Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,775 Members 41,050 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] Linux-on-Android project (Complete Linux Installer)

Tip us?
 
dverrette
Old
#491  
dverrette's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 164
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Can get Backtrack to work on SGS2

Hello All,

I have a SGS2 running Strongsteve's Odexed Blue ROM(EL29) and I have successfully installed Ubuntu 10.04 which is working fine but I tried Backtrack 5 from the links in the OP and get this message in Emulator Terminal:

$ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
$ su
# cd sdcard/VM/Backtrack
# sh backtrack.sh
mkdir failed for /data/local/mnt, File exists
Loop device exists
losetup: /dev/block/loop255: No such file or directory
mount: Invalid argument
net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1
backtrack.sh: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistent
backtrack.sh: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistent
backtrack.sh: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/hosts: directory nonexistent
Back Track is configured with SSH and VNC servers that can be accessed from the IP:
eth0: ip 192.168.1.15 mask 255.255.255.0 flags [up broadcast running multicast]

chroot: can't execute '/root/init.sh': No such file or directory
Shutting down BackTrack ARM
failed.
losetup: /dev/loop7: No such file or directory
#


Anyone have any suggestions what I'm doing wrong? I had some of the same issues with Ubuntu at first but I tried a different script and that solve that problem but I can't find different scripts for Backtrack. I'm at a loss.
Phone:Samsung Galaxy S3 4G LTE (Root)
ROM:Jelly Bean 4.1.2 Wicked Sensations v5.0
Kernel:3.031
Modem:VRBLK3
Recovery:CWM v6.0.4.5
CPU:Overlocked @ 1.512GHz

-
Phone:Samsung Epic Touch 4G (Root)
ROM:Ice Cream Sandwhich 4.0.4 The Blu Kuban 1.0.5.2
Kernel:Kuban Kernel 0.2.1
Modem:FI27
Recovery:CWM v5.0.2.7
CPU:Overlocked @ 1.6GHz

-
Phone:Samsung Vibrant (Root)
ROM:Frozen Yogurt 2.2 Nero v5
Kernel:KA5
Lagfix:Voodoo 5.0.4
Recovery:CWM v2.5.1.3 & 2E Recovery
CPU:Clocked @ 1GHz
 
sickysticky
Old
#492  
sickysticky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 133
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Keokuk
K I've got 12.04 running on my GT-P3113 all works good...
I've also taken the library to download smail, and apktool.
Framework installs, it even decompiles properly

The problem I have is at build time errors are thrown for no aapt, well after searching I found one, but for debian.....

Is there any way around this, without installing ubuntu on a pc

p-3113 puff, puff, puff, just send'n smoke signal's
 
mscion
Old
#493  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 278
Posts: 694
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Potomac
Quote:
Originally Posted by mscion View Post
Hi. I was able to make a 4GB image and the image seems to work as I can start up the application from the icon. From the terminal I successfully processed a latex file. The problem I'm having is that I cannot access it using vnc so that I can take advantage of the LXDE.

If I try to use vnc (I tried Jump) I get the statement

Connection refused. Make sure desktop is enabled on the computer and the computer's firewall is configured to allow incoming remote desktop connections.


When I initially start up ubuntu I did notice the following error.

vncserver: Wrong type or access mode of /home/ubuntu/.vnc

Any insights on what to try?

Thanks
Found a solution:
It seems that the problem occurs when copying the image file. For some reason the ownership of certain files are changed to root (including the .vnc directory). To convert image to 4GB I need to copy ubuntu.img from my micro sd card to my computer (running mint linux) desktop, then cp into the mounted ubuntunew (see https://linuxonandroid.uservoice.com...more-space-and ) and finally copy new image file back to the micro sd card. So at every point that the image was copied I included the -p option that preserves ownership. I'm not sure if I have to do that at every step but it seems to do the job. So now I can fill my ubuntu image with all sorts of goodies!
The Following User Says Thank You to mscion For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tiborr
Old
#494  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 26
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SgtWhack View Post
I had that problem, realized only thing I had changed was USB debugging i tried turning that back on and then the Loop device appeared and Ubuntu fired up...hope that helps you - no idea why it would make a difference, but it does tell you in the Installer App if you use that...sigh...I never noticed until now...

I am running CM9 Eyballer nightlies on HP Touchpad.
Thanks, nahhh it didnt work.
Just getting the errors 96, 116 or 89.
"Unable to create boot device."

Anyone else?
 
ruben_b
Old
(Last edited by ruben_b; 6th June 2012 at 11:02 PM.)
#495  
ruben_b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 54
Join Date: Nov 2010
Runing fine on my GNex.

Thanks!!!


