FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] Link2sd can't create mount script with Ext partition - Help!

31 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By bSptya, Member on 28th March 2012, 08:40 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello!

My problem basically is that i can't use Link2sd - i'm currently running the latest CronosX mod - because it can't create the mount scripts. I keep getting the following error:

mount: mounting /dev/block/vold/179:2 on /data/sdext2 failed: device or resource busy

i have a trascend class 10 8gb SD, i have a 6,5 gb Fat partition and the rest is EXT2 (now). I formatted it with minitool partition magic.

I have googled the problem for days now, seems i found nothing useful..

so far i tried:
ext3, ext4 -- then still couldn't create mount scripts, but i also had the following error msg in OR:
"can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 (invalid argument)"

although in SD utilities when checking the ext partition it recognised as EXT4 or EXT3..
with ext2 it seems working as of i don't see that msg..

still no link2sd. I read in the mod's forum that the app is supported, so it can't be the problem.. or is it?
 
 
4th April 2012, 05:18 PM |#2  
harpdarp's Avatar
Member
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Same issue, resoved by using FAT32
I had the exact same issue you're having. I tried using EXT2,EXT3, and EXT4 but couldn't get it to work. I finally got it working by using a FAT32 partition.
4th April 2012, 09:56 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I know this may sound a bit dumb (like myself in android technicals) but

1. Do you have the specific kernel modules loaded to recognize these filesystems?
2. Are the devices attached to the PC with memory card access? [should not be].
3. Maybe you should try partitioning with a linux distro or some specific tool (might want to check out some instructions.

I am operating Link2SD with a fat16/32 partition (I don't know which :P)
5th April 2012, 03:45 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
I have same problem does someone solved it ?
16th April 2012, 06:30 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
i had no solutions whatsoever.. currently i'm using the mod's built in app2ext
i made an ext2 partition which i transformed into ext3 with openrecovery.. now i have an app folder which is automatically used to store my apps.
no link2sd for me anymore :\

although i have some other issues for i'm about to open a new thread
18th June 2012, 07:46 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
I found the solution : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1713478
16th July 2012, 11:02 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
linksd mount solved
with the phone plugged in to pc/mass storage i formatted the ext2 partition again. in link2sd mount in ext4.
The Following User Says Thank You to cwkhong For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th July 2012, 11:14 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwkhong

with the phone plugged in to pc/mass storage i formatted the ext2 partition again. in link2sd mount in ext4.

Mount as ext4 is not a problem. It should work.

Sent from my XT720 using xda app-developers app
21st November 2012, 06:37 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Post
how you can solve this problem, is to make the second partition a active partitons with MiniTool Partition.

When de second disk is a active partition it wil boot before the boot of the system.
25th November 2012, 04:29 PM |#10  
NaraRockingMyAce's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Angry reply post ext 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bSptya

Hello!

My problem basically is that i can't use Link2sd - i'm currently running the latest CronosX mod - because it can't create the mount scripts. I keep getting the following error:

mount: mounting /dev/block/vold/179:2 on /data/sdext2 failed: device or resource busy

i have a trascend class 10 8gb SD, i have a 6,5 gb Fat partition and the rest is EXT2 (now). I formatted it with minitool partition magic.

I have googled the problem for days now, seems i found nothing useful..

so far i tried:
ext3, ext4 -- then still couldn't create mount scripts, but i also had the following error msg in OR:
"can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 (invalid argument)"

although in SD utilities when checking the ext partition it recognised as EXT4 or EXT3..
with ext2 it seems working as of i don't see that msg..

still no link2sd. I read in the mod's forum that the app is supported, so it can't be the problem.. or is it?

you must re-partition your sd card, BUT, just do it for your sd-ext only:

with Partition magic
1. delete your sd-ext partition (JUST YOUR SD-EXT PARTITION)
2. create partition
3. set as Primary
4. and CHOOSE ext4!!,
5. ok and then,
6. Apply

I hope this will help you..
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to NaraRockingMyAce For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th August 2013, 12:55 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bSptya

Hello!

My problem basically is that i can't use Link2sd - i'm currently running the latest CronosX mod - because it can't create the mount scripts. I keep getting the following error:

mount: mounting /dev/block/vold/179:2 on /data/sdext2 failed: device or resource busy

i have a trascend class 10 8gb SD, i have a 6,5 gb Fat partition and the rest is EXT2 (now). I formatted it with minitool partition magic.

I have googled the problem for days now, seems i found nothing useful..

so far i tried:
ext3, ext4 -- then still couldn't create mount scripts, but i also had the following error msg in OR:
"can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 (invalid argument)"

although in SD utilities when checking the ext partition it recognised as EXT4 or EXT3..
with ext2 it seems working as of i don't see that msg..

still no link2sd. I read in the mod's forum that the app is supported, so it can't be the problem.. or is it?

I had the seem problem and I solved creating 3 partitions. The first is not utilized but it must be create because as the Link2Sd as the AndroidOS search the data partition in the second (or last for AndroidOS) partition. I have created the first more small as Linux Swap, the second in ext2 fot Link2SD and the third in Fat32 for SD-Ext Data.
So the App works fine.

Sorry for my English.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to thenotec For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes