Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Kindle Fire 6.3 root

OP jcase

28th March 2012, 03:35 AM   |  #1  
jcase's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 8,582
 
4,028 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Warning
Below be dragons, please gather armor and basic computing knowledge before preceding </ubergeek>. Working adb AND fastboot are requires, support for adb and fastboot are NOT offered by me. If you question is related to OSX or Linux I may be able to help. If it is windows related, don't get pissed when I tell you "I have no idea", it is the truth.


This is at your own risk! Do not blame me if something goes wrong!

For 6.2, 6.2.1 and 6.2.2 please see BurritoRoot3 -> http://rootzwiki.com/topic/13027-roo...-root-edition/

While I have another root exploit, Amazon neglected pokey's far more beautiful one this update, and we have no good reason to blow another root for this update, so isntead here is a guide using fbmode.

Full credits for this goes to pokey9000 (see http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1414832). This guide requires you to have adb and fastboot working FOR THE KINDLE FIRE, on whatever os you are on.

Required files:
fbmode.zip - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1414832
twrp2 - http://teamw.in/project/twrp2/79
su - http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8699733/kindlefire/su
firefirefirefire http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1369405
fastboot + adb for your OS of choice.


unzip fbmode.zip

adb push fbmode /data/local/fbmode
adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/fbmode
adb shell /data/local/fbmode
adb reboot

Your kindle will "get stuck" on the kindle fire screen, but really it's just in fastboot mode.

fastboot -i 0x1949 flash bootloader <name of firefirefire image here>
fastboot -i 0x1949 flash recovery <name of recovery image here>

Your device will now boot into twrp recovery, and flash the firefirefire bootlaoder. When done it will prompt you to reboot. Upon reboot you will get stuck on the "yellow triangle" screen of firefire fire.

fastboot oem idme bootmode 5002
fastboot reboot

Once in recovery
adb shell mount system
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
adb shell chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su

Lets disable the root check before rebooting

adb shell mv /system/bin/check_rooted /system/bin/check_rooted.bak

adb shell idme bootmode 4000
adb reboot

Once booted into Android, install superuser
adb install Superuser.apk
Last edited by jcase; 25th April 2012 at 04:17 AM.
The Following 50 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2012, 03:58 AM   |  #2  
uoY_redruM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 1,937
 
3,351 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
So this is strictly to add root for someone who is running stock 6.3, correct?

Thanks for the write up.
The Following User Says Thank You to uoY_redruM For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2012, 03:58 AM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 12
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Thumbs up
Once again! You rule.
28th March 2012, 04:02 AM   |  #4  
smirkis's Avatar
Senior Member
San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 613
 
1,808 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Your fast! I was gonna suggest pokeys bootmodes before tossing an exploit but u went straight for it lol. Great work jcase

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
28th March 2012, 04:04 AM   |  #5  
jcase's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 8,582
 
4,028 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kernelsandirs

Once again! You rule.

It's pokey's not mine, I just posted up a guide to stop ppl from asking me
28th March 2012, 04:05 AM   |  #6  
jcase's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 8,582
 
4,028 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smirkis

Your fast! I was gonna suggest pokeys bootmodes before tossing an exploit but u went straight for it lol. Great work jcase

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium

I flashed back to stock and updated. My "secondary" exploit still exists, but after getting root I decided to check and see if fbmode would still work, and it does.

So we should be good for the next one as well.
The Following User Says Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2012, 05:56 AM   |  #7  
Laquox's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quick question you wonderful people,

Does this work with kinfauns 1.3 firefirefire?

It's basically just pokey9000's with some quirks and a different boot menu but figured I would ask the "big guys" first before I turn into one of those "I bricked my fire" folks. Cheers.
28th March 2012, 06:14 AM   |  #8  
jcase's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 8,582
 
4,028 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laquox

Quick question you wonderful people,

Does this work with kinfauns 1.3 firefirefire?

It's basically just pokey9000's with some quirks and a different boot menu but figured I would ask the "big guys" first before I turn into one of those "I bricked my fire" folks. Cheers.

should work with anything
28th March 2012, 06:40 AM   |  #9  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 2,425
 
4,020 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Wow, it didn't take them long to implement a root check at all. I guess more people are rooting their devices than had previously expected. They're selling them at a loss in the hopes that they will make it up in app store and prime sales. Woops. Oh well, I'm just glad I switched rooms when I did. It won't be long before they make them either unrootable (less likely) or stop selling them altogether (more likely).

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire using xda premium
28th March 2012, 07:57 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by soupmagnet

Wow, it didn't take them long to implement a root check at all. I guess more people are rooting their devices than had previously expected. They're selling them at a loss in the hopes that they will make it up in app store and prime sales. Woops. Oh well, I'm just glad I switched rooms when I did. It won't be long before they make them either unrootable (less likely) or stop selling them altogether (more likely).

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire using xda premium

no, every update has "broke" root. amazon does this so that their updates wont brick rooted devices. they haven't done anything to prevent people from rooting.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes