Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,054 Members 46,895 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

MMS Fix for Epic 4G Running ICS

Tip us?
 
highfi13g
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Thumbs up MMS Fix for Epic 4G Running ICS

Hi everybody,

We all know that ICS has made it a bit difficult to edit your APN(s). We also know that some of us have been having issues getting MMS to work when we install ICS on our Epics.

Luckily after a lot of research and a little tinkering I found a great fix that worked right away. I took the APN Settings from an Epic Touch 4g.

1. Within you Epic open your Voice Dialer App.
2. When prompted say "Open APNs".
3. Another pop up will appear, tap on the OPEN APNs message that pops up.
4. The next screen will show one single APN called Sprint tap on it.
5. On the next screen you will see the list of settings for the specific APN. Below are the list of settings that finally got my MMS working.
a. Username: Sprint
b. MMS Proxy: 68.28.31.7
c. MMS Port: 80
**ALL OTHER SETTINGS STAY THE SAME**
6. Once completed tap the menu button and tap save.
7. Reboot for good luck.

Steps 1-3 will also work for Epic owners trying to edit APN settings to use on another carrier.

Hope the info helps!
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to highfi13g For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
philowneus
Old
#2  
philowneus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 365
Join Date: Sep 2010
Is this more for wifi or 3g. Cause I know I have trouble sometimes. I followed your thing. Guess I'll see how it goes. Cause I don't remember when I have had mms fail for testing.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
 
Trident
Old
#3  
Trident's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 1,199
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Disney World
Interesting. I just noticed this today when I couldn't see an mms in an otherwise awesome CM9 RC1.
I just installed HandcentSMS and that worked, but I prefer not having the extra apps. I'll try this over the weekend.
Peace,
Trident

Using a Sprint GalaxyNexus for work and LG G2 for personal.
[Feel free to press the Thanks button if I helped you- I'll do the same.
Loving my new connection-
 
highfi13g
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by philowneus View Post
Is this more for wifi or 3g. Cause I know I have trouble sometimes. I followed your thing. Guess I'll see how it goes. Cause I don't remember when I have had mms fail for testing.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
I believe it only applies to 3G since the APLs are only used as network identifiers by mobile devices.
 
offtohavasu
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 272
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Orange, CA
Interesting. Where did you find the info?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to offtohavasu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
highfi13g
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by offtohavasu View Post
Interesting. Where did you find the info?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda app-developers app
The first three steps were from another post i found through a Google search (Dont ask, i unfortunately dont remember). Once i found out how to access the APL in ICS it was just of matter of finding the APL info for another Sprint phone (in this case a Galaxy II) and entering that info in my Epic's APL.
 
nathan951
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 303
Join Date: Sep 2010
this was one of the main reasons i installed TPR, may have to switch back to ICS, if this fixes the MMS issues!
 
Trident
Old
#8  
Trident's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 1,199
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Disney World
Very interesting. Now I need to receive an mms to test.
One thing I noticed was after following all steps, a lot of other information was populated in the Sprint settings when I went back to look.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda app-developers app
Peace,
Trident

Using a Sprint GalaxyNexus for work and LG G2 for personal.
[Feel free to press the Thanks button if I helped you- I'll do the same.
Loving my new connection-
 
notsosmrtgeek
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 398
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: portage
what is bearer? I clicked on it and it says lte, ehrpd or unspecified
 
Andy_nu
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 250
Posts: 691
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by notsosmrtgeek View Post
what is bearer? I clicked on it and it says lte, ehrpd or unspecified
keep it blank or unspecified, we dont have lte or ehrpd

The Following User Says Thank You to Andy_nu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
epic 4g, fix, ics, mms, sprint
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes