Samsung Galaxy S4 also Receives Android Lollipop Port

Once upon a time, when the original Samsung Galaxy S was just a dream for most XDA … more

How to Control Both Moto G and Moto E LEDs

Notification LEDs offer a great way to check for notification at a glance on the Moto G (2013) and … more

LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

A problem I have had with all ICS ROMs (mainly directed towards Devs)

OP IRASadPanda

14th April 2012, 06:19 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Johns Creek
Thanks Meter: 296
 
1,750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
On every ICS ROM I have used, the root is mounted as R/W by default and thus so are all the other partitions, is this intentional? Does not seem right to me.

Sent from Narnia
14th April 2012, 07:11 AM   |  #2  
kwes1020's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Port Arthur, Texas
Thanks Meter: 877
 
817 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Hmm I never really checked, but I don't recall noticing that. After I finish this theme I'll flash back to ics and look.

Edit: Actually I'm on modded stock 2.3.3 right now and it mounts root as r/w too. So I doubt its just ics. Everything after root is r/o until mounts.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
Last edited by kwes1020; 14th April 2012 at 07:47 AM.
14th April 2012, 07:55 AM   |  #3  
Mr. Apocalypse's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Houston, Tx
Thanks Meter: 1,503
 
1,681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
My init script mounts everything as R/W because:
1. That's my personal preference, since i build them for me first.
2. I feel that a rooted phone should have full read/write ability from the start.

Nobody has ever commented or asked me to change it in my roms, so i never did. If anyone has a problem with it, then we'll talk it over and i'll make a decision on whether or not to keep it, remove it, or give the user the option on how to mount their directories.

Just my opinion.....
Last edited by Mr. Apocalypse; 14th April 2012 at 08:00 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr. Apocalypse For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th April 2012, 07:59 AM   |  #4  
theking_13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,467
 
7,378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Why would this be a problem? Just curious.

Sent from my amazing G2x running EaglesBlood and Faux.
14th April 2012, 03:57 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Mr. Apocalypse, for what it's worth I prefer it the way that it is. I hate having to change it from R/O to R/W. I like that it's already done from the start!
14th April 2012, 06:32 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Isn't this the point if having root?!
14th April 2012, 06:38 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Johns Creek
Thanks Meter: 296
 
1,750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by r.snyder

Isn't this the point if having root?!

Not to keep it R/W, but to give apps you've given root access to to be able to access the root.

I feel that with it being R/W all the time apps I haven't given root access to could access root.

Maybe it's just my OCD tendencies but I like it to be R/O by default, guess I'll have to get over it

Sent from Narnia
14th April 2012, 07:07 PM   |  #8  
Klathmon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 230
 
320 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRASadPanda

Not to keep it R/W, but to give apps you've given root access to to be able to access the root.

I feel that with it being R/W all the time apps I haven't given root access to could access root.

Maybe it's just my OCD tendencies but I like it to be R/O by default, guess I'll have to get over it

Sent from Narnia

you can make a script that will set it R/O on startup if you really want it
3rd May 2012, 02:57 PM   |  #9  
Darkness30XX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 19
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
My biggest issues have been Mobile Data drops and the Video Camera. Mobile has been found to work flawlessly on some ICS ROMs, mostly those that stick to stock looks. I hope it gets fixed in all of them soon.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes