIK & CWM] (in Advanced option)
- With this change, Viber works, and it looks that others app also (including games)
###############

Sent from my SGH-I9000 using xda premium.
Last edited by mcse_hst; 18th April 2012 at 11:41 AM.
The Following 35 Users Say Thank You to mcse_hst For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2012, 05:20 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Madrid
Thanks Meter: 356
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
You are great

It's working perfectly in
- [4.0.4 IMM 30B base][ROM] EliteV7 Beta (20/03/2012) AOSP NEXUS S/4g

With Devil 1.1.6 and fix permissions, I'm sure that it works with other kernels without problems

Great job
The Following User Says Thank You to artikeln For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2012, 05:27 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
What is it "Viber" ?
21st March 2012, 05:33 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
1,339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Check on the market
21st March 2012, 05:49 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
edit build prop
replaced GT-I9000 to SGH-I9000
reboot
that will be ok

don't need to change kernel
don't need to fix permission(CWM)

you are really the man.
thanks!!!!!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rulala For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2012, 06:04 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Er
What exactly was "SOLVED" here??

If you mean that Viber didn't work on ICS ROMs, that's old hat. Viber got updated close to a month ago that does work on ICS...

Am i missing something???
21st March 2012, 06:24 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordkk

What exactly was "SOLVED" here??

If you mean that Viber didn't work on ICS ROMs, that's old hat. Viber got updated close to a month ago that does work on ICS...

Am i missing something???

yes

you really miss something

viber can work indeed, But when you call someone
He can't hear what you say ... Just you can hear his voice.
this is very worse

now ... Just edit build prop
Viber works perfectly
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rulala For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2012, 06:38 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 176
 
453 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
do I need to change "all" keys by replacing GT-I9000 with the new one or just a specific one?
21st March 2012, 07:34 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
oops same question ! -.-
Last edited by eisen_one; 21st March 2012 at 08:12 PM.
21st March 2012, 07:51 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag PETALING JAYA
Thanks Meter: 43
 
587 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Have you tried telling the Viber folks about this ? From the sound of it, it may be a simple change on the app to fix this prob.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes