Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Problem connecting tethered network

OP Xylian

25th March 2012, 10:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Kielce
Thanks Meter: 0
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I'm tethering a connection with my Xperia X10 using 'Wifi Tether for root users' app. I'm sure it work's fine cause I'm able to connect to this network via laptop or another android phone. What I'm not able to do is connect to this network from my Transformer. I click on the network and it just changes the state to Remembered but it won't connect to it no matter how many times I cick the thing.

Have any of you managed to solve this already?

I'm running an official ICS, no root or stuff. Completly clean.
26th March 2012, 05:49 AM   |  #2  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sugar Land TX
Thanks Meter: 1,718
 
6,694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
What type of hotspot is it putting out? Ad hoc?
26th March 2012, 11:01 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Kielce
Thanks Meter: 0
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I think so
26th March 2012, 01:44 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
I don't know if it can help, but the issue you describe is exactly the one I had when I used my HTC Sensation (with any ICS custom ROM) as a Wifi AP : I could browse the web from any peripheral connected to the "HTC Portable Hotspot"... except from my TF101 !

I thought the problem came from the TF101 itself (and I'm still thinking it...), but curiously I solved it by flashing my HTC Sensation back to stock ROM (Android 2.3.4) !

Now my TF101 can browse the web through my Sensation like any other device...
26th March 2012, 09:27 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Kielce
Thanks Meter: 0
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I'm still thinking it's Transformer. I was flashing several softs before I started posting. It was always only the bloody transformer that couldn't connect... funny thing is that exactly week ago on the exactly same ICS I've managed to connect. Then it started to fail.
27th March 2012, 02:39 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
619 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
I thin your router needs to support Infrastructure and not adhoc networks to work wth the transformer.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk
27th March 2012, 08:10 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Kielce
Thanks Meter: 0
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Dude - it's a phone, not a router. It supports ad-hoc only. And as I said - it worked ocassionally. Myabe it's a reason to call a guarantee services?
27th March 2012, 09:25 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
if your TF is already rooted, then try the free app wifiadhocenabler from the market. i used this for my galaxy s2 because samsung disabled adhoc connections.
27th March 2012, 05:36 PM   |  #9  
AyDee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mobile
Thanks Meter: 924
 
1,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
I can connect to my x10 just fine using the native tethering (via settings). I am still on HC though...

Sent from my X10a using The Force
27th March 2012, 06:18 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
I'm just a user, but I had the same problem when I was running Gingerbread on my HTC Legend. Now, there aren't really any proper drivers for that on Gingerbread, so it was done ad-hoc. When I updated to ICS on the TF101 it lost the ability to connect to ad-hoc hotspots. Installing a ROM that uses Froyo fixed it.

I think Prime users faced the same issue, but managed to enable ad-hoc support. Root on the tablet was of course needed.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes