MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

Update?

1st April 2012, 08:37 PM   |  #1  
Nickitt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 233
 
493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
I have a wifi only Xoom and it is Rooted. My question to you is, since it is rooted I obviously cannot be updated via OTA, it keeps showing up that I need to update. I cannot turn off automatic update when I go to about then update. Its really no big deal tbh, but it is really flipping annoying and just keeps coming back...

I would really appreciate some feed back and hope someone knows how to fix my problem. Thanks XDA!!!

Sent from my Xoom using xda premium
1st April 2012, 10:04 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Assuming you have CWM installed, you could follow the instructions here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1575393

Install the update via CWM and get to 4.0.4 that way...... Ok, its not inhibiting the update notification per-se, but gets you on the latest stock build and keeps your rooted status.....
2nd April 2012, 12:36 AM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Tampa, Fl.
Thanks Meter: 11
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I would also suggest you check out voodoo root saver on the market. Its supposed to let your root survive an ota update.
2nd April 2012, 12:49 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickitt

I have a wifi only Xoom and it is Rooted. My question to you is, since it is rooted I obviously cannot be updated via OTA, it keeps showing up that I need to update. I cannot turn off automatic update when I go to about then update. Its really no big deal tbh, but it is really flipping annoying and just keeps coming back...

I would really appreciate some feed back and hope someone knows how to fix my problem. Thanks XDA!!!

Sent from my Xoom using xda premium

Make sure you read the "General" and "Android Dev" sections also - don't just ask a question in "Q&A". As stated in post #2, there is an existing (though only about 1 day old) solution - and it worked quite well for me.

Good luck.
2nd April 2012, 10:43 PM   |  #5  
Nickitt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 233
 
493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by willysp

Make sure you read the "General" and "Android Dev" sections also - don't just ask a question in "Q&A". As stated in post #2, there is an existing (though only about 1 day old) solution - and it worked quite well for me.

Good luck.

Well mister, how about you go ahead and post that sweet little HTML so I may click on it and square this away eh?

Or, it would be amazing if someone can just simply tell me which process to freeze. Cannot find a damn process with the word "update" in it to freeze.
IDGAF about a damn update, like I said, I am CONTENT with everything I have on my XOOM right now. Simply need to find the "process name" to freeze..

Sorry to be short, but I am pissed off, aggravated and personally am about to throw this in the Hudson river.
2nd April 2012, 11:53 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickitt

Well mister, how about you go ahead and post that sweet little HTML so I may click on it and square this away eh?

Or, it would be amazing if someone can just simply tell me which process to freeze. Cannot find a damn process with the word "update" in it to freeze.
IDGAF about a damn update, like I said, I am CONTENT with everything I have on my XOOM right now. Simply need to find the "process name" to freeze..

Sorry to be short, but I am pissed off, aggravated and personally am about to throw this in the Hudson river.

I thought from your first post that you wanted to be able to update and stay rooted. I referenced the "sweet HTML" already in post #2 as a way to update and stay rooted.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes