FORUMS

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

**Solved**Viber microphone working fix on ICS (all galaxy models)

21st March 2012, 04:12 PM |#1  
mcse_hst's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Hi All,

As of now I have confirmation from many users running different ICS ROMs on different galaxy models.


To summarize my changes to make Viber microphone work.

1)modified my build prop and replaced GT-I9000 with SGH-I9000.
2) Installed semaphore kernel 0.9.5b and fixed permissions from cwm.(optional)
3) Reboot your mobile.
4) Calls using Viber should work now. (This change will magically fix the microphone issue)


You can use free application from market named 'build.prop editor'.

All the best with your testing.

Press thanks if this works for you. :thumbup:
-----------------------++--
Games Fix
-----------------------++--
Big thanks to artikeln, now we have another good source of information on fixing Viber (without breaking game) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=24527729

##########post contents #######
With this solution I have tested that Viber and games works

TO MAKE VIBER WORKS Thanks to mcse_hst, thaidroid and Mc.canos

- Modify build prop (i.e with Root Explorer, it is in System dir and with R/O) and replace "GT-I9000" in lines:
ro.product.model=Nexus S
ro.product.brand=Samsung
- Maybe it's necessary fix permissions [DALVIK & CWM] (in Advanced option)
- With this change, Viber works, and it looks that others app also (including games)
###############

Sent from my SGH-I9000 using xda premium.
Last edited by mcse_hst; 18th April 2012 at 10:41 AM.
The Following 35 Users Say Thank You to mcse_hst For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
21st March 2012, 04:20 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Madrid
Thanks Meter: 356
 
More
You are great

It's working perfectly in
- [4.0.4 IMM 30B base][ROM] EliteV7 Beta (20/03/2012) AOSP NEXUS S/4g

With Devil 1.1.6 and fix permissions, I'm sure that it works with other kernels without problems

Great job
The Following User Says Thank You to artikeln For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2012, 04:27 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
What is it "Viber" ?
21st March 2012, 04:33 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Check on the market
21st March 2012, 04:49 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
More
edit build prop
replaced GT-I9000 to SGH-I9000
reboot
that will be ok

don't need to change kernel
don't need to fix permission(CWM)

you are really the man.
thanks!!!!!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rulala For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2012, 05:04 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Er
What exactly was "SOLVED" here??

If you mean that Viber didn't work on ICS ROMs, that's old hat. Viber got updated close to a month ago that does work on ICS...

Am i missing something???
21st March 2012, 05:24 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordkk

What exactly was "SOLVED" here??

If you mean that Viber didn't work on ICS ROMs, that's old hat. Viber got updated close to a month ago that does work on ICS...

Am i missing something???

yes

you really miss something

viber can work indeed, But when you call someone
He can't hear what you say ... Just you can hear his voice.
this is very worse

now ... Just edit build prop
Viber works perfectly
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rulala For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2012, 05:38 PM |#8  
solar666's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
More
do I need to change "all" keys by replacing GT-I9000 with the new one or just a specific one?
21st March 2012, 06:34 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
oops same question ! -.-
Last edited by eisen_one; 21st March 2012 at 07:12 PM.
21st March 2012, 06:51 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag PETALING JAYA
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Have you tried telling the Viber folks about this ? From the sound of it, it may be a simple change on the app to fix this prob.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes