Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,905 Members 40,002 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] : Possibility of applying a SIM module to SGP 5.0

Tip us?
 
galache22
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default [Q] : Possibility of applying a SIM module to SGP 5.0

Ive been researching info about posible putting a SIM socket into SGP 5.0 (Y-GP70).
I found this item on a webpage:

http://www.unlockmovil.com/flex-lect...1-p-14346.html

So my question is:

It would be possible to add a SIM module into our SGP's, by for example adding a SIM connector to the mainboard?

I know is a fool idea, but who knows...

:P
 
rafa6571
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 355
Join Date: Nov 2010
It would be really interesting!!!
 
Entropy512
Old
#3  
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 24093
Posts: 13,133
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Owego, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
No - there is no radio chipset or hardware. Even if you wired a SIM slot in, it would do nothing.
*so much sig updating needed*

My Github profile - Some Android stuff, some AVR stuff

An excellent post on "noobs vs. developers"

A few opinions on kernel development "good practices"

Note: I have chosen not to use XDA's "friends" feature - I will reject all incoming "friend" requests.

Code:
<MikeyMike01> Smali is a spawn of hell
<shoman94> ^^^ +!
Code:
<Entropy512> gotta be careful not to step on each other's work.  :)
<Bumble-Bee> thats true
<jerdog> compeete for donations
The Following User Says Thank You to Entropy512 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CreekDirt
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 375
Join Date: Mar 2011
They make an adapter for the iPod that gives it 3g capabilities which enables voip. That would be nice.
 
crowelfly
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Amsterdam
Quote:
Originally Posted by CreekDirt View Post
They make an adapter for the iPod that gives it 3g capabilities which enables voip. That would be nice.
You mean Applepeel (520)? You can also call with it
 
Skeledr0id
Old
#6  
Skeledr0id's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 88
Join Date: Feb 2011
just use google voice and install sipdroid for voip
 
1776
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 31
Join Date: Dec 2011
A Google Voice account and GrooveIP also works.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes