5,597,501 Members 31,315 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

What is stopping you from using CM9/AOKP as a daily?

Tip us?
 
rocket321
Old
#141  
rocket321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 342
Posts: 665
Join Date: Jan 2009
Battery life is the only thing. Otherwise I find cm9 basically perfect. I had to go back to el29 to have a battery that will last through the day no problem. I'm hoping kernel tweaks will get aosp roms a bit more friendly to battery life.

I will definitely test the upcoming releases of cm with high hopes. Thanks to all the epic and epic touch devs!

Sent from my SPH-D710 using XDA
 
lilajrestnom
Old
#142  
lilajrestnom's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 1,177
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dohturdima View Post
I've got mine for free over two years ago after speaking to retentions and threatening to leave if I had no signal at home. Kept my original Airave until now, new Airvana model with 3g is on its way now - with no monthly charges. Before I am accused of freeloading, have to say that wife's VZW S3 actually picks up signal in the basement without needing a femtocell.
So it should be 100% free right? That's not what the guy told me a few months back when I tried to get one. But ill try again on Monday lol.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA
 
KennyG123
Old
#143  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Thanks Meter 23774
Posts: 26,420
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Right behind you!

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilajrestnom View Post
So it should be 100% free right? That's not what the guy told me a few months back when I tried to get one. But ill try again on Monday lol.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA
Yes if you have enough credit for an additional line. You will only pay communication taxes on the additional linemfor the Airave which is like 2 or 3 bucks a month.

Sent from my PantechP4100 using xda premium

Moderator Directory - - - FORUM RULES - - - Support Autism Awareness here
 
danipoak
Old
#144  
danipoak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 407
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilajrestnom View Post
So it should be 100% free right? That's not what the guy told me a few months back when I tried to get one. But ill try again on Monday lol.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA
They charge $5 a month per line for airave service. I got this waived by bitching enough about not having service in the apartment. And they say the airave does not broadcast 3g but mine definitely does and has for 2.5 years.
 
lilajrestnom
Old
#145  
lilajrestnom's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 1,177
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by danipoak View Post
They charge $5 a month per line for airave service. I got this waived by bitching enough about not having service in the apartment. And they say the airave does not broadcast 3g but mine definitely does and has for 2.5 years.
I've gotta try that lol.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda app-developers app
 
KennyG123
Old
#146  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Thanks Meter 23774
Posts: 26,420
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Right behind you!

 
DONATE TO ME
The Airave certainly does have 3G. It is the older Airvana that didn't. And they never tried to charge me $5 a month. Just the taxes I stated earlier.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda premium

Moderator Directory - - - FORUM RULES - - - Support Autism Awareness here
The Following User Says Thank You to KennyG123 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Zeinzu
Old
#147  
Zeinzu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1077
Posts: 2,731
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manchester
I thought the airwave works by connecting you to their network through your home wifi? If that's the case how can it broadcast 3g?

Sent from my SPH-D700 CM9 RC2 ANDROID 4.0.4
 
KennyG123
Old
#148  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Thanks Meter 23774
Posts: 26,420
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Right behind you!

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeinzu View Post
I thought the airwave works by connecting you to their network through your home wifi? If that's the case how can it broadcast 3g?

Sent from my SPH-D700 CM9 RC2 ANDROID 4.0.4
It has a 3G radio and cell receiver that it transmits over the internet. You get full 3G speed of about 1.7Mbs but why would you use it if you can have WiFi?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda premium

Moderator Directory - - - FORUM RULES - - - Support Autism Awareness here
 
danipoak
Old
#149  
danipoak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 407
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyglass123 View Post
The Airave certainly does have 3G. It is the older Airvana that didn't. And they never tried to charge me $5 a month. Just the taxes I stated earlier.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda premium
They waive it for a lot of people. The standard is $5 per line. I know because I had to fight it. I guess that explains the 3g. They must have just been transitioning when they sent mine and hadn't updated the info on 3g.
 
zacnking
Old
#150  
zacnking's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 401
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
What's stopping me now from using cm is actually cm10 oh how I love jelly bean!

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda app-developers app
I root therefore I am

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes