FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 26 – May 2)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Great Camera Hardware, or Software?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on phone cameras. Come with your opinions and feel … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 25 – May 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Lollipop Xposed Framework Alpha 4 Released

Good news to all Xposed Framework fans. XDA Senior Recognized … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Mod Atrix 4G HD Station to work with Atrix 2?

3rd April 2012, 02:43 PM |#1  
jlvanvleet's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Oceanside
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
So I have read the posts where people have modified the Atrix 4G lapdock to be used with the Atrix 2. What I am wondering is if anyone has tried the same thing with the Atrix 4G HD Station? I have seen that these are going for about half of what the one for the Atrix 2 is being sold for.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA
 
 
4th April 2012, 03:54 AM |#2  
Member
Flag Bar Harbor, ME
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
my guess, and mind you this is just a guess. is that it would be a mess. My understanding is that the ports are reversed between the two phones, so the plugs need to be switched. this sounds easy, but my bet is that in the dock these ports are molded in hard plastic. i could be way off base, but i think you would need to buy micro hdmi and micro usb cables to splice into the dock
26th April 2012, 03:52 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlvanvleet

So I have read the posts where people have modified the Atrix 4G lapdock to be used with the Atrix 2. What I am wondering is if anyone has tried the same thing with the Atrix 4G HD Station? I have seen that these are going for about half of what the one for the Atrix 2 is being sold for.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA

it's possible . some guys who are in asia posted that mod months before. What he said is to carefully open the case and very carefully remove the extra parts and then reverse the plug. It's not difficult but you have to be really careful.
3rd May 2012, 12:35 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Even after switching the connectors
Yeah, I have the Atrix 4G lapdock, and the Atrix 2. I switched the ports, and it still won't connect. I get the "Incompatible Device" error message on the phone. I get the webtop display for a second, and it disappears to the screen saver. Any suggestions?
3rd May 2012, 11:34 AM |#5  
partie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zanoest

Yeah, I have the Atrix 4G lapdock, and the Atrix 2. I switched the ports, and it still won't connect. I get the "Incompatible Device" error message on the phone. I get the webtop display for a second, and it disappears to the screen saver. Any suggestions?

The 4G lapdock works great with the Atrix 2. I use it everyday. It does come up with "Incompatible Device" but works just fine. It also works with the Droid Razr I can confirm. Read this:http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1299498&page=4
Post 33 & 34
The Following User Says Thank You to partie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2012, 03:01 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Question 4G Lapdock
Quote:
Originally Posted by partie

The 4G lapdock works great with the Atrix 2. I use it everyday. It does come up with "Incompatible Device" but works just fine. It also works with the Droid Razr I can confirm. Read this:http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1299498&page=4
Post 33 & 34

4G lapdock wont work with my Atrix 2 as well. I flipped the ports but I get the webtop display for a second, and then it disappears to the screen saver.

What ROM are you using? Any other mods on your phone?
4th June 2012, 02:38 PM |#7  
redthunda69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 197
 
More
I'm having this same problem. Would love some help.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
27th June 2012, 11:47 PM |#8  
troycarpenter's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 102
 
More
I had the same lapdock issue after reversing the ports. I only got it to work when I physically took the connectors out of the dock and inserted the into A2. It turns out the usb wasn't fully inserted, discovered by the mouse pad not responding and no charging I indicator on the battery icon.

I tried modifying an HD dock, but I broke it. I don't see how being careful helps.

Modifying the car dock is right out. The connector can't be reversed and the A2 is slightly bigger and won't fit. I did verify that the A2 goes into dock mode if you remove the connector and plug it in directly.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes