Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Snapdragon S4 unlock GLONASS ?

OP thesoulxx

11th April 2012, 02:10 PM   |  #1  
thesoulxx's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Hi, i am new here thefore i cant post in "One S Android Development"

I KNOW that (HTC one s)Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 has support for GLONASS. can it be unlock ?

anyone known what soundchip it got onboard also ?

Appreciate the help.
11th April 2012, 04:44 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 87
 
341 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Are you sure it needs unlocking? Mine said on the box "Supports GPS/GLONASS". Not that I have any idea how to check.

Sent from my HTC One S using XDA
11th April 2012, 11:17 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Download GPS test from the market.

Fire it up and see if you log any satellites numbered 65 to 88.

11th April 2012, 11:39 PM   |  #4  
thesoulxx's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
My Htc one s, havnt arrive yet, i still waiting, i think it would come next week, then i can do the gps testing. It would be nice to hav a good gps.

I am using Samsung galaxy s1 and its worthless in sweden..

Btw i hope Snapdragon s4 get Wolfson audio chips
12th April 2012, 02:12 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
My HOS IS showing satelites number 69 and 71... are those GLONASS sats
The Following User Says Thank You to Thiesen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2012, 04:13 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 87
 
341 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Out of 15 satellites that I could see, 6 were #65 or over. Looks like GLONASS is working fine.

Edit: Just to clarify, I'm in Japan, but my phone came from the UK so is the European model (No One S for the poor Japanese, lol)
The Following User Says Thank You to kuroneko007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2012, 05:25 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag earth.europe.de
Thanks Meter: 37
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2005
More
So it works completely transparently to the user and does not need special software or adjustments, it will just work by "supplementing" the accuracy reported through the GPS interface and therefore also every navigation software etc. will automatically benefit from it?

That is kinda cool if its the case.
The Following User Says Thank You to psych0t1c For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2012, 06:28 AM   |  #8  
thesoulxx's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
This is going to be GREAT for once i can use "GPS" correctly in sweden, anyone knowns more about the Sound chips onboard the S4 ?
12th April 2012, 09:50 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 87
 
341 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by psych0t1c

So it works completely transparently to the user and does not need special software or adjustments, it will just work by "supplementing" the accuracy reported through the GPS interface and therefore also every navigation software etc. will automatically benefit from it?

That is kinda cool if its the case.

Yup, looks like it. There is no separate setting to "Enable GPS" / "Enable GLONASS". Although rather than being transparent to the user, it is more like hidden from the user. I guess the average user neither knows nor cares about GLONASS, as long as the thing shows them where they are on the map.
12th April 2012, 10:11 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I do not get satellites > 28, but total 22 visible and 14 in use.
Don't know if GPS or GLONASS - but 22 are a lot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-04-11 19.12.02.jpg
Views:	301
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	998471  

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes