Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] "Wipe cache partition" in recovery mode seems useless? What is it for exactly??

OP MarlonKaye

11th April 2012, 01:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Hi. I'm using Samsung Galaxy Ace, Android 2.3.6, rooted.

I had 2 apps with cache data:
1. the system app "Internet" = 444KB
2. a user app called "RedLaser" (for reading QR codes) = 45KB

I turned off phone, went into recovery, then "wipe cache partition", then reboot.
It did nothing! The two apps still had cache, and I just deleted them manually in Settings -> Manage Applications.

So what does the "wipe cache partition" do anyway?

Also, if a phone is unrooted, is there a way to clean the dalvik cache?

Thanks all!
11th April 2012, 02:56 PM   |  #2  
shyamjptpm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Trivandrum
Thanks Meter: 42
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Its for wiping the cache of your phone application..some times if you not do this then you r apps will crash in the new rom..so its optional thing.but some times it needed...understood??:P
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shyamjptpm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2012, 05:27 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
shyamjptpm, did you even read the details of my post? The cache of those two apps were not deleted through "wipe cache partition" in recovery mode. So I was wondering what it does, exactly, since it DOES NOT wipe the apps' cache.
11th April 2012, 05:32 PM   |  #4  
Archer's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - (Un)Recognized Pole Dancer
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 4,117
 
10
13,913 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
The cache is an app cache, but not a cache of application data. You wipe that through application management (or manually with a file explorer or shell).

Think of it as an Android cache that it uses for apps and components.
The Following User Says Thank You to Archer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2012, 05:40 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Hey Archer, an app cache? Like the dalvik cache? The dalvik is for starting apps faster, correct? So is "Dalvik cache" same as the cache referred to in "wipe cache partition"?
11th April 2012, 05:45 PM   |  #6  
Archer's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - (Un)Recognized Pole Dancer
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 4,117
 
10
13,913 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarlonKaye

Hey Archer, an app cache? Like the dalvik cache? The dalvik is for starting apps faster, correct? So is "Dalvik cache" same as the cache referred to in "wipe cache partition"?

No it's not apps - I explained that badly. It's regularly accessed data and app components, but not app-specific data. The Dalvik cache is the application cache - they are two different things.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Archer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2012, 11:15 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Florida, USA
Thanks Meter: 5
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Additionally depending on which recovery you are using, wiping the cache might not properly work all the time, that is why you read so many posts saying wipe +3; meaning to run the wipe cache (and dalvik) at least 3 times. I know I had issues with one specific recovery and switched to another because of it...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Decifra For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd July 2014, 04:25 AM   |  #8  
Member
Chennai
Thanks Meter: 22
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archer

No it's not apps - I explained that badly. It's regularly accessed data and app components, but not app-specific data. The Dalvik cache is the application cache - they are two different things.

Hey, is it possible to wipe cache partition without getting into recovery mode?
And wiping the cache partition and dalvik cache will delete my game progress??
Please clarify this for me bro...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes