Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,777 Members 41,601 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

A problem I have had with all ICS ROMs (mainly directed towards Devs)

Tip us?
 
IRASadPanda
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 296
Posts: 1,750
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Johns Creek
Default A problem I have had with all ICS ROMs (mainly directed towards Devs)

On every ICS ROM I have used, the root is mounted as R/W by default and thus so are all the other partitions, is this intentional? Does not seem right to me.

Sent from Narnia
The sun is slowly fallin', we all should surely die eventually.
So what's your calling? Oh, you left your phone behind?
 
kwes1020
Old
(Last edited by kwes1020; 14th April 2012 at 06:47 AM.)
#2  
kwes1020's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 877
Posts: 817
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Port Arthur, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Hmm I never really checked, but I don't recall noticing that. After I finish this theme I'll flash back to ics and look.

Edit: Actually I'm on modded stock 2.3.3 right now and it mounts root as r/w too. So I doubt its just ics. Everything after root is r/o until mounts.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
Devices: Maguro Galaxy Nexus, LG T-Mobile G2x, SGS 4G, Vibrant

If you like my work or I have helped you please click Thanks!
 
Mr. Apocalypse
Old
(Last edited by Mr. Apocalypse; 14th April 2012 at 07:00 AM.)
#3  
Mr. Apocalypse's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1,371
Posts: 1,633
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston, Tx

 
DONATE TO ME
My init script mounts everything as R/W because:
1. That's my personal preference, since i build them for me first.
2. I feel that a rooted phone should have full read/write ability from the start.

Nobody has ever commented or asked me to change it in my roms, so i never did. If anyone has a problem with it, then we'll talk it over and i'll make a decision on whether or not to keep it, remove it, or give the user the option on how to mount their directories.

Just my opinion.....



Follow me on Twitter: MrApocalypseDEV
Github: MrApocalypse
Goo-inside.me mirrors:MrApocalypse

Nexus 5 (aka hammerhead)
ROM: Exodus - KK 4.4.4 - Stable 7

Nexus 7 2013 (aka flo)
ROM: Exodus - KK 4.4.4 - Stable 7

Samsung Vibrant
ROM:Rage-beta3

Samsung GSII (Epic 4G Touch)
ROM:ApocalyptoCM10.2 (Unreleased)

LG G2x (Retired)
ROM:ApocalyptoCM7 (Unreleased)

My Past Creations
ROMs(G2x):Bionix 3 | Bionix Reloaded | Genesis
Themes(Vibrant):BlacKnight|GingerRED v3 | Matrix Boot Animations
Kernels(Vibrant):Immortality | Immortality-CM | 99Problemz


The Following User Says Thank You to Mr. Apocalypse For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
theking_13
Old
#4  
theking_13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,467
Posts: 7,378
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Florida
Why would this be a problem? Just curious.

Sent from my amazing G2x running EaglesBlood and Faux.
Current
HTC One X

White Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1

History
HTC G1>Motorola Cliq>HTC Mytouch Slide 3G>Blackberry 8900>LG G-Slate>Samsung Vibrant>LG G2x>Samsung Galaxy Nexus>AT&T HTC One X>AT&T Samsung Galaxy S3>Motorola Xoom>HTC G2>HTC Sensation>Meizu MX>T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S3>Motorola Atrix HD>Asus TF101>iPhone 4S>iPhone 5>HTC One S>Samsung Galaxy S2

*If I helped you, hit the Thanks button! *
 
ala380
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 268
Join Date: Aug 2007
Mr. Apocalypse, for what it's worth I prefer it the way that it is. I hate having to change it from R/O to R/W. I like that it's already done from the start!
 
r.snyder
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 158
Join Date: Jan 2012
Isn't this the point if having root?!
 
IRASadPanda
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 296
Posts: 1,750
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Johns Creek
Quote:
Originally Posted by r.snyder View Post
Isn't this the point if having root?!
Not to keep it R/W, but to give apps you've given root access to to be able to access the root.

I feel that with it being R/W all the time apps I haven't given root access to could access root.

Maybe it's just my OCD tendencies but I like it to be R/O by default, guess I'll have to get over it

Sent from Narnia
The sun is slowly fallin', we all should surely die eventually.
So what's your calling? Oh, you left your phone behind?
 
Klathmon
Old
#8  
Klathmon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 230
Posts: 320
Join Date: May 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRASadPanda View Post
Not to keep it R/W, but to give apps you've given root access to to be able to access the root.

I feel that with it being R/W all the time apps I haven't given root access to could access root.

Maybe it's just my OCD tendencies but I like it to be R/O by default, guess I'll have to get over it

Sent from Narnia
you can make a script that will set it R/O on startup if you really want it
If i helped you, dont forget to hit THANKS!
 
Darkness30XX
Old
#9  
Darkness30XX's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 94
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Miami
My biggest issues have been Mobile Data drops and the Video Camera. Mobile has been found to work flawlessly on some ICS ROMs, mostly those that stick to stock looks. I hope it gets fixed in all of them soon.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes