Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] Linux-on-Android project (Complete Linux Installer)

OP zacthespack

5th June 2012, 10:35 PM   |  #491  
dverrette's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 17
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Can get Backtrack to work on SGS2
Hello All,

I have a SGS2 running Strongsteve's Odexed Blue ROM(EL29) and I have successfully installed Ubuntu 10.04 which is working fine but I tried Backtrack 5 from the links in the OP and get this message in Emulator Terminal:

$ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
$ su
# cd sdcard/VM/Backtrack
# sh backtrack.sh
mkdir failed for /data/local/mnt, File exists
Loop device exists
losetup: /dev/block/loop255: No such file or directory
mount: Invalid argument
net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1
backtrack.sh: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistent
backtrack.sh: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistent
backtrack.sh: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/hosts: directory nonexistent
Back Track is configured with SSH and VNC servers that can be accessed from the IP:
eth0: ip 192.168.1.15 mask 255.255.255.0 flags [up broadcast running multicast]

chroot: can't execute '/root/init.sh': No such file or directory
Shutting down BackTrack ARM
failed.
losetup: /dev/loop7: No such file or directory
#


Anyone have any suggestions what I'm doing wrong? I had some of the same issues with Ubuntu at first but I tried a different script and that solve that problem but I can't find different scripts for Backtrack. I'm at a loss.
6th June 2012, 04:25 AM   |  #492  
sickysticky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Keokuk
Thanks Meter: 30
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
K I've got 12.04 running on my GT-P3113 all works good...
I've also taken the library to download smail, and apktool.
Framework installs, it even decompiles properly

The problem I have is at build time errors are thrown for no aapt, well after searching I found one, but for debian.....

Is there any way around this, without installing ubuntu on a pc

p-3113 puff, puff, puff, just send'n smoke signal's
6th June 2012, 04:17 PM   |  #493  
Senior Member
North Potomac
Thanks Meter: 458
 
902 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mscion

Hi. I was able to make a 4GB image and the image seems to work as I can start up the application from the icon. From the terminal I successfully processed a latex file. The problem I'm having is that I cannot access it using vnc so that I can take advantage of the LXDE.

If I try to use vnc (I tried Jump) I get the statement

Connection refused. Make sure desktop is enabled on the computer and the computer's firewall is configured to allow incoming remote desktop connections.


When I initially start up ubuntu I did notice the following error.

vncserver: Wrong type or access mode of /home/ubuntu/.vnc

Any insights on what to try?

Thanks

Found a solution:
It seems that the problem occurs when copying the image file. For some reason the ownership of certain files are changed to root (including the .vnc directory). To convert image to 4GB I need to copy ubuntu.img from my micro sd card to my computer (running mint linux) desktop, then cp into the mounted ubuntunew (see https://linuxonandroid.uservoice.com...more-space-and ) and finally copy new image file back to the micro sd card. So at every point that the image was copied I included the -p option that preserves ownership. I'm not sure if I have to do that at every step but it seems to do the job. So now I can fill my ubuntu image with all sorts of goodies!
The Following User Says Thank You to mscion For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th June 2012, 06:59 PM   |  #494  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SgtWhack

I had that problem, realized only thing I had changed was USB debugging i tried turning that back on and then the Loop device appeared and Ubuntu fired up...hope that helps you - no idea why it would make a difference, but it does tell you in the Installer App if you use that...sigh...I never noticed until now...

I am running CM9 Eyballer nightlies on HP Touchpad.

Thanks, nahhh it didnt work.
Just getting the errors 96, 116 or 89.
"Unable to create boot device."

Anyone else?
6th June 2012, 11:19 PM   |  #495  
ruben_b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Runing fine on my GNex.

Thanks!!!


Edit:
After playing a bit with Ubuntu and the free version, I bought the paid version. I then tried to launch using the paid version.
But now I only get this and can't connect the VNC server:

Quote:

app_112@android:/ $ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
app_112@android:/ $ su
app_112@android:/ # cd /sdcard/ubuntu/
app_112@android:/sdcard/ubuntu # ls
ubuntu.img
ubuntu.sh
app_112@android:/sdcard/ubuntu # sh ./ubuntu.sh
Checking loop device... FOUND
./ubuntu.sh[88]: /data/data/com.zpwebsites.ubuntuinstall/files/busybox: not found
Error: Unable to attach image to loop device! (Image = ./ubuntu.img)
1|app_112@android:/sdcard/ubuntu #

Last edited by ruben_b; 7th June 2012 at 12:02 AM.
7th June 2012, 05:19 PM   |  #496  
smallba's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Monroe, NY
Thanks Meter: 87
 
424 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Backtrack 5 is running smooth on my Evo LTE

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium HD app
7th June 2012, 06:30 PM   |  #497  
dverrette's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 17
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallba

Backtrack 5 is running smooth on my Evo LTE

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium HD app

Did you use the links in the OP?

Sent from Galaxy S II using Premium XDA
7th June 2012, 07:23 PM   |  #498  
drive2droad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 65
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Can you guys add support for Elementary OS Luna ? it seems to be a much polished port of ubuntu optimized for touch & beauty !!
7th June 2012, 11:33 PM   |  #499  
smallba's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Monroe, NY
Thanks Meter: 87
 
424 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dverrette

Did you use the links in the OP?

Sent from Galaxy S II using Premium XDA

I had bought it from the market after testing the free app and used it on my OG EVO, so i figured i would try it on my new eVO 4g LTE. V5 in the OP is the sane as the free app i believe

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium HD app
Last edited by smallba; 7th June 2012 at 11:36 PM.
8th June 2012, 03:11 AM   |  #500  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruben_b

Runing fine on my GNex.

Thanks!!!


Edit:
After playing a bit with Ubuntu and the free version, I bought the paid version. I then tried to launch using the paid version.
But now I only get this and can't connect the VNC server:

This is because you try starting Ubuntu with the script from the free app.
The script expect to find busybox where the free app installed it, but if you uninstalled the free app busybox was uninstalled too, so the script can't find it.
(The busybox the app installed, we don't touch other busybox versions you may have installed)

This is fixed in the upcoming update, but until then you can either download the script through the paid app, or you can get the latest version here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...5&d=1338383106

The Following User Says Thank You to tuxling For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes