Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,395 Members 47,141 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ADB] Trying to backup - Birck? Hope not

Tip us?
 
mrvlhs
Old
#1  
mrvlhs's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 71
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default [ADB] Trying to backup - Birck? Hope not

Hi! I was trying to backup my Orange Monte Carlo following a Portuguese tutorial but I'm stuck in the middle and I've got no help! Hope you can provide some! These are the steps I followed (translated)

1 - Install ADB Made Easy;
2 - Open cmd;
3 - Activate cellphone debug mode;
4 - Connect via usb (without mass storage) and install drivers if request [it was requested and i installed];
5 - Run adb devices, it should show your device [it did];
6 - Run adb reboot bootloader, your cellphone will boot in Fastboot, wich is an Android image without menus [correct until here];
7 - Run fastboot devices, your device yor a question mark(?) should show up (advance to next step), else you miss drivers [step not completed];

cmd says 'fastboot' is not recognized as a command. Now my phone is stuck connected to the computer with an adriod pick and I have no clue on what to do next!
 
shanman-2
Old
(Last edited by shanman-2; 23rd March 2012 at 12:34 AM.)
#2  
shanman-2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 600
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cork
Don't know where you were going with this but to reboot your phone just pull the battery ..

Not bricked
Device:Samsung Galaxy s3 mini GT-I8190
Rom: Stock Android 4.1.2- Rooted
Recovery: TWRP v2.7.1.0

It;s nice to be nice
The Following User Says Thank You to shanman-2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrvlhs
Old
#3  
mrvlhs's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 71
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by shanman-2 View Post
Don't know where you were going with this but to reboot your phone just pull the battery ..

Not bricked
Thank you! Do you have any idea why the last command doesn't work? I believe it has something to do with file location... I'm trying to backup my Monte Carlo. Next steps were to "fastboot boot recovery.img" and then backup.
 
shanman-2
Old
(Last edited by shanman-2; 23rd March 2012 at 01:42 AM.)
#4  
shanman-2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 600
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cork
It should be in the platform-tools directory of the android-sdk. Verify that it's there...if so cd to that directory and it should work
Device:Samsung Galaxy s3 mini GT-I8190
Rom: Stock Android 4.1.2- Rooted
Recovery: TWRP v2.7.1.0

It;s nice to be nice
The Following User Says Thank You to shanman-2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrvlhs
Old
#5  
mrvlhs's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 71
Join Date: Mar 2012
I already fixed it for myself, thanks! Now I can't seem to be able to install clockwork!

Doing <<fastboot boot "C:\Users\R&J\Downloads\recovery.img">> reboots the device but doesn't enter recovery.

Doing <<fastboot flash recovery "C:\Users\R&J\Downloads\recovery.img">> , <<fastboot reboot>> and <<adb wait-for-device reboot recovery>> results the phone entering android's default recovery (no acess to backup feature).

Any way to help? Thank you!
 
shanman-2
Old
#6  
shanman-2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 600
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cork
The first command <<fastboot flash recovery "C:\Users\R&J\Downloads\recovery.img">> is trying to write the recovery.img you downloaded to a recovery partition on your device. It may not be overwriting the original recovery.
try changing permissions by doing
adb shell
su
chmod 777 /recovery

then try to flash again
Device:Samsung Galaxy s3 mini GT-I8190
Rom: Stock Android 4.1.2- Rooted
Recovery: TWRP v2.7.1.0

It;s nice to be nice
The Following User Says Thank You to shanman-2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrvlhs
Old
(Last edited by mrvlhs; 23rd March 2012 at 02:37 AM.)
#7  
mrvlhs's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 71
Join Date: Mar 2012
Lol it seems like I have been luck enough to solve my own problems, I have sucessfully installed ClockworkMod Recovery 4.0.1.4 unofficial MoDaCo Edition using a bat file . Now I can't seem to find a way to flash recovery back to stock. I though this was an option inside the modded recovery. Any tips? Thanks again!

EDIT: I have the stock recovery file . God... this tutorials I'm folowing aren't that noob friendly...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes