Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Flash Counter Reset][AT&T, Rogers, Telus, Bell] Reset your flash counter

OP braway

28th March 2012, 05:23 PM   |  #1  
braway's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
MN
Thanks Meter: 708
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
First of all, big thanks to mastibeta for testing and confirming that it works.

Disclaimer
This is a dangerous method and could potentially brick your phone. The CWM update makes it a bit more foolproof, but if something fails, it is not my responsibility!

AT&T i717, Rogers i717R, Telus i717D & Bell i717M ONLY! (according to jpeg42, it also works with the ics leak)

Description
This resets the flash counter (kernel/recovery/... flashed through Odin) back to stock.

How to use
Download the zip file. Its an update-zip for cwm.
Put it on your sdcard, boot into recovery and flash it.

Fun Fact
- Samsung knows how many kernels/recoveries you've flashed through odin.
- The single counters are up to 255, so theoretically you can "reset" by flashing 256 of each (Samsung will still know you flashed something)
- Samsung knows what was the last thing you've flashed
- Flashing System is not counted.

Image (Thanks to sfb14)

Thanks to
Dagr8, Ciku, bigbiff, lpsi2000 - for providing the data to figure this out
Tearrek, loftydan - for rogers data
Jckpsa - for telus data
MrJoran - for bell data
mastibeta - for testing the first version it

Download
Last edited by braway; 12th April 2012 at 02:01 PM. Reason: added bell version
The Following 158 Users Say Thank You to braway For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2012, 05:24 PM   |  #2  
DAGr8's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Montreal
Thanks Meter: 6,333
 
3,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
first +10 char
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DAGr8 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2012, 05:25 PM   |  #3  
itsjusttim's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 175
 
1,809 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
My count is 38 already... Will try this later today.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
28th March 2012, 05:25 PM   |  #4  
DAGr8's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Montreal
Thanks Meter: 6,333
 
3,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Now we need someone with 0 counter to post his rogers block if you have a rogers with 0 counter pm me I will guide you to the process .
The Following User Says Thank You to DAGr8 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2012, 05:27 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Fl
Thanks Meter: 55
 
319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Talking Thanks
Was a scary 10 seconds, but it definitely works. Need to get this man a Gnote.
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to mastibeta For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2012, 05:28 PM   |  #6  
braway's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
MN
Thanks Meter: 708
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastibeta

Was a scary 10 seconds, but it definitely works. Need to get this man a Gnote.

^^

it was like the longest time in my life waiting for the reply
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to braway For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2012, 05:31 PM   |  #7  
DAGr8's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Montreal
Thanks Meter: 6,333
 
3,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastibeta

Was a scary 10 seconds, but it definitely works. Need to get this man a Gnote.

+1

if yuou can take a screenshot for all them non believers .
28th March 2012, 05:34 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Lawndale
Thanks Meter: 14
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
So we can apply this .zip file through CWM as many times as we want to get the counter reset, is this correct?
28th March 2012, 05:35 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Fl
Thanks Meter: 55
 
319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Not sure how i would go about getting a screen capture in download mode, via adb perhaps?
28th March 2012, 05:37 PM   |  #10  
pickupman66's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Podunk, Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 266
 
874 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
BRAVO... downloading this bad boy now.

The Following User Says Thank You to pickupman66 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes