Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

SGS I9000M from Canada...

OP grga

27th March 2012, 03:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Hi guys!

My brother in law sent me this phone last week (I am in Croatia, Europe) from Canada but SIM card can't work on my network, it's locked on Virgin Mobile.

I did some searching on this forum and longer I search it is more confusing for me so please, if anyone can help and give me right directions for what to do with that.

I'd like to root it, SIM unlock it maybe do some ROM flash if it's possible...
What do you recommend me to do?

Best regards to all and thank you for your answer.
27th March 2012, 04:43 AM   |  #2  
adslee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Scarborough
Thanks Meter: 99
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
To unlock, you need to be rooted first.

To root, just flash something from the development section, most ROMs there are already rooted. After you flash a rooted ROM on your phone, you will need to pull a file from your phone to edit. Follow the instructions in this thread to SIM unlock your phone.

Your phone is the I9000M but it will work with all the I9000 firmware
27th March 2012, 04:53 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
thank you very much for your answer.

I've just rooted it with SuperOneClick app and unlocked it with Galaxy S Unlock.

Is it possible that phone looks a little bit slower after rooted?

I need to remove my brother in law's google account now because I don't know his password.
27th March 2012, 12:03 PM   |  #4  
shadoslayer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Any Virgin Mobile branded firmware is going to be slow, rooted or not.

As long as your mobile provider in Croatia supports 850mhz/1900mhz then the i9000m will work fine. Head over to the development section, download a ICS rom (I prefer CNA personally), flash a modem more suited to your cell providers, and you're all set.

If you need more info, tell us who your cell provider is.
27th March 2012, 03:27 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadoslayer

Any Virgin Mobile branded firmware is going to be slow, rooted or not.

As long as your mobile provider in Croatia supports 850mhz/1900mhz then the i9000m will work fine. Head over to the development section, download a ICS rom (I prefer CNA personally), flash a modem more suited to your cell providers, and you're all set.

If you need more info, tell us who your cell provider is.

my cell provider is Tomato, that's something like cheap brand of VIPnet, it's 900 MHz network.

I have to wait a little bit for flashing ROM, it took mi a little more than 10 days just to root and unlock it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes