FORUMS

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

[ICS PATCH][CWM] Dear XDA, I present to you...the rotation fix :)

320 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,445
 
By fuse1820, Senior Member on 10th April 2012, 02:52 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
ONLY FOR ICS LEAK-BASED ROMS

ONLY FOR ICS LEAK-BASED ROMS

If you have Gingerbread, don't read further!!



Auto-rotate! :D
Specifically, this fixes the accelerometer issue altogether. Its a deep fix, going down to the driver level. So games and camera work too.

This should work on all ICS leak-derivative ROMs, including my own (and will be baked into my upcoming release).
Long story short, this was made possible due to the ATT Galaxy Note leak (a cousin of the T989)
In theory we can now start pushing out functional ICS ROMs. But there is still the pesky call echo issue, looking into that.

Feel free to include it in your ROMs...although I do ask for some credit since I spent countless hours in the past few days investigating and investigating. My eyes are sore

Warning: Please make a NANDROID backup prior to flashing this.
You never know what can go wrong.
There is no need to clear Dalvik, but I'd do it anyway if I were you.

This file needs to be flashed with ClockworkMod
So you can put it on your SD card, boot into recovery, and install it.

Be careful though. Make a backup first. Always make backups.

IMPORTANT
After installation, remember to:
1) Enable auto-rotation on your launcher / whatever you prefer. Remember we had a little era of no accelerometer so its a little bit foreign ATM :P
2) Calibrate your Gyroscope via the Settings -> Display menu
Attached Files
File Type: zip AutoRotateHotfix.zip - [Click for QR Code] (278.5 KB, 6610 views)
Last edited by fuse1820; 12th April 2012 at 06:01 AM.
The Following 269 Users Say Thank You to fuse1820 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
10th April 2012, 03:02 PM |#2  
defconoi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
Thanks Meter: 6,061
 
Donate to Me
More
confirmed
working on racing's original ICS leak!

camera settings menu isnt retarded no more and pictures are the right orientation w00t

downloaded bubble level in the market and sensors are working perfectly

nice work yaldak, will be waiting on your new rom release, sing racings right now cuz video recording is broke in ravers, see if u can improve the call echo

check it out:
dial:
*#0*# - menu "Sensor"
Last edited by defconoi; 10th April 2012 at 03:24 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to defconoi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th April 2012, 03:04 PM |#3  
bbobarino's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag pawtucket
Thanks Meter: 233
 
More
This is a flashable zip???????????

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk
10th April 2012, 03:05 PM |#4  
defconoi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
Thanks Meter: 6,061
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbobarino

This is a flashable zip???????????

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk

yes flash away
The Following User Says Thank You to defconoi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th April 2012, 03:13 PM |#5  
Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Confirmed working on raver's ics blackedition!!!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to clemsonboyz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th April 2012, 03:13 PM |#6  
hazard99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
I was so just about to use the rotation lock bandaid.... thank you ever so much!

Works perfect. no problems during the flash. Just make sure whatever launcher you are running has the auto rotate turned on.
Last edited by hazard99; 10th April 2012 at 03:21 PM. Reason: addition of information
10th April 2012, 03:36 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 220
 
More
Everyone thought that this would be a problem only source could fix... Congratulations on proving them wrong
10th April 2012, 03:39 PM |#8  
hazard99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Can someone else who hasnt applied the mod download android sensor or something else that will interact with the gyroscope.

It seems like its working in reverse. left and right seems to control for and aft.

I could be crazy. So I would like someone else to confirm.
10th April 2012, 03:41 PM |#9  
fuse1820's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 1,445
 
Donate to Me
More
Try to calibrate it.
Settings -> Display -> Gyroscope calibration
The Following User Says Thank You to fuse1820 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th April 2012, 03:46 PM |#10  
hazard99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaldak

Try to calibrate it.
Settings -> Display -> Gyroscope calibration

I just played darkmaze and everything seems to be working ok. I Just wanted to confirm that you fix didnt mess up the gyroscope!
10th April 2012, 03:49 PM |#11  
fuse1820's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 1,445
 
Donate to Me
More
Okay.
Kind of freaked me out for a minute...went digging through recycle bin LOL
I'll run some better tests when I get a chance. I'm sure there is room for some refinement.

Thank you all for the feedback
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to fuse1820 For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
auto rotation, auto rotation fix
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes