Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Google Adds New Features to Drive, Sheets, Slides and Docs

In the last few months, Google has been working very hard to adapt all its apps to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Gt-i9100 No Soft Buttons

OP SuperSpacecadet

14th April 2012, 05:17 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
I run a cell phone repair store and have recently run into some problems i'm hoping you guys can help me with.

I was bringing in the Samsung Galaxy s II completed front assembly parts for the last while and repairing broken screens.

Recently my supplier ran out of black galaxy S II fronts so I ordered white in place of them.

After installing the motherboard we realized there were no soft buttons, the home button clicks but the two touch buttons don't work.

The black fronts I have work but the white ones dont, is there a difference between the 2 phones? are they not identical and are the parts interchangeable?

Update:

I found a new supplier and ordered some Black assemblies and none of the soft buttons work on those either!! I don't understand!

Is there a compatibility issue here? I know the motherboard is good, is there a driver for the soft buttons or something? Some sort of firmware?

Thanks
14th April 2012, 08:06 AM   |  #2  
jsmasterx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag anjou
Thanks Meter: 75
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
When you click on them do you see the lights coming in ?

Maybe there's some connectors issue too
14th April 2012, 08:16 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
No there are no lights that come on, no response no lights. I just need some educated guesses, is this hardware or software?
14th April 2012, 10:49 AM   |  #4  
jsmasterx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag anjou
Thanks Meter: 75
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Strange.

Worked on original board but didnt worked after the installation of the new motherboard + cover.

I think something broke during the process. I know that those wires are kinda cheaps so maybe there is a wrong contact somewhere or a short.

I will guess with a short in your wiring

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
14th April 2012, 08:16 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
I would have thought that too except these are the completed front assemblies, all you do is remove the motherboard and move it over, there is no wiring involved. Could it be anything else other than hardware.
14th April 2012, 08:42 PM   |  #6  
jsmasterx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag anjou
Thanks Meter: 75
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
*#8999*8378# = Test Menu

*#8999*667# = Debug Mode

One of these two code have the built in option to check key press. It will show an hexadecimal number of the key while pressing.

Can you try it and tell me if the soft keys are recognized within the test key menu ?

If yes ill suggest to flash firmware with odin to have a clean phone

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
14th April 2012, 09:08 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Neither of these codes do anything, the lights are not even lit up. On my Galaxy S II when the phone boots the lights come on, it's almost like there is no power to the cable at all.
14th April 2012, 09:14 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
I know from previous experience with the SGS Vibrant that installing an old firmware edition and flashing the soft keys fix some problems, but at least they lit up even when they did not work. Could I possible have 7 fronts with bad buttons? What are the possibilities here?
14th April 2012, 11:11 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
is it on warranty?
id return to it
15th April 2012, 02:06 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by syndragon

is it on warranty?
id return to it

That is so not helpful as I have 6 with this problem and non of them are mine.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes