Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,512 Members 42,323 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Dual booting on the HTC Wildfire.

Tip us?
 
lo2ay
Old
(Last edited by lo2ay; 10th April 2012 at 01:06 PM.)
#1  
lo2ay's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 267
Posts: 667
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Alexandria, Egypt
Default [GUIDE] Dual booting on the HTC Wildfire.

This is a guide that shows you how to dual boot multiple android ROMs, and it's possible that these ROMs have different android versions
I'll be using boot manager application in this guide. It's not my app, I didn't develop it and I didn't help in developing it in any way.
The application doesn't touch you internal memory at all. It just makes .img files for the system, data, cashe and boot. It also makes a .android_secure folder.
So any change made will be in the SDcard not in the Internal memory.
That's enough talking, now here are the steps for installing a ROM and booting to it. But before you do anything, make a Nandroid backup (just in case if something goes wrong)

1- Open market (play store) and download Boot manager (lite or pro, but I will be using the lite version in this guide)
2- Open the app. It will make the first time configuration in which it will download about 3~4 MBs.
3- [IMPORTANT !!] Setup your phone ROM. This creates a boot image file for your current ROM so you can boot back again to your original ROM.
4- After that, swipe to go to the first ROM slot. Press install zip button, choose your ROM's zip file location, then check the three boxes (system, data & cashe). Then press okay, then choose which file system you will be using.
Now it's creating files for your ROM inside /SDcard/BootManager/rom1.
You can see the progress in the notification dropdown menu. Try not to use your phone while installing because it will be very slow and laggy.
5- Now it's time to install gapps or any other mod you want to install. Do the same steps as the ROM installation but this time don't check any box. If your ROM doesn't include gapps then you MUST install it as boot manager needs to check your license.
6- Now you can boot to the installed ROM. JUST press boot ROM

The booting process will probably take more time than usual. That's normal don't worry about it.

OK now you're on a SDcard ROM and you want to go back to your phone (original) ROM. Just open boot manager, swipe to phone ROM then press boot ROM. It's that simple

Some problems I had:
When I wanted to go back to my phone ROM, it doesn't boot, it just open the recovery and it doesn't want to reboot properly.
Solution:
Make an advanced restore for the system from the recovery then boot. If it didn't work then make another advanced restore for boot. That's the only solution I have found till now.

Tips and Tricks:
1- If the performance is slow, overclock the device.
2- Use SDcard booster, it's found on the play store.
3- Also use swapper, also found on play store.
4- You can also edit some details, as the ROM and kernel name and screenshots.
5- If you were using the lite version you WILL find the paid one in the SDcard ROMs. But don't be happy as it won't open. Just uninstall it and then install the lite version again from the play store.
6- If you are like me, in a country in which billing in android market is disabled or you just don't want to pay for the pro version, do the following:

Although the lite version has only one rom slot but it creates 5 folders rom1, rom2,.... etc
And it only creates the files in the rom1 folder
Let's say for example you are running CM7 as your daily driver and you want rom1 to be LeWaOS and Rom2 to be CM9 KANG.
It's quite simple, first install CM9 normally, it will be installed to Rom1 folder. Then copy every file in that folder to rom2 folder and delete the contents of .android_secure folder in rom1, then install LeWaOS normally.
If you want to boot into LeWaOS u can boot normally using boot manager. If you want cm9 then copy the files inside Rom2 folder back to Rom1 then boot normally through boot manager

SCREENSHOTS
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1333996518003.jpg
Views:	2661
Size:	24.9 KB
ID:	992931
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1333996592124.jpg
Views:	1138
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	992936
Device: Google Nexus 5
Dirty Unicorns


previous devices: Sony Xperia Pro, HTC Wildfire (small, but it's a legend)

I miss the hardware keyboard of my xperia pro

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to lo2ay For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Lesicnik1
Old
#2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 735
Posts: 2,249
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Slovenj Gradec
Last time I tried ROM manager, it broke my "phone" ROM, so I had to reflash
 
lo2ay
Old
#3  
lo2ay's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 267
Posts: 667
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Alexandria, Egypt
Quote:
Originally Posted by nejc121 View Post
Last time I tried ROM manager, it broke my "phone" ROM, so I had to reflash
Me too, but it happened to me in an older version. The current one works fine for me except the part when I go back to my phone ROM.

Sent from my still alive, ICS capable HTC Wildfire.
Device: Google Nexus 5
Dirty Unicorns


previous devices: Sony Xperia Pro, HTC Wildfire (small, but it's a legend)

I miss the hardware keyboard of my xperia pro

 
Scratch0805
Old
#4  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,193
Posts: 2,046
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sheffield
I haven't used it for ages, I bought it months ago but imo its simpler, the rom runs a little smoother, its less buggy and doesn't take up as much room on your sd card just to do a nandroid of every rom, then just switch them that way. Unless you'd rather have the novelty factor of using an App to do it.

A few things I noticed was it wouldn't work on cm7 no matter what I did, even with support from the developer (that may be fixed now though) on a sense based rom it worked first time everytime so if anyone has a problem with it not writing on the images switch your main rom to a sense based one.

It changes the boot path to direct it to the sd card so if you get stuck on the splash screen simply booting into recovery and advanced restoring the boot image should put things right again, as far as I know it doesn't touch the system partition so you shouldn't need to restore that. (saves a few minutes)



Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium

My Devices
Samsung Galaxy S2
Asus Nexus 7
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7
Samsung Galaxy Note N7000
2 x Samsung Galaxy Ace 5380i's
HTC Wildfire

mycolourscreen

My Dropbox
 
lo2ay
Old
#5  
lo2ay's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 267
Posts: 667
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Alexandria, Egypt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch0805 View Post
I haven't used it for ages, I bought it months ago but imo its simpler, the rom runs a little smoother, its less buggy and doesn't take up as much room on your sd card just to do a nandroid of every rom, then just switch them that way. Unless you'd rather have the novelty factor of using an App to do it.

A few things I noticed was it wouldn't work on cm7 no matter what I did, even with support from the developer (that may be fixed now though) on a sense based rom it worked first time everytime so if anyone has a problem with it not writing on the images switch your main rom to a sense based one.

It changes the boot path to direct it to the sd card so if you get stuck on the splash screen simply booting into recovery and advanced restoring the boot image should put things right again, as far as I know it doesn't touch the system partition so you shouldn't need to restore that. (saves a few minutes)



Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium
I already know that it doesn't touch the system partition and I tried restoring boot only but it didn't reboot. I had to restore system also. It's not a logical solution but it works for me
And sometimes restoring the system only works too
My mobile must be always different than other's mobiles I don't know why but it does

Sent from my still alive, ICS capable HTC Wildfire.
Device: Google Nexus 5
Dirty Unicorns


previous devices: Sony Xperia Pro, HTC Wildfire (small, but it's a legend)

I miss the hardware keyboard of my xperia pro

 
lo2ay
Old
(Last edited by lo2ay; 10th April 2012 at 01:05 PM.)
#6  
lo2ay's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 267
Posts: 667
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Alexandria, Egypt
If you are like me, in a country in which billing in android market is disabled or you just don't want to pay for the pro version, do the following:

Although the lite version has only one rom slot but it creates 5 folders rom1, rom2,.... etc
And it only creates the files in the rom1 folder
Let's say for example you are running CM7 as your daily driver and you want rom1 to be LeWaOS and Rom2 to be CM9 KANG.
It's quite simple, first install CM9 normally, it will be installed to Rom1 folder. Then copy every file in that folder to rom2 folder and delete the contents of .android_secure folder in rom1, then install LeWaOS normally.
If you want to boot into LeWaOS u can boot normally using boot manager. If you want cm9 then copy the files inside Rom2 folder back to Rom1 then boot normally through boot manager
Device: Google Nexus 5
Dirty Unicorns


previous devices: Sony Xperia Pro, HTC Wildfire (small, but it's a legend)

I miss the hardware keyboard of my xperia pro

 
Shiv Prajapati
Old
#7  
Shiv Prajapati's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 348
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kolkata
Quote:
Originally Posted by lo2ay View Post
If you are like me, in a country in which billing in android market is disabled or you just don't want to pay for the pro version, do the following:

Although the lite version has only one rom slot but it creates 5 folders rom1, rom2,.... etc
And it only creates the files in the rom1 folder
Let's say for example you are running CM7 as your daily driver and you want rom1 to be LeWaOS and Rom2 to be CM9 KANG.
It's quite simple, first install CM9 normally, it will be installed to Rom1 folder. Then copy every file in that folder to rom2 folder and delete the contents of .android_secure folder in rom1, then install LeWaOS normally.
If you want to boot into LeWaOS u can boot normally using boot manager. If you want cm9 then copy the files inside Rom2 folder back to Rom1 then boot normally through boot manager
Thanks for the guide...it is working fine...no issues in switching between Roms..
Scratch was right..my phone rom is Rempuzzle and Sd card Rom is Lewa..Since Rempuzzle is a sense Rom ..it didnt give me any sort of pain...
Those who wants to try take the base rom as a Sense and then try experimenting...
Bye bye good nite...
_________________________________________
Current Device:Nexus 4

Previous Device: HTC Wildfire(Sold)/ZTE Blade/Karbonn A18(Lost)/HUAWEI Ascend Y300(Sold)

“Winning isn't everything, it's the only thing.”
 
lo2ay
Old
#8  
lo2ay's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 267
Posts: 667
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Alexandria, Egypt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiv Prajapati View Post
Thanks for the guide...it is working fine...no issues in switching between Roms..
Scratch was right..my phone rom is Rempuzzle and Sd card Rom is Lewa..Since Rempuzzle is a sense Rom ..it didnt give me any sort of pain...
Those who wants to try take the base rom as a Sense and then try experimenting...
Bye bye good nite...
I'm on cm7 and it works fine except when I want to go back to the phone Rom. I have to make an advanced restore for boot and system first

Sent from my still alive, ICS capable HTC Wildfire.
Device: Google Nexus 5
Dirty Unicorns


previous devices: Sony Xperia Pro, HTC Wildfire (small, but it's a legend)

I miss the hardware keyboard of my xperia pro

 
LucidSomnia
Old
#9  
LucidSomnia's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 350
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paphos
So if it doesn't touch the system, i suppose there is no problem for people with custom mtd partitions? (Due to boot a rom, installing bravo-boot.zip is required)

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
Nexus 7 (Flo) Stock (4.4.4)
Nexus 5 (Hammerhead) Stock (4.4.4)
Nexus 4 (Mako) Stock (4.4.4)
Sony Xperia S LT26i (Nozomi) CyanogenMod 10 for Locked BL (4.1.2)
HTC Wildfire (Buzz) CyanogenMod 7.2 (2.3.7)
The Following User Says Thank You to LucidSomnia For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Scratch0805
Old
(Last edited by Scratch0805; 12th April 2012 at 05:32 AM.)
#10  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,193
Posts: 2,046
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sheffield
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucidSomnia View Post
So if it doesn't touch the system, i suppose there is no problem for people with custom mtd partitions? (Due to boot a rom, installing bravo-boot.zip is required)

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
It creates a new system.img 250mb on the sd card, not sure if you can physically change that but your original mtd should be fine.

Why don't you test it out?
i didn't use mtd because i had to use sense as a base just to get the app to work, as previously mentioned i have no need for this app now, nandroids work just fine.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium

My Devices
Samsung Galaxy S2
Asus Nexus 7
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7
Samsung Galaxy Note N7000
2 x Samsung Galaxy Ace 5380i's
HTC Wildfire

mycolourscreen

My Dropbox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more

Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more