Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,680 Members 46,107 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] (noob) A100 - Help - Bricked ???

Tip us?
 
pLaTiNiO
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2012
Unhappy [Q] (noob) A100 - Help - Bricked ???

Hi everybody

I'm a noob and I am French (no luck ^^'). I apologize for my bad English (thank you google Traduct...)

I may have bricked my acer iconia a100 ; I wanted to flash it to ICS but I did something wrong.

The result is that I only have access to the green acer logo and I am unable to do a hard reboot (reset button AND usual technique doesn't work)...

The fastboot works (USB dowload protocol) but does not allow me to access the flash memory (windows does not detect it).

I think I have tried everything...

Is there a solution? Will I be forced to call the Acer's customer service?

Thanks
 
Theonew
Old
#2  
Theonew's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1055
Posts: 3,530
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wherever I am
What did you do wrong? What were you doing to get you into your current situation?
 
pLaTiNiO
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2012
I was too fast : I rooted with fastboot ICS (runit-win) by following the instructions BUT my version was still at 3.2
 
pLaTiNiO
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2012
Clearly, the tablet stuck in the middle of the installation process (or I have not been patient enough) and so I had to restart.
Since then, I have no access at all to any function of the tablet, I can not make a hard reboot, restore, or even install a rom ...
 
Theonew
Old
#5  
Theonew's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1055
Posts: 3,530
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wherever I am
Quote:
Originally Posted by pLaTiNiO View Post
Clearly, the tablet stuck in the middle of the installation process (or I have not been patient enough) and so I had to restart.
Since then, I have no access at all to any function of the tablet, I can not make a hard reboot, restore, or even install a rom ...
Are you able to boot into the stock recovery? Try placing the update.zip on the sd card, then booting into it.
 
pLaTiNiO
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2012
I tried, of course.

//BOOT with SD card
-here is what appears :
Code:
Erasing Cache before SD update...
SD update cmd: recovery
--update_package=SDCARD:update.zip
 Booting kernel recovery image
-> no matter if an sd card is insered or not, no matter what rom I try...

Same problem for the hard reboot :

//HARD REBOOT
-This text scrolls very quickly and I can neither confirm nor make selection anything :
Code:
erasing userdata
erasing cache
+reboot (acer logo only (freeze?))

Only fastboot seems to react a minimum :

//FASTBOOT
Code:
Bootloader v0.03.06-ICS: Starting Fastboot USB dowload protocol
+ fastboot's windows drivers installation on link (beep usb) but not detected

From there, I think it is no longer possible to attempt anything else ...
 
Theonew
Old
#7  
Theonew's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1055
Posts: 3,530
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wherever I am
Did you place the file on the external sd (you can't try any rom, it has to be the official one)?
 
pLaTiNiO
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2012
Yes.
"update.zip" of the original (and official) firmware. Just in case, I've added an "recovery.img" file (plus lot of several different files. You never know.. ).
All this files are in the external SD card.

If I remember correctly, another update (ICS) was still in the flash memory (with many other unnecessary files..). I no longer have access and I'm not even sure they are still existing ^^'

I have not found any similar topic on the forums, I hope that a solution exists...
 
leclasheur22
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 44
Join Date: Feb 2012
your booloader is unlock or not ?

im french too
 
pLaTiNiO
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bootloader unlock, yes... I guess...
It works fine at first but since the crash, I'm note sure anymore.

I think my error was just wanting to install "ICS-rooting" (runit-win) before flashing the ICS rom...

If I could just acces to the internal flash memory, it would be great ^^'

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes