Post Reply

Amaze Bricked

24th March 2012, 02:46 AM   |  #11  
Mafioso's Avatar
OP Senior Member
New Delhi, India
Thanks Meter: 89
 
756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
ok went to the TMO store on my way back...but guys at there refused to test it out saying they don't have any tester battery's...moreover I'm not a TMO customer so they said they can't me help much either

Anyway, I called up HTC customer service, it seems they do honor warranty on tmobile sets, however I just asked them to ship me a replacement battery for now, if that doesn't work, I'll send the phone over to HTC for repair...

BTW customer support guy said the notification light blinks in case the battery is extremely dead. I hope it does work with new battery...I don't know how will they take it when they find unlocked bootloader and custom ROM installed on it...
24th March 2012, 02:55 AM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
617 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Dont worry, they wont even get to know about it ..
Because they are not that knowledge about it ...
24th March 2012, 03:23 AM   |  #13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Ya sensation battery will work. I have tried it

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium
glacierguy
24th March 2012, 03:25 AM   |  #14  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mafioso

ok went to the TMO store on my way back...but guys at there refused to test it out saying they don't have any tester battery's...moreover I'm not a TMO customer so they said they can't me help much either

Anyway, I called up HTC customer service, it seems they do honor warranty on tmobile sets, however I just asked them to ship me a replacement battery for now, if that doesn't work, I'll send the phone over to HTC for repair...

BTW customer support guy said the notification light blinks in case the battery is extremely dead. I hope it does work with new battery...I don't know how will they take it when they find unlocked bootloader and custom ROM installed on it...

Good stuff... It will work

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using Tapatalk 2 Beta-4
glacierguy
24th March 2012, 04:08 AM   |  #15  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Just talked to my buddy. EXACT same thing just happened to him the other day. Getting a replacement battery

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using xda premium
24th March 2012, 05:21 AM   |  #16  
xxquicksh0txx's Avatar
Senior Member
Akron, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 334
 
1,265 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mafioso

ok went to the TMO store on my way back...but guys at there refused to test it out saying they don't have any tester battery's...moreover I'm not a TMO customer so they said they can't me help much either

Anyway, I called up HTC customer service, it seems they do honor warranty on tmobile sets, however I just asked them to ship me a replacement battery for now, if that doesn't work, I'll send the phone over to HTC for repair...

BTW customer support guy said the notification light blinks in case the battery is extremely dead. I hope it does work with new battery...I don't know how will they take it when they find unlocked bootloader and custom ROM installed on it...

With your phone being s-on, you can't technically brick your phone. So as long as it's a hardware failure, and you don't have s-off and haven't been holding out on us you should be fine.

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to xxquicksh0txx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th March 2012, 03:47 PM   |  #17  
Mafioso's Avatar
OP Senior Member
New Delhi, India
Thanks Meter: 89
 
756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by glacierguy

Just talked to my buddy. EXACT same thing just happened to him the other day. Getting a replacement battery

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using xda premium

Seems this problem is common enough then...we already have 3 people including me which have this since I started this thread

Wondering, if an after market independent battery charger can revive the battery, I'll get one if everything works fine with replacement battery..

Quote:
Originally Posted by harisj16

Ya sensation battery will work. I have tried it

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium

I thought about it, but don't want to go ahead...I will just wait for replacement battery...
Last edited by Mafioso; 24th March 2012 at 03:50 PM.
25th March 2012, 05:35 AM   |  #18  
wadill's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Myrtle Beach S.C.
Thanks Meter: 21
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1522351

If you have a qsb_load brick caused in any way, plz try to identify your phones emmc like they did here in the link for the sensation in a Linux environment. You can only access this mode on a bricked phone.

I think we may be able to s-off using a version of this method. Ultimately intentionally bricking a phone and achieve installing a cracked boot loader and s-off.

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using xda premium
25th March 2012, 07:22 PM   |  #19  
Mafioso's Avatar
OP Senior Member
New Delhi, India
Thanks Meter: 89
 
756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadill

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1522351

If you have a qsb_load brick caused in any way, plz try to identify your phones emmc like they did here in the link for the sensation in a Linux environment. You can only access this mode on a bricked phone.

I think we may be able to s-off using a version of this method. Ultimately intentionally bricking a phone and achieve installing a cracked boot loader and s-off.

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using xda premium

Ok, I went through the thread to make out, what they are trying to do, however, without much success...

I couldn't find the pin they use on sensation to ground it to SD card frame, to put it in download mode. See the image attached, its kind of different from sensation. Also I can't find it any instructions for Linux environment, its mostly windows based (drivers and software). Can you point out the post or do a write up ? I have a mac with me, I'm guessing it would be same for os X also..

Anyway I don't know, if I should be doing all this...since I plan to RMA the phone to HTC incase it doesn't work with new battery.
However, if its indeed battery related and it does work with new battery, what I can do is ship you the battery which causes the brick. You can try the things on your Amaze, if you want to...since you seem better technically sound than me
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	page_htc_amaze_4g-img_1247.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	964815  
25th March 2012, 08:41 PM   |  #20  
Member
Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 2
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mafioso

Seems this problem is common enough then...we already have 3 people including me which have this since I started this thread

Wondering, if an after market independent battery charger can revive the battery, I'll get one if everything works fine with replacement battery..



I thought about it, but don't want to go ahead...I will just wait for replacement battery...



HTC Sensation Battery DOES work in the Amaze.
Independent battery charger DOES work as well.

I use Anker battery 1900 mAh from Amazon.
I use an external charger also found on Amazon (white- about $10).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes