Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,686 Members 37,069 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Straight Talk APN Settings

Tip us?
 
COfatboy
Old
#1  
COfatboy's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 133
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Straight Talk APN Settings

Is anybody using this phone with Straight Talk? I'm curious if you can get LTE with ST or if it would be limited to HSPA+ ??? I'm assuming you need a special APN for the LTE. Any info would be appreciated, thanks!
 
icenight89
Old
#2  
icenight89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 718
Posts: 2,602
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
im posting from my phone, so i don't knoe what carrier u are using. In any case, the default rom apn settings shoulf work for LTE for both rogers and at&t, but just to confirm use this post

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1566820
 
wirelessFREAK
Old
#3  
wirelessFREAK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 163
Join Date: Nov 2011
Question Lte settings please

I've got a rooted skyrocket and have been given the runaround too many times by AT&T reps. The most recent time was last morning, when I asked for an old iPhone to be unlocked (as per their own statement)
I've decided to get the SAME coverage at half the price ($45).

All I'd like (not really need though), is the APN settings for the LTE network, if they have that, cause I live in an AT&T LTE city

Thanks in advance
 
jamesd86
Old
#4  
jamesd86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 112
Posts: 1,100
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Delaware
No lte on straight talk.only 3g.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
Past: HTC Dream, HTC Mytouch 3g, Samsung Vibrant, HTC Mytouch 4G, Samsung Infuse, Samsung Galaxy S II Skyrocket, Samsung Galaxy S II i777, Samsung Galaxy S II GT-i9100

Present: Samsung Galaxy Note II GT-N7100 PARANOID!
 
wirelessFREAK
Old
#5  
wirelessFREAK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 163
Join Date: Nov 2011
Any idea what speeds I should expect (I'm in dc if that matters)

sent from my 727
 
Mafioso_atl
Old
#6  
Mafioso_atl's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by wirelessFREAK View Post
Any idea what speeds I should expect (I'm in dc if that matters)

sent from my 727
I get 4g connection with2-5 mbps download in atlanta, no lte though.

Sent from my cm_tenderloin using xda premium
 
therealjwkware
Old
#7  
therealjwkware's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 53
Join Date: Apr 2012
Thumbs up RE:

I can get 4G, but not LTE. The settings are :

Name
straight talk

APN
att(dot)mvno

Proxy
proxy(dot)mvno(dot)tracfone(dot)com

Port
80

MMSC
mmsc(dot)cingular(dot)com

MMS Proxy
66.209.11.33

MMS Port
80

Just skip anything not listed.
 
wirelessFREAK
Old
#8  
wirelessFREAK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 163
Join Date: Nov 2011
LTE seems to cause less of a load on their network. I assume so because ATT has a higher limit on LTE, and cause verizon has been giving, grandfathered in, unlimited users, a free LTE phone. Well, those with very high data usage.

This makes me assume that they would want the same for the usage of MVNOs. That would cause them to have a ST LTE option.

These may have been a series of compounded assumptions (which is never a good idea), but i wish someone would look into it

sent from my 727
 
PaceyPimps
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 55
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bay Shore
I have heard that doing the right mix between Straight Talk and AT&T LTE settings it has worked in areas of course where there is LTE but i am not sure if it was using a AT&T sim and registering it to Straight Talk or if it was just use a reg Straight Talk sim. Any ways i have seen people doing it but no one sharing info so i will try and test things as you should and if anyone gets it working pls share as that the purpose of this comunity

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes