Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Rooting my tablet

OP Temetka

31st March 2012, 12:40 AM   |  #1  
Temetka's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag I live on the Planet Earth, Sol System, Western Spiral Arm, Milky Way Galaxy.
Thanks Meter: 80
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Apparently I am running OTA 2 or 2.5. I am not really sure which one. I did get some kind of system update from lenovo the other day.

I would like to install ADW Launcher EX, but I guess I need root for that as the market says it is incompatible with my device.

Funnily enough Go Launcher EX showed up as free in the Amazon App Store. I have that now ( not installed, but added to my account in case they make it not free). It will install if I want it to on my non-rooted setup.

So I guess my question how do I root this sucker?

Buil Info:

ThinkPad_Tablet_A310_02_0039_0089_02_US

Kernel: 2.6.36.3

Machine Type: 1838-22U.

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my ThinkPad Tablet using xda premium
31st March 2012, 02:19 AM   |  #2  
rangercaptain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Coast of California
Thanks Meter: 1,687
 
4,458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
This information is available in another thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=23754510


Possible new way to ROOT
Last edited by rangercaptain; 31st March 2012 at 02:25 AM.
31st March 2012, 05:30 PM   |  #3  
O_G's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Life Can't Beat Me
Flag Glosta
Thanks Meter: 5,050
 
5,040 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Moved To General


Please do not post questions in the development section
1st April 2012, 10:00 AM   |  #4  
Temetka's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag I live on the Planet Earth, Sol System, Western Spiral Arm, Milky Way Galaxy.
Thanks Meter: 80
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Anyone have an idea why the stock accuweather widget will work with stock home but not adw launcher?

Sent from my ThinkPad Tablet using xda premium
2nd April 2012, 07:23 AM   |  #5  
Temetka's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag I live on the Planet Earth, Sol System, Western Spiral Arm, Milky Way Galaxy.
Thanks Meter: 80
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Ok I am not rooted thanks to that script.

However it would *NOT* run on my Windows 7 64-bit machine. Kept crapping out during the adb shell commands :

Code:
adb shell "/system/bin/mkdir /data/local/pwn"
adb shell "/system/bin/mkdir /data/local/pwn-bak"
adb shell "/system/bin/cat /system/etc/install-recovery.sh > /data/local/pwn-bak/install-recovery.sh.orig"

adb shell "/system/bin/mkdir /cache/recovery/pwn"
adb push su /cache/recovery/pwn  

adb shell "/system/bin/rm /cache/recovery/log"
adb shell "/system/bin/ln -s /system/etc/install-recovery.sh /cache/recovery/log"
adb shell "echo \"/system/bin/chmod 777 /cache\" >> /tmp/recovery.log"
adb shell "echo \"/system/bin/mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p4 /cache\" >> /tmp/recovery.log"
adb shell "echo \"/system/bin/chmod 777 /cache\" >> /tmp/recovery.log"
adb shell "echo \"/system/bin/mount -oremount,rw -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p4 /cache\" >> /tmp/recovery.log"
adb shell "echo \"/system/bin/chmod 777 /cache\" >> /tmp/recovery.log"
adb shell "echo \"/system/bin/chmod 777 /cache/recovery\" >> /tmp/recovery.log"
adb shell "echo \"/system/bin/chown root /cache/recovery/pwn/su\" >> /tmp/recovery.log"
adb shell "echo \"/system/bin/chmod 4777 /cache/recovery/pwn/su\" >> /tmp/recovery.log"
So I busted out and dusted off my old Thinkpad T43 with Win7 Pro 32-Bit, installed the ADB driver and BAM! Root.

So a few Q's.

I had to manually install busybox. No big deal, but weird.

I installed Clockwork Mod Recovery to the internal flash but it detects my tablet as a transformer prime. Is this ok?

Finally, I am still unable to uninstall the damned social touch app. I've managed to remove almost all the other bloat crap but this app defies me. Suggestions anyone?

Thanks to the great community!
2nd April 2012, 07:41 AM   |  #6  
Temetka's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag I live on the Planet Earth, Sol System, Western Spiral Arm, Milky Way Galaxy.
Thanks Meter: 80
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Weirder and weirder.

Clockwork recovery crashes 50% of the time. I am not doing anything special except trying to make a ROM backup.

I would like to flash a clean, rooted, de-bloated image from here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1536693

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
2nd April 2012, 10:24 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Temetka

I installed Clockwork Mod Recovery to the internal flash but it detects my tablet as a transformer prime. Is this ok?

Have you installed the version from here?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=71

Quote:

Finally, I am still unable to uninstall the damned social touch app. I've managed to remove almost all the other bloat crap but this app defies me. Suggestions anyone?

I removed it using Titanium Backup. Had no problems with it.
2nd April 2012, 09:14 PM   |  #8  
Temetka's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag I live on the Planet Earth, Sol System, Western Spiral Arm, Milky Way Galaxy.
Thanks Meter: 80
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
No, I didn't use that one. I used the one from the market. How do I install the .img file? I didnt see an option when I boot into Lenovo's recovery.

Sent from my ThinkPad Tablet using xda premium
2nd April 2012, 10:29 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Temetka

No, I didn't use that one. I used the one from the market. How do I install the .img file? I didnt see an option when I boot into Lenovo's recovery.

Sent from my ThinkPad Tablet using xda premium

Download the right recovery for your TPT 16GB, 32GB or 64GB

You can find the instructions to install it here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1458212

Code:
adb push ventana_recovery.img /data/local/
adb shell
su
mount -o rw,remount /system
echo "#!/system/bin/sh" > /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
dd if=/data/local/cwr_recovery_2.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p1
2nd April 2012, 10:49 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
OK, Temetka,
First- the CWM 'app' you got from the market does nothing (that anyone here is doing). Uninstall and move on.
Second- CWM replaces your stock Lenovo Recovery 'BIOS', so when you boot to recovery mode, you'll see a top hat icon and lots of new options. You won't use Lenovo's anymore.
Third- Get your TPT's appropriate CWM image here(to be installed using ADB commands from your computer) downloaded to your PC
Fourth- follow these instructions (copied from here) to use ADB to install CWM Recovery into the recovery partition, replacing Lenovo's.

open command line and go to folder where the file is saved
Code:
> adb push NameOfCWMFile.img /data/local/
> adb shell
> su
> mount -o rw,remount /system
> echo "#!/system/bin/sh" > /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
> dd if=/data/local/NameOfCWMFile.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p1
Shut down your tablet. Boot into Recovery (vol+, vol+, etc.). Using CWM options, choose reboot (this should clear a possible reboot issue while inside CWM).

Done - now you can...
'Backup' - create a Nandroid on your external SD-Card-- DO THIS FIRST!
'Restore' - install any other TPT nandroids (no-bloat_0089_US for example)
'Install image from SD-Card' - install CM9 (Ice Cream Sandwich)
...and much more
Last edited by pwstein; 2nd April 2012 at 10:50 PM. Reason: added CWM link

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes