5,599,911 Members 46,037 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Should the Blaze have a home here on XDA
YES 0 0%
NO 0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

SGH T-769 Galaxy S Blaze 4G Bible (Updated 5/22/13)

Tip us?
 
nickmcminn60
Old
#81  
nickmcminn60's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1211
Posts: 3,279
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Asheville

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rugged96 View Post
Ok, now that i have root how do i uninstall all this bloat? I use astro and it says I'm only uninstalling the update. How do I remove the whole thing?

edit----nevermind---using Titanium BU
nust saw the edit. Lol....if your not sure what it is DONT UNINSTALL IT!. First thing is to go to recovery and make a Nandroid backup, (in case you screw up)

Hold vol+ & vol- along with the power button. Hold them all until it blacks out and vibrates twice. Then when you see "Samsung" release the power button and continue to hold vol+ & down until you see Clockwork recovery (Assuming you have it installed). Wipe cache partition and wipe dalvik (under "advanced"). Then make a backup. This way you will have a clean backup if you ever need to restore.
(you may need to reset your lockscreen wallpaper ;) )

Root explorer is also a good root filemanager. Astro doesnt let you set permissions its a good one if you do have root.

Hope this helps
360° Prada in the works....no eta's please, when it is flawless it will be released. Seems i need to make myself a better name, since after all the work ive put in over the past 2 years doesnt make me a recognized dev ;-(
360° Productions™/Team Inferno™
-360 Dev Site: http://team360productions.weebly.com/
-Team Inferno: http://infernorom.weebly.com/
-Join MY FaceBook Group: Blaze-4g/Vibrant/Sensation: http://www.facebook.com/groups/153246741435046/
-Team Android: http://www.facebook.com/groups/360.ProductionZ/
-My Twitter: http://twitter.com/nickmcminn60
--------------------
 
ad.hoc
Old
#82  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 88
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Default ......

Hey guys, I froze both software update applications with ROM manager pro(because they were constantly running, eating ram & refused to close) & when I attempt to defrost them, neither of them refuse to work. Anyone know how to make them work? Do I absolutely need them to receive future updates from Samsung or are there other ways of receiving updates from them?
 
nickmcminn60
Old
#83  
nickmcminn60's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1211
Posts: 3,279
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Asheville

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ad.hoc View Post
Hey guys, I froze both software update applications with ROM manager pro(because they were constantly running, eating ram & refused to close) & when I attempt to defrost them, neither of them refuse to work. Anyone know how to make them work? Do I absolutely need them to receive future updates from Samsung or are there other ways of receiving updates from them?
Try un-freezing one then rebooting. If not you should still be able to update Via Kies sooner than waiting on an OTA. (Or restore your Nandroid backup)
360° Productions™/Team Inferno™
-360 Dev Site: http://team360productions.weebly.com/
-Team Inferno: http://infernorom.weebly.com/
-Join MY FaceBook Group: Blaze-4g/Vibrant/Sensation: http://www.facebook.com/groups/153246741435046/
-Team Android: http://www.facebook.com/groups/360.ProductionZ/
-My Twitter: http://twitter.com/nickmcminn60
--------------------
 
ad.hoc
Old
#84  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 88
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmcminn60 View Post
Try un-freezing one then rebooting. If not you should still be able to update Via Kies sooner than waiting on an OTA. (Or restore your Nandroid backup)
So, I basically don't need those applications to receive future updates from Samsung? Also, how do I update via Kies?
 
ubizmo
Old
#85  
ubizmo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 87
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Hello. New to this forum. I have a quick question: Is there any special magic to getting the Blaze into Download mode. I've done a search and found several methods for various other devices. None of them, including the one described at the start of this thread, have worked for me. I get either a gray battery icon or some sort of warning message in yellow letters that doesn't last long enough for me to read more than the words "..NOC block".

That is, I've tried holding the various buttons before and after connecting the USB cable to the Blaze; holding just the UP, just the DOWN, etc. I'm wondering if the Blaze requires some special sleight of hand.

My purpose in rooting, for what it's worth, is to be able to run SetCPU to improve battery performance.
 
allprogrammed
Old
#86  
allprogrammed's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 69
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
How I do it...

Phone plugged into usb, battery out.
Hold both volume buttons and power button.
Put in the battery.
When the dl screen pops up quickly let up on all buttons and then quickly press the vol up button.
Wait a sec and then you're there.

Hope this helps.
The Following User Says Thank You to allprogrammed For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nickmcminn60
Old
#87  
nickmcminn60's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1211
Posts: 3,279
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Asheville

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ad.hoc View Post
So, I basically don't need those applications to receive future updates from Samsung? Also, how do I update via Kies?
You will need to download the kies software from samsung.
360° Productions™/Team Inferno™
-360 Dev Site: http://team360productions.weebly.com/
-Team Inferno: http://infernorom.weebly.com/
-Join MY FaceBook Group: Blaze-4g/Vibrant/Sensation: http://www.facebook.com/groups/153246741435046/
-Team Android: http://www.facebook.com/groups/360.ProductionZ/
-My Twitter: http://twitter.com/nickmcminn60
--------------------
 
nickmcminn60
Old
#88  
nickmcminn60's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1211
Posts: 3,279
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Asheville

 
DONATE TO ME
Beats Audio Added to OP! Wipe Dalvik and Flash Via CWM.
360° Productions™/Team Inferno™
-360 Dev Site: http://team360productions.weebly.com/
-Team Inferno: http://infernorom.weebly.com/
-Join MY FaceBook Group: Blaze-4g/Vibrant/Sensation: http://www.facebook.com/groups/153246741435046/
-Team Android: http://www.facebook.com/groups/360.ProductionZ/
-My Twitter: http://twitter.com/nickmcminn60
--------------------
 
charlieb620
Old
#89  
charlieb620's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1905
Posts: 13,191
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
What is the Blaze memory block is it: mmcblk1p2.

Thanks.

Sent from my SGH-T769 using XDA Premium App
DEV M8
 
BeezWorld
Old
#90  
BeezWorld's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
How do you install the beats audio zip?

Tags
360 productions, nickmcminn60, team inferno™, tory heal
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes