Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,547 Members 45,633 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Dual Channel Ram

Tip us?
 
DarkJatrix
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 2,163
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Dual Channel Ram

Yes, I just found out that not only is our A2 a dual core 1GHz phone with 1GB of ram but that the 1GB of ram is also dual channel....what exactly does this mean? Please don't make fun of me, I'm really bumfuzzled by this....:/

Edit: What does bumfuzzled mean? Lmao

Running AtrixBlaze 3 on my Atrix 2.
 
koriflame
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 129
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Janesville, WI

 
DONATE TO ME
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-c...y_architecture
The Following User Says Thank You to koriflame For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
imdrgonzo
Old
#3  
imdrgonzo's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SCZ-BOL
Basically it's a way of doubling the RAM's bandwith by interleaving memory reads/writes among pairs of RAM chips.

Sent from my MB865 using Tapatalk
 
extide
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 62
Join Date: Dec 2011
It uses two 32-bit wide memory dies for a 64-bi wide memory bus. I think it is DDR at 533 Mhz.

It isn't actually interleaving, that is the practice of sending commands to multiple chips on the same channel, as they take some time to respond. For example you can ask chip 1 for data, then ask chip 2 for data, then read from chip 1 and then read from chip 2. As opposed to ask chip 1, wait..., read from chip 1, ask chip 2, wait..., read from chip 2.

I believe there is only one chip/die per channel on these so these phones do not do interleaving.

For Fun:

Desktop PC's use 64-bit wide memory DIMM's, and are two to four channels wide for 128-256-bit memory busses, generally DDR 1333-2133Mhz.

Video cards, for example, have used up to 512-bit wide memory busses in the past (bost ATI and nVidia have done this).

The video card with the fastest memory bus currently is the ATI 7970, which uses a 384-bit wide GDDR5 memory bus with an effective speed of almost 6Ghz! It can transfer over 250GB/sec stock and with mild overclocks can easily do more than 300GB/sec!
The Following User Says Thank You to extide For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DarkJatrix
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 2,163
Join Date: Jan 2012
So this means our phone can handle about double vs single channel ram?

Love the insight, that helped alot.

Running AtrixBlaze 3 on my Atrix 2.
 
extide
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 62
Join Date: Dec 2011
It just means the memory is faster.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to extide For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pritkudale
Old
#7  
pritkudale's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 127
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Nashik
dual channel RAM... Did it has any significant benefits...?
 
TTLayland
Old
#8  
TTLayland's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 152
Posts: 547
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Orlando
Default Re: Dual Channel Ram

Speed guys its for faster access to the RAM.

Sent from my MB886 using xda app-developers app
"Hasta la victoria siempre!"
Ernesto Guevara, Until victory/always!

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Rooted Stock 4.3
Samsung Galaxy S4 Rooted 4.4.2 Graviton Rom
Moto AHD 4.4.2 Rooted running CM 11
Moto A2 4.0.4 rooted dead due to water

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes