Post Reply

Power button not working suddenly

6th April 2012, 01:14 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Last night while using my phone it suddenly rebooted itself, and when it came back on the power button no longer worked. I could use the volume buttons to wake the phone, but even that stopped working after a while. I went to sleep and let it charge overnight, and when I woke up, all was working normally. Its been normal all day until a few min ago, the phone rebooted and now once again the power button wont work. Anyone had this problem? Any suggestions, besides take it to Sprint, which I will do if it continues?
7th April 2012, 05:18 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Well I took it to a Sprint store and the tech said the button is physically fine, and worked when doing a hard reset but once the phone came back on it went back to not working again. So he thinks it's a software issue and ordered me a replacement. And my E4GT is completely stock, never rooted. Just decided to let u guys know just in case anyone else happens to have the same problem.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Shift2win For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2012, 01:54 PM   |  #3  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crooklyn
Thanks Meter: 626
 
2,357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
just wondering how long you have had your phone before this bug, any other issues before this.
Pp.

sent from my microwave ala XDA premium.
8th April 2012, 03:52 PM   |  #4  
rbtrucking's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 259
 
1,066 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shift2win

Well I took it to a Sprint store and the tech said the button is physically fine, and worked when doing a hard reset but once the phone came back on it went back to not working again. So he thinks it's a software issue and ordered me a replacement. And my E4GT is completely stock, never rooted. Just decided to let u guys know just in case anyone else happens to have the same problem.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium

If it is a software problem which it sounds like to me I would root that thing and throw a rom on there and see if that works. Preferably Phantom Hackers Blazer rom 4.1 Pure win!
8th April 2012, 05:18 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by PanchoPlanet

just wondering how long you have had your phone before this bug, any other issues before this.
Pp.

sent from my microwave ala XDA premium.

I bought the phone brand new in October, and no i havent had ANY issues before this. This just came out of the blue

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
8th April 2012, 05:39 PM   |  #6  
Member
Astoria,NY
Thanks Meter: 5
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
I have almost the same issue, mine will reboot and the battery will drop from 90% to 50 or 40% once i had 59% rebooted and drop to only 6% i changed different batts, changed roms back to stock and the same, i will take to sprint
9th April 2012, 03:06 AM   |  #7  
kingcaliyone's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 26
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shift2win

Last night while using my phone it suddenly rebooted itself, and when it came back on the power button no longer worked. I could use the volume buttons to wake the phone, but even that stopped working after a while. I went to sleep and let it charge overnight, and when I woke up, all was working normally. Its been normal all day until a few min ago, the phone rebooted and now once again the power button wont work. Anyone had this problem? Any suggestions, besides take it to Sprint, which I will do if it continues?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rbtrucking

If it is a software problem which it sounds like to me I would root that thing and throw a rom on there and see if that works. Preferably Phantom Hackers Blazer rom 4.1 Pure win!

my phone did the same thing i rooted it an put caulk rom an it worked again...been working ever since

---------- Post added at 06:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:04 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by latoso

I have almost the same issue, mine will reboot and the battery will drop from 90% to 50 or 40% once i had 59% rebooted and drop to only 6% i changed different batts, changed roms back to stock and the same, i will take to sprint

if u are rooted u might wanna wipe the battery stats first an see if that helps.go into recovery an look for wipe its the last one ..mite save u a trip to sprint
The Following User Says Thank You to kingcaliyone For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2012, 09:02 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbtrucking

If it is a software problem which it sounds like to me I would root that thing and throw a rom on there and see if that works. Preferably Phantom Hackers Blazer rom 4.1 Pure win!

I have this problem right now it came out of no where and was working fine till now. When I flashed a new rom my power button still wont work.
The Following User Says Thank You to That Future For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2012, 11:03 AM   |  #9  
IA-32e's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portland, OR
Thanks Meter: 36
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
My power button isn't working either. My phone randomly reboots and isn't usable. My buddy gave me his old Samsung Moment to use It's like I'm back in the stone age with this thing. No insurance on my E4GT either FML.
28th May 2012, 02:44 PM   |  #10  
tdunham's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
TampaBay
Thanks Meter: 18,343
 
8,267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IA-32e

My power button isn't working either. My phone randomly reboots and isn't usable. My buddy gave me his old Samsung Moment to use It's like I'm back in the stone age with this thing. No insurance on my E4GT either FML.

It's still under a year old isn't it? Take it in and spend the $35.00 for Sprint to troubleshoot and replace it under warranty.

The Following User Says Thank You to tdunham For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes