Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,360 Members 50,365 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

New-T-Mobile Radio/Modem Thread

Tip us?
 
bryancotton84
Old
#141  
bryancotton84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 365
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
anyone having issues with T-mo radios not sending picture messages via text?
Note 3

Semper Fidelis
 
PoLaRBe4r
Old
#142  
PoLaRBe4r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryancotton84 View Post
anyone having issues with T-mo radios not sending picture messages via text?
I'm gonna say its your APN settings that are not set right to receive MMS.
 
bryancotton84
Old
#143  
bryancotton84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 365
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoLaRBe4r View Post
I'm gonna say its your APN settings that are not set right to receive MMS.
any idea what they should be and how to change them?!
Note 3

Semper Fidelis
 
PoLaRBe4r
Old
#144  
PoLaRBe4r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryancotton84 View Post
any idea what they should be and how to change them?!
Google is your friend

http://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-1979
 
bryancotton84
Old
(Last edited by bryancotton84; 17th April 2012 at 01:58 AM.)
#145  
bryancotton84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 365
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoLaRBe4r View Post
lol yea i did it shortly after i posted that...everything is the same on my note as my S2 and that link but i just get the constant "sending" sign for picture messages

EDIT: So I can receive MMS but still wont send...interesting
Note 3

Semper Fidelis
 
Longevite
Old
(Last edited by Longevite; 17th April 2012 at 03:59 AM.)
#146  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 84
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryancotton84 View Post
lol yea i did it shortly after i posted that...everything is the same on my note as my S2 and that link but i just get the constant "sending" sign for picture messages

EDIT: So I can receive MMS but still wont send...interesting
take screen shot of the APN setting post in here. Also change the data to Edge it will help.
Most of the time if I can't send pic I change to E and it sent.
On the Note if you dont have the option to set to 2G speed, only way to do is dial *#2263# and set to GSM
 
bryancotton84
Old
#147  
bryancotton84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 365
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longevite View Post
take screen shot of the APN setting post in here. Also change the data to Edge it will help.
Most of the time if I can't send pic I change to E and it sent.
On the Note if you dont have the option to set to 2G speed, only way to do is dial *#2263# and set to GSM
My APN is the same as what T-Mobile says on their FAQ page, tried the switch to 2G and it still didnt work....
Note 3

Semper Fidelis
 
reebop2k
Old
#148  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
I received my i717 from CanadaGSM late yesterday afternoon. I am seeing mostly 3 out of 5 bars with occasionally 4 on T-Mobile at my home in Dallas, TX. In the several tests I ran with Speedtest, I've see 1500 kps down / 90 up with 3 bars and 2500 kps down / 250 up with 4 bars. I have also seen as high as 5000 kps down /600 kps up, but that has been rare. I've had no dropped calls (one call today was about an hour) and I was able to get on with my phone right away. I've tweaked no settings at this time. I haven't checked battery life as of yet but I can say it is much better than my Nokia N900.

I did find that their GMail e-mail address has been entered everywhere to download BusyBox from the Market, so I've needed to change all of that. I wished they would have noted that in a short set of instructions included in the package. All the included accessories were included and the plastic protector packaging on the phone was all in place.

So far, I'm quite happy with the phone. Paying a premium for a phone with the modem flashing already done was a huge time saver for me.
 
madman604
Old
#149  
madman604's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 594
Join Date: Jul 2007
For me the phone was cheaper than any local dealer and saved me the effort to root and flash.

Rogers would have been $700 + taxes, 1 month service and a $35 activation fee + however much $ to unlock.

Im a happy camper.

Sent from my SGH-I717R using XDA
 
PoLaRBe4r
Old
#150  
PoLaRBe4r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Quote:
Originally Posted by madman604 View Post
For me the phone was cheaper than any local dealer and saved me the effort to root and flash.

Rogers would have been $700 + taxes, 1 month service and a $35 activation fee + however much $ to unlock.

Im a happy camper.

Sent from my SGH-I717R using XDA
I bought my rogers from bestbuy @ 649 with month to month contract, called in the next day, canceled the contract, paid my month, and voila.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes