Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,101 Members 43,018 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can't factory reset/S-ON... "No image or wrong image!"

Tip us?
 
oregrain
Old
#1  
oregrain's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NW
Question [Q] Can't factory reset/S-ON... "No image or wrong image!"

I need to have my phone repaired, so I'm trying to return to stock via this tool: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1208507

At step 4, I get into HBOOT and see these error messages:

No image!
No image or wrong image!

Then I have no prompt to install. I have tried re-downloading the tool twice now, both versions, MD5 matches, and every time same problem. What now?
 
cwhitney24
Old
#2  
cwhitney24's Avatar
Recognized Themer / Contributor
Thanks Meter 4574
Posts: 3,901
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hoover, AL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by oregrain View Post
I need to have my phone repaired, so I'm trying to return to stock via this tool: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1208507

At step 4, I get into HBOOT and see these error messages:

No image!
No image or wrong image!

Then I have no prompt to install. I have tried re-downloading the tool twice now, both versions, MD5 matches, and every time same problem. What now?
Are you sure you renamed it
"PD98IMG.zip"?


I got your 10 char right here

Rocking bacon...ics style
 
Reinaldo33897
Old
#3  
Reinaldo33897's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 498
Posts: 1,158
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta
The file is already a zip file so make sure you rename it PD98IMG only. If you rename it PD98IMG.zip you will end up with PD98IMG.zip.zip which phone will not recognize and is a very common mistake people make.
PHONE: AT&T Samsung Galaxy S4 (MDL)
ROM: Goldeneye V34
Baseband : NC1
The Following User Says Thank You to Reinaldo33897 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cwhitney24
Old
#4  
cwhitney24's Avatar
Recognized Themer / Contributor
Thanks Meter 4574
Posts: 3,901
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hoover, AL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reinaldo33897 View Post
The file is already a zip file so make sure you rename it PD98IMG only. If you rename it PD98IMG.zip you will end up with PD98IMG.zip.zip which phone will not recognize and is a very common mistake people make.
That's pretty much common sense. But I know some people do not have much of that.

I got your 10 char right here

Rocking bacon...ics style
 
MMM-BACONSTRIPS
Old
#5  
MMM-BACONSTRIPS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1084
Posts: 858
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reinaldo33897 View Post
The file is already a zip file so make sure you rename it PD98IMG only. If you rename it PD98IMG.zip you will end up with PD98IMG.zip.zip which phone will not recognize and is a very common mistake people make.
Well he should first check if the setting to auto hide extensions is on because if its not, he'll need the .zip part, but either way this little snag has been covered in EVERY PD98IMG thread this side of town.
Samsung Galaxy 4
I change my ROMs more than my underwear.
The Following User Says Thank You to MMM-BACONSTRIPS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Reinaldo33897
Old
#6  
Reinaldo33897's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 498
Posts: 1,158
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta
Yes but as we all know many here hate that search button lol.

Sent from my HTC Inspire 4G using xda premium
PHONE: AT&T Samsung Galaxy S4 (MDL)
ROM: Goldeneye V34
Baseband : NC1
The Following User Says Thank You to Reinaldo33897 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MMM-BACONSTRIPS
Old
#7  
MMM-BACONSTRIPS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1084
Posts: 858
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reinaldo33897 View Post
Yes but as we all know many here hate that search button lol.

Sent from my HTC Inspire 4G using xda premium
hahaha sad truth Reinaldo, sad truth.
Samsung Galaxy 4
I change my ROMs more than my underwear.
The Following User Says Thank You to MMM-BACONSTRIPS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
glevitan
Old
#8  
glevitan's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1206
Posts: 3,271
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Buenos Aires

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by oregrain View Post
I need to have my phone repaired, so I'm trying to return to stock via this tool: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1208507

At step 4, I get into HBOOT and see these error messages:

No image!
No image or wrong image!

Then I have no prompt to install. I have tried re-downloading the tool twice now, both versions, MD5 matches, and every time same problem. What now?
If you are not able to revert to stock with Gene´s tool, then use the Hack Kit to revert to stock. Make sure that the first time to revert it you stay S-OFF, just in case something goes wrong. If you are successfull the first time then run it again and choose S-ON...
Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note II
Rom: Stock
Tablet: Asus Transformer Pad Infinity tf700t - Got rid of this one...performance sucked
Tablet: Nexus 7 2013 - Now we are talking

Easy Ace Root Tool
HTC Desire HD / Inspire 4G Ultimate Noob Guide
OneClickRoot Galaxy Note (GT-N7000)
HTC Easy Unlock Bootloader Tool
Goldcard img Creator
 
oregrain
Old
#9  
oregrain's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NW
Thanks for the suggestions. I have tried now with and without the .zip extension, but I get the same error message both times.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes