XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more
Post Reply

Dalvik to sd, good or bad

OP jrollercoasters

27th March 2012, 01:58 AM   |  #1  
jrollercoasters's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 367
 
1,709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
I was just wondering is it smart to have dalvik go to SD.. and if so when you wipe.dose it know.its on SD..

sent from my EVO EXPRESS 4g
27th March 2012, 02:16 AM   |  #2  
jrollercoasters's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 367
 
1,709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
I just need opionions

sent from my EVO EXPRESS 4g
27th March 2012, 03:06 AM   |  #3  
jrollercoasters's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 367
 
1,709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Ugh, no one?

sent from my EVO EXPRESS 4g
27th March 2012, 03:27 AM   |  #4  
Notorious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 5,125
 
8,043 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Its good and bad. Its good because it frees up alot of memory but its bad because it slows your phone down because the dalvik cache just keeps building up and up and you need a high class sdcard or it will slow your phone down more also. And when you wipe dalvik cache in recovery it will wipe dalvik cache on internal,sdext, ect
The Following User Says Thank You to Notorious For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th March 2012, 03:28 AM   |  #5  
slyd0997's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 117
 
400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Sorry I don't know other than it gives you more internal memory. Maybe ask over on the androidforum.

Sent from my GT-P6210 using Tapatalk
27th March 2012, 05:38 AM   |  #6  
jrollercoasters's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 367
 
1,709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by evo4gnoob

Its good and bad. Its good because it frees up alot of memory but its bad because it slows your phone down because the dalvik cache just keeps building up and up and you need a high class sdcard or it will slow your phone down more also. And when you wipe dalvik cache in recovery it will wipe dalvik cache on internal,sdext, ect

Thanks man that helps

sent from my EVO EXPRESS 4g
27th March 2012, 12:04 PM   |  #7  
HipKat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Peoria-hell, IL via Buffalo, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,839
 
5,100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
I haven't noticed any slowdown, and I've been using that for a long time
27th March 2012, 12:08 PM   |  #8  
Notorious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 5,125
 
8,043 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HipKat

I haven't noticed any slowdown, and I've been using that for a long time

Only if you use sense you'll notice it

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA
27th March 2012, 06:53 PM   |  #9  
HipKat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Peoria-hell, IL via Buffalo, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,839
 
5,100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Actually, that could be why the few times I ran 3.5 ROMS, the lag was almost unbearable at times
27th March 2012, 08:12 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag St louis
Thanks Meter: 71
 
798 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HipKat

I haven't noticed any slowdown, and I've been using that for a long time

What class SD card do you have?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes