Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD|1.26|1.28|1.29] Disable the annoying ICS 3-dot Menu | Aroma **May-05**

OP blubbers

5th April 2012, 12:45 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
This modification will give you the full resolution for all non-ICS apps. I guess many of you have been waiting for this.

The Window-Switcher Key (right one) will be remapped to the Menu button. This key will be usable system-wide!

**update** The recent app's key is remapped to long-pressing home
**update #2** I've made a cleaner removal of the 3-dot menu;
-> the screen-overlay is now fully usable
-> the keyboard has the arrow-keys
-> no more changes to SystemUI.apk, the zip includes the stock version now
**update #3** by popular request of the i-want-to-long press-home-as-menu fanboys, i've made a zip, fullscreen-v2-lp_home_menu.zip
it contains stock qwerty.kl & stock SystemUI.apk
**update #4** support for 1.28.401.9
**update #5** Added Aroma installer
**update #6** support for 1.29.401.7

**update #7** fixed the arrow keys I've broken in update #5, all versions

Root is required, duh


Use on deodexed ROM's based on 1.26.x/1.28.x/1.29.x only(tested on 1.26.401.2 & 1.28.401.9 & 1.29.401.7)



Use the attached aroma installer (all versions included, 1.26/1.28/1.29/stock) with CWM recovery


There are some re-odexed zip's here (I do not/will not provide odexed versions): http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=373 & http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=279
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pre.jpg
Views:	24043
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	983142   Click image for larger version

Name:	post.jpg
Views:	21149
Size:	46.4 KB
ID:	983143  
Attached Files
File Type: zip aroma_3dot-remover-v1.2.1.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.16 MB, 9747 views)
Last edited by blubbers; 5th May 2012 at 04:14 PM. Reason: .
The Following 131 Users Say Thank You to blubbers For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2012, 01:01 AM   |  #2  
jonas2295's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bavaria
Thanks Meter: 2,504
 
4,934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Oh wow that was fast man...
Okay another reason for rooting etc my one x soon lol

Keep it up

Sent from my HTC HD2 using xda premium
5th April 2012, 01:04 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 631
 
3,558 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Thanks; not useful to me personally until it's a secondary function of the task switcher button, but I'm sure plenty of others will be thrilled. :)
5th April 2012, 01:04 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Istanbul
Thanks Meter: 429
 
778 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Works perfect on my device. And it disables the up down right left buttons in keyboard in old apps.

Sent from my HTC One X using XDA
5th April 2012, 01:06 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
yeah, didn't notice that it disables the arrow-keys in old apps. will look into it tomorrow
The Following User Says Thank You to blubbers For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2012, 01:10 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoxploration

Thanks; not useful to me personally until it's a secondary function of the task switcher button, but I'm sure plenty of others will be thrilled. :)

personaly i prefer having the full screen over the task switcher, but i'm going to try to make the home-button multi-functional
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to blubbers For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2012, 02:12 AM   |  #7  
jonas2295's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bavaria
Thanks Meter: 2,504
 
4,934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blubbers

personaly i prefer having the full screen over the task switcher, but i'm going to try to make the home-button multi-functional

What about a double tap opening task switcher and long press full screen ?

Sent from my HTC HD2 using xda premium
5th April 2012, 02:20 AM   |  #8  
eugene76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 165
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Worked perfectly on my rooted stock ROM. Lost the function to switch apps though.

However, I still have a small black bar where the menu bar used to be in some apps. Is it normal? My ROM version is 1.26.707.2. Could that be the cause?

Sent from my HTC One X
Last edited by eugene76; 5th April 2012 at 02:24 AM.
5th April 2012, 02:26 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by eugene76

Worked perfectly on my rooted stock ROM. Lost the function to switch apps though.

However, I still have a small black bar where the menu bar used to be in some apps. Is it normal? My ROM version is 1.26.707.2. Could that be the cause?

Sent from my HTC One X

could you post a screenshot? (pwr+home)
5th April 2012, 02:27 AM   |  #10  
eugene76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 165
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blubbers

could you post a screenshot? (pwr+home)

Here

Sent from my HTC One X
Last edited by eugene76; 5th April 2012 at 09:24 AM. Reason: Removed screenshot as it causes some confusion (and it's bloody big!!!) :). Issue is solved. Please refer subsequent posts.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes