Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,710 Members 39,905 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Dalvik to sd, good or bad

Tip us?
 
jrollercoasters
Old
#1  
jrollercoasters's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 362
Posts: 1,687
Join Date: Oct 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Dalvik to sd, good or bad

I was just wondering is it smart to have dalvik go to SD.. and if so when you wipe.dose it know.its on SD..

sent from my EVO EXPRESS 4g
 
jrollercoasters
Old
#2  
jrollercoasters's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 362
Posts: 1,687
Join Date: Oct 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
I just need opionions

sent from my EVO EXPRESS 4g
 
jrollercoasters
Old
#3  
jrollercoasters's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 362
Posts: 1,687
Join Date: Oct 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Ugh, no one?

sent from my EVO EXPRESS 4g
 
Notorious
Old
#4  
Notorious's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5,113
Posts: 8,030
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney

 
DONATE TO ME
Its good and bad. Its good because it frees up alot of memory but its bad because it slows your phone down because the dalvik cache just keeps building up and up and you need a high class sdcard or it will slow your phone down more also. And when you wipe dalvik cache in recovery it will wipe dalvik cache on internal,sdext, ect
The Following User Says Thank You to Notorious For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
slyd0997
Old
#5  
slyd0997's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 400
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Sorry I don't know other than it gives you more internal memory. Maybe ask over on the androidforum.

Sent from my GT-P6210 using Tapatalk
"When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade without further introduction." - Mark Twain
 
jrollercoasters
Old
#6  
jrollercoasters's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 362
Posts: 1,687
Join Date: Oct 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by evo4gnoob View Post
Its good and bad. Its good because it frees up alot of memory but its bad because it slows your phone down because the dalvik cache just keeps building up and up and you need a high class sdcard or it will slow your phone down more also. And when you wipe dalvik cache in recovery it will wipe dalvik cache on internal,sdext, ect
Thanks man that helps

sent from my EVO EXPRESS 4g
 
HipKat
Old
#7  
HipKat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,834
Posts: 5,094
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Peoria-hell, IL via Buffalo, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
I haven't noticed any slowdown, and I've been using that for a long time
Samsung Galaxy S4 SCH-R970
Android 4.4.2
ROM Hyperdrive KK RLS18.1
KERNEL Alucard-V2.1a TW
GAPPS N/A
RADIO R970TYUFNF6
RECOVERY Philz Touch 5.06.6

My Life Is Committed To Jesus!


 
Notorious
Old
#8  
Notorious's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5,113
Posts: 8,030
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by HipKat View Post
I haven't noticed any slowdown, and I've been using that for a long time
Only if you use sense you'll notice it

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA
 
HipKat
Old
#9  
HipKat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,834
Posts: 5,094
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Peoria-hell, IL via Buffalo, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Actually, that could be why the few times I ran 3.5 ROMS, the lag was almost unbearable at times
Samsung Galaxy S4 SCH-R970
Android 4.4.2
ROM Hyperdrive KK RLS18.1
KERNEL Alucard-V2.1a TW
GAPPS N/A
RADIO R970TYUFNF6
RECOVERY Philz Touch 5.06.6

My Life Is Committed To Jesus!


 
oOflyeyesOo
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 798
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St louis
Quote:
Originally Posted by HipKat View Post
I haven't noticed any slowdown, and I've been using that for a long time
What class SD card do you have?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes