Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,867 Members 41,497 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nook Simple Touch -> Nook Multi Touch [Screensaver Locking Issue Explanation Added]

Tip us?
 
wheilitjohnny
Old
(Last edited by wheilitjohnny; 25th April 2012 at 02:47 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 51
Join Date: Mar 2011
Talking Nook Simple Touch -> Nook Multi Touch [Screensaver Locking Issue Explanation Added]

After long discussion on how to enable multitouch
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1361296

Finally we get something very exciting,
mixing with the noRefresh app, thank to everyone developing this app
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1502723

==Exciting Videos==
AngryBird: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Chy0MGorjmo
Excellent PDF Reading: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JDk8a0leP4U



Quote:
======For User======

For those who want a simple installation package
Can use the following update-package made by mali100, thanks to mali100
mali100 made an update-zip to install multitouch through CWM
[NST][CWR][RC2] Clockworkmod based Recovery



For thise users want to install manually
Can achieve Multi-touch by 2 Steps:

| Replacing Kernel:
| -make sure you haven't changed it before, otherwise u have to combine the changes and compile a new one
| -remember, a backup is a MUST
| for firmware 1.1 users
| Use Noogie or other methods, change the uImage with the attached one ( or the combined kernel mentioned below )
| arkusuma teaches us how to change uImage using ADB here
| *Thanks to arkusuma!
|
| Adding Permission node:
| in "/etc/permissions/required_hardware.xml", add
|
Code:
Select Code
<feature name="android.hardware.touchscreen" />
<feature name="android.hardware.touchscreen.multitouch" />
|
| Reboot



For those users who also want to achieve USB host
Can find the combined kernel here: ( Thanks mali100! )
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=24180134


Known Issue:
Sometimes the nook would act like un-responsive when it is in screensaver.
To solve it, try to drag the screen with two fingers.
The reason for this is, a cache is added between hardware input and linux subsystem, if the driver missed one of the "finger up" event before, it would result it leaving a phantom finger touching in your next touch. The screen cannot unlock by 2 fingers. But when you drag the screen with 2 fingers. It will clear all the cache, so as to erase the phantom touching.

Quote:
======For Developer======

It is done by editing the kernel + adding permission node

*Thanks to arkusuma, who improved the code, added a cache for touching data, which prevents the pervious "un-stable" situation from happening

Kernel: just replace zforce.c, then compile
Two main changes on zforce,
first one is process_touch_event ( report touch information ),
second one is zforce_probe, this one just added a few input_set_abs_params ( register for device capability )
http://github.com/arkusuma/nook-touch-multitouch

Permission node: in "/etc/permissions/required_hardware.xml", add
Code:
Select Code
<feature name="android.hardware.touchscreen" />
<feature name="android.hardware.touchscreen.multitouch" />

Thanks to arkusuma for improving the code again !
Attached Files
File Type: zip newuimage.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.85 MB, 2168 views)
The Following 22 Users Say Thank You to wheilitjohnny For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
johnshadow
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2006
Why not work multi touch zoom in Opera mini?
 
osowiecki
Old
#3  
osowiecki's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 123
Posts: 258
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Poznań

 
DONATE TO ME
love it ;]

also.. it works in OPERA 'mobile'.
 
johnshadow
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by osowiecki View Post
love it ;]
also.. it works in OPERA 'mobile'.
Yes, you're right. Thank you.
PS: in UC Browser works too
 
Googie2149
Old
#5  
Googie2149's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 288
Join Date: Jan 2012
Congrats on getting multitouch working!
Android Devices - Nook Color running Stock 1.4.2 and CM7 from 16GB SD; Rooted Nook Simple Touch with broken screen, but still runs; Currently Stock Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 with cracked glass. I wonder how long until my NC dies...
 
apeine
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 261
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sao Paulo
wheilitjohnny,

Congrats on your feat! Maybe you should do a tutorial on how to install those files, for those poor lame souls like myself who can do simple things like run installer and such, even run a rooter, but need help on anything else.
 
wheilitjohnny
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 51
Join Date: Mar 2011
Thank you for your support, I also wish to make a 1-click-install later.

But since the multi-touch is still not very smooth when the fingers are not moving, I want to package the things when I have a better release!

Wish that day comes earlier ^ ^
The Following User Says Thank You to wheilitjohnny For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
domi.nos
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 305
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Warszaw
Could anyone say if kernel for 1.1 will work on 1.1.2? Then could someone compile one if it does not?
 
arkusuma
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 20
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bandung

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi, I've made some adjustment of wheilitjohnny's source. It seems to be working properly now, even when there's no finger movement. Changes can be viewed at github:

github.com/arkusuma/nook-touch-multitouch

I'm attaching the resulting uImage for those interested.
Attached Files
File Type: zip uImage.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.85 MB, 1237 views)
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to arkusuma For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
wheilitjohnny
Old
(Last edited by wheilitjohnny; 28th March 2012 at 10:27 AM.)
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 51
Join Date: Mar 2011
Cool ! Thanks arkusuma

You added a cache !


Seems that it is perfect now...

I wanna also improve the noRefresh app, make it being enabled when we are dragging......
But seems difficult

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes