5,596,235 Members 35,948 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sprint to activate LTE on 800mhz band... in 2014

Tip us?
 
mattykinsx
Old
#1  
mattykinsx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 854
Posts: 4,638
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Sprint to activate LTE on 800mhz band... in 2014

http://www.engadget.com/2012/04/13/sprint-lte-800mhz/


Anyone else a little disappointed in this?

I know that this complete network overhaul is going to be one of the fastest ever but being as far behind as they are [and will be] it seems like this should be done with the Network Vision roll out, not after.
R.I.P. Dad 05/04/56 - 04/21/11
 
killakarl
Old
#2  
killakarl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 794
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattykinsx View Post
http://www.engadget.com/2012/04/13/sprint-lte-800mhz/


Anyone else a little disappointed in this?

I know that this complete network overhaul is going to be one of the fastest ever but being as far behind as they are [and will be] it seems like this should be done with the Network Vision roll out, not after.
They still have about 6 million people on the frequency and they are cutting 33% of the towers. They also have to get approval from the FCC go use that spectrum for lte. It all can't be an instantaneous process.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
 
dmchssc
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 86
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
The problem is that they won't have had time to completely clear the spectrum of Nextel users until late 2013 at the earliest. They've already started the refarming process in some areas so they can start launching 1x-Advanced carriers for improved voice coverage. Voice is still a priority for Sprint, and they can only clear enough spectrum for one or two 1.25 mhz CDMA carriers (vs a 3 or 5 mhz LTE carrier that doesn't do voice) for the time being.
 
mattykinsx
Old
#4  
mattykinsx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 854
Posts: 4,638
Join Date: Jul 2010
I respect and fully understand the problem but this is a pretty serious situation.
Sprint is already far behind the big two...and actually they're behind T-Mobile and Metropcs too.

How much longer can they afford to delay?

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
R.I.P. Dad 05/04/56 - 04/21/11
 
Rob4828
Old
#5  
Rob4828's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 491
Join Date: Nov 2011
I guess i can wait. My upgrade isnt until 2014 anyways

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
"Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit, but Wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad."
 
killakarl
Old
#6  
killakarl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 794
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
They are still putting out lte on there 1900 band so everywhere their 3g is will be covered with lte. You should head over to s4gru.com or something like that. I've read some articles that put some of my questions at ease.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
 
tenaciousj
Old
#7  
tenaciousj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 545
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan
Yeah was a bit mad when I saw this. If data speeds don't pick up for me by the time my contract comes up for renewal I'm going to Verizon. 2014 is too far away to deal with dial up speeds and closest Wimax tower about 50 miles away.
The Following User Says Thank You to tenaciousj For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
punwik
Old
#8  
punwik's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 260
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dallas
They better pull a rabbit out before sept. Or im jumping ship.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
If you can't beat them, arrange to have them beaten.
 
mattykinsx
Old
#9  
mattykinsx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 854
Posts: 4,638
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by killakarl View Post
They are still putting out lte on there 1900 band so everywhere their 3g is will be covered with lte. You should head over to s4gru.com or something like that. I've read some articles that put some of my questions at ease.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
The 1900 band is better than the 2.5 GHZ band, but it will still have building penetration issues.

I've read that site and I don't think this is a "do or die" situation, but I think getting ALL of this done ASAP is a priority.
Because, no matter what, they are behind.
R.I.P. Dad 05/04/56 - 04/21/11
 
odub303
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 446
Posts: 1,281
Join Date: Nov 2007
I think people have misunderstood this piece of news. Sprint is still rolling out LTE this year. This is additional LTE to what they are rolling out this year. The addition of 800 mhz LTE is part of network vision, its one if the last pieces.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes