FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

MMS Fix for Epic 4G Running ICS

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 11
 
By highfi13g, Junior Member on 7th July 2012, 03:10 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi everybody,

We all know that ICS has made it a bit difficult to edit your APN(s). We also know that some of us have been having issues getting MMS to work when we install ICS on our Epics.

Luckily after a lot of research and a little tinkering I found a great fix that worked right away. I took the APN Settings from an Epic Touch 4g.

1. Within you Epic open your Voice Dialer App.
2. When prompted say "Open APNs".
3. Another pop up will appear, tap on the OPEN APNs message that pops up.
4. The next screen will show one single APN called Sprint tap on it.
5. On the next screen you will see the list of settings for the specific APN. Below are the list of settings that finally got my MMS working.
a. Username: Sprint
b. MMS Proxy: 68.28.31.7
c. MMS Port: 80
**ALL OTHER SETTINGS STAY THE SAME**
6. Once completed tap the menu button and tap save.
7. Reboot for good luck.

Steps 1-3 will also work for Epic owners trying to edit APN settings to use on another carrier.

Hope the info helps!
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to highfi13g For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
7th July 2012, 03:41 AM |#2  
philowneus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 123
 
More
Is this more for wifi or 3g. Cause I know I have trouble sometimes. I followed your thing. Guess I'll see how it goes. Cause I don't remember when I have had mms fail for testing.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
7th July 2012, 03:44 AM |#3  
Trident's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Disney World
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
Interesting. I just noticed this today when I couldn't see an mms in an otherwise awesome CM9 RC1.
I just installed HandcentSMS and that worked, but I prefer not having the extra apps. I'll try this over the weekend.
7th July 2012, 03:57 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by philowneus

Is this more for wifi or 3g. Cause I know I have trouble sometimes. I followed your thing. Guess I'll see how it goes. Cause I don't remember when I have had mms fail for testing.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2

I believe it only applies to 3G since the APLs are only used as network identifiers by mobile devices.
7th July 2012, 05:54 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Orange, CA
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
Interesting. Where did you find the info?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to offtohavasu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2012, 05:59 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by offtohavasu

Interesting. Where did you find the info?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda app-developers app

The first three steps were from another post i found through a Google search (Dont ask, i unfortunately dont remember). Once i found out how to access the APL in ICS it was just of matter of finding the APL info for another Sprint phone (in this case a Galaxy II) and entering that info in my Epic's APL.
7th July 2012, 07:26 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
this was one of the main reasons i installed TPR, may have to switch back to ICS, if this fixes the MMS issues!
7th July 2012, 04:58 PM |#8  
Trident's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Disney World
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
Very interesting. Now I need to receive an mms to test.
One thing I noticed was after following all steps, a lot of other information was populated in the Sprint settings when I went back to look.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda app-developers app
7th July 2012, 06:47 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag portage
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
what is bearer? I clicked on it and it says lte, ehrpd or unspecified
7th July 2012, 11:10 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 250
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by notsosmrtgeek

what is bearer? I clicked on it and it says lte, ehrpd or unspecified

keep it blank or unspecified, we dont have lte or ehrpd
The Following User Says Thank You to Andy_nu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2012, 01:01 AM |#11  
DCRocks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 256
 
More
Wanted to give out a BIG thanks for this fix

I installed CM9, RC1, and had issues sending MMS. Was unsure if it was the towers in San Diego, as I was just visiting,or the phone, but as I has some extra time, I went so far as to do a full wipe and reload of CM9 RC1. Still, over several days, was unable to get a MMS to send 9 out of 10 times, no matter what I tried, while plain text messages went right away.

I rebooted my phone, tried sending a MMS, and it stuck on sending. Gave it 15-20, and even rebooted. Still stuck at sending. I deleted the message, made this fix, rebooted, and tried to send a MMS again, and the MMS sent right away

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
epic 4g, fix, ics, mms, sprint
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes