Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,879 Members 50,129 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Thoughts on the Interface and questions about an Idea

Tip us?

bornagainpenguin
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Lightbulb Thoughts on the Interface and questions about an Idea

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this or not, so I apologize in advance if I'm posting in the wrong place and for asking (potentially) stupid questions because I am not a developer by any means.

I just got my Nook Color two days ago or so, and in that time I've loaded several different roms and tried various things to get a general feel for what works for me. I keep finding myself up against the wall between wanting the system tray at the bottom and buttons of Ice Cream Sandwich, and wanting the bar at the top like the default in Gingerbread and Froyo. Both have options that simply make sense to me and it seem that I am forced to choose between the one or the other.

My question is this:

Is it possible to have two bars (one on the top and one on the bottom) at all times and still allow for the launcher to be changed, so people can add what ever home replacement they prefer? I'm thinking of something like the Gnome 2.x desktop, with the top bar having the system tray to be dragged down, the clock and whatever icons would normally live there, then a bottom bar containing only the necessary buttons for menu and back at opposite sides of the bar.

Is this possible, or does Android have built in assumptions that there is only one bar which can be at the bottom or the top but you only get one?

Otherwise, what would it take to do this? Would it be possible to simply edit a few files as a novice and get this, or are we talking about such drastic changes it would break everything?

--bornagainpenguin

bornagainpenguin
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Okay, now I'm really confused...