Edit:
After playing a bit with Ubuntu and the free version, I bought the paid version. I then tried to launch using the paid version.
But now I only get this and can't connect the VNC server:

Quote:
app_112@android:/ $ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
app_112@android:/ $ su
app_112@android:/ # cd /sdcard/ubuntu/
app_112@android:/sdcard/ubuntu # ls
ubuntu.img
ubuntu.sh
app_112@android:/sdcard/ubuntu # sh ./ubuntu.sh
Checking loop device... FOUND
./ubuntu.sh[88]: /data/data/com.zpwebsites.ubuntuinstall/files/busybox: not found
Error: Unable to attach image to loop device! (Image = ./ubuntu.img)
1|app_112@android:/sdcard/ubuntu #
Galaxy Nexus - MoDaCo with UV Kernel
HTC Desire - ICS
 
smallba
Old
#496  
smallba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 423
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Monroe, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Backtrack 5 is running smooth on my Evo LTE

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium HD app
Quote:
Phone: HTC M8•0005 Rom: SuperSix RLS1
Tablet: ASUS FLO (Nexus 7) Rom: Paranoid Android

Phone:HTC JEWEL•0003 Rom:CyanogenMod 10.2
Tablet:ASUS Grouper (Nexus 7) Rom:Paranoid Android
Phone: HTC SUPERSONIC•0004 Rom:Paranoid Android
Tablet: Elocity A7 Tablet Rom: Dexter_nib CyanogenMod 7 RC1
Phone: HTC Diamond TouchRom: EnergyROM
 
dverrette
Old
#497  
dverrette's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 164
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallba View Post
Backtrack 5 is running smooth on my Evo LTE

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium HD app
Did you use the links in the OP?

Sent from Galaxy S II using Premium XDA
Phone:Samsung Galaxy S3 4G LTE (Root)
ROM:Jelly Bean 4.1.2 Wicked Sensations v5.0
Kernel:3.031
Modem:VRBLK3
Recovery:CWM v6.0.4.5
CPU:Overlocked @ 1.512GHz

-
Phone:Samsung Epic Touch 4G (Root)
ROM:Ice Cream Sandwhich 4.0.4 The Blu Kuban 1.0.5.2
Kernel:Kuban Kernel 0.2.1
Modem:FI27
Recovery:CWM v5.0.2.7
CPU:Overlocked @ 1.6GHz

-
Phone:Samsung Vibrant (Root)
ROM:Frozen Yogurt 2.2 Nero v5
Kernel:KA5
Lagfix:Voodoo 5.0.4
Recovery:CWM v2.5.1.3 & 2E Recovery
CPU:Clocked @ 1GHz
 
drive2droad
Old
#498  
drive2droad's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 568
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delhi
Can you guys add support for Elementary OS Luna ? it seems to be a much polished port of ubuntu optimized for touch & beauty !!
Device I - Nexus 5
ROM : Android L Dev Preview
Kernel : Modified Stock
Recovery : Philz Touch
----------------------------------------------------
Device II - Nexus 4
ROM : CyanogenMod 11 Nightly
Kernel : Stock CM
Recovery : Philz Touch
----------------------------------------------------
Device III - MOTO G (DS)
ROM : Stock
 
smallba
Old
(Last edited by smallba; 7th June 2012 at 10:36 PM.)
#499  
smallba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 423
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Monroe, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dverrette View Post
Did you use the links in the OP?

Sent from Galaxy S II using Premium XDA
I had bought it from the market after testing the free app and used it on my OG EVO, so i figured i would try it on my new eVO 4g LTE. V5 in the OP is the sane as the free app i believe

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium HD app
Quote:
Phone: HTC M8•0005 Rom: SuperSix RLS1
Tablet: ASUS FLO (Nexus 7) Rom: Paranoid Android

Phone:HTC JEWEL•0003 Rom:CyanogenMod 10.2
Tablet:ASUS Grouper (Nexus 7) Rom:Paranoid Android
Phone: HTC SUPERSONIC•0004 Rom:Paranoid Android
Tablet: Elocity A7 Tablet Rom: Dexter_nib CyanogenMod 7 RC1
Phone: HTC Diamond TouchRom: EnergyROM
 
tuxling
Old
#500  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 23
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruben_b View Post
Runing fine on my GNex.

Thanks!!!


Edit:
After playing a bit with Ubuntu and the free version, I bought the paid version. I then tried to launch using the paid version.
But now I only get this and can't connect the VNC server:
This is because you try starting Ubuntu with the script from the free app.
The script expect to find busybox where the free app installed it, but if you uninstalled the free app busybox was uninstalled too, so the script can't find it.
(The busybox the app installed, we don't touch other busybox versions you may have installed)

This is fixed in the upcoming update, but until then you can either download the script through the paid app, or you can get the latest version here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...5&d=1338383106

The Following User Says Thank You to tuxling For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes