Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

GPS Compass really messed up!

OP mbushnaq00

11th April 2012, 07:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I am really concerned about the GPS compass issue (not the magnetic one). It makes navigation applications like NDrive and Sygic unusable. While I am driving the nav app would suddenly recalculate the route on a different road then a few seconds later it comes back to my actual location, and it keeps doing that even if u are not moving.

This is really irritating, do any of u face a similar issue? Do u think its a hardware or a software problem?
11th April 2012, 07:09 PM   |  #2  
matmar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbushnaq00

I am really concerned about the GPS compass issue (not the magnetic one). It makes navigation applications like NDrive and Sygic unusable. While I am driving the nav app would suddenly recalculate the route on a different road then a few seconds later it comes back to my actual location, and it keeps doing that even if u are not moving.

This is really irritating, do any of u face a similar issue? Do u think its a hardware or a software problem?

Install GPS status from market and clear agps data. Worked for me !

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to matmar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2012, 07:20 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmar

Install GPS status from market and clear agps data. Worked for me !

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium

Can you please provide me with the market link, I really would appreciate it

EDIT: I got it, and cleared the agps data but still the same issue. The wierd thing is that while I stand still, the speed keeps increasing and descreasing at very high number.

I tested another one x and it was far more accurate and stable than mine I think mine is defective :S
Last edited by mbushnaq00; 11th April 2012 at 07:56 PM.
16th April 2012, 01:40 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Mine is quite amusing it says i'm at home then you will see it move at light speed and place my gps target in a whole other country whilst saying its got 5m accuracy, have tried clearing aps to make no diff


Quote:
Originally Posted by mbushnaq00

Can you please provide me with the market link, I really would appreciate it

EDIT: I got it, and cleared the agps data but still the same issue. The wierd thing is that while I stand still, the speed keeps increasing and descreasing at very high number.

I tested another one x and it was far more accurate and stable than mine I think mine is defective :S

16th April 2012, 03:12 PM   |  #5  
escalator's Avatar
Member
Flag Pratzschwitz
Thanks Meter: 7
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyung

Mine is quite amusing it says i'm at home then you will see it move at light speed and place my gps target in a whole other country whilst saying its got 5m accuracy, have tried clearing aps to make no diff

+1: GPS is unusable...
Last edited by escalator; 16th April 2012 at 03:41 PM.
16th April 2012, 04:34 PM   |  #6  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spokane, Washington
Thanks Meter: 4,400
 
8,972 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by escalator

+1: GPS is unusable...

The best way to test GPS is to put the phone in airplane mode, turn off GPS, and reboot it. After it reboots then activate GPS. That way it won't be using aGPS (wireless or Wi-Fi) and be relying solely on the GPS chip for location.

Download an app from the Market called GPS Test. When I run it I see the phone's kind of screwy. It sees 16 satellites immediately (excellent) and locks on about half of them (average) but then keeps changing which satellites it's receiving from.

It will get down to 9' in accuracy which is actually very good but it's odd that it keeps shifting satellites instead of staying locked on the ones it has previously identified and read. I set a route in CoPilot using nothing but the GPS chip and it seemed fine; my origin remained stationary. When I go out later I'll actually try using it in the car for a full route.

It's really hard to say whether it's h/w or s/w at this point.

Edit: After doing all the above I noticed I lost a pretty hefty amount of battery. Looking in the battery stats Android OS was the number one battery user exceeding even the display. That's abnormal which leads me to guess the issue is probably s/w.
Last edited by BarryH_GEG; 16th April 2012 at 04:46 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to BarryH_GEG For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th April 2012, 04:47 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 631
 
3,558 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
What is a "GPS compass", please? (There's no such thing.)

Used GPS for the first time yesterday, for a two hour trip with Sygic maps' 12.1 beta. Worked perfectly the whole way.
16th April 2012, 06:03 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 100
 
663 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG

Edit: After doing all the above I noticed I lost a pretty hefty amount of battery. Looking in the battery stats Android OS was the number one battery user exceeding even the display. That's abnormal which leads me to guess the issue is probably s/w.

That could be a red herring. A rather large issue has been discovered with the battery stats that it does not go down correctly when the phone is on standby (screen off). When it suddenly realises the true battery status, it plummets to the correct level.
16th April 2012, 06:53 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Yeah. There is something strange going on with the compass and GPS.

Google Maps has my arrow moving around a lot and also changes direction significantly even when I'm stationary. Not sure what is going on there. There is a certain amount of uncertainty and jitter when using GPS but it should be smoothed out.

I've tried disabling the WiFi/Cell location system and only using GPS but it doesn't affect it. Resetting the AGPS data doesn't help either.
17th April 2012, 08:03 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
The GPS issue seems to be big and i use GPS and Navigation too often with my phone. Tonight or tomorrow i am getting my One X and i hope they will sort this out sooner.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes