Post Reply

[CDMA] ICS Installer v1.2 is released! 6.14.84.xt912 LEAK [USE AT YOUR OWN RISK]

14th April 2012, 02:22 PM   |  #1  
Rouxe41's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City
Thanks Meter: 60
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
UPDATE 8:56 PM 4/27/12: THERE ARE REPORTS OF THE LATEST LEAK MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE TO RETURN TO .173 or .181

UPDATE 6:18 PM 4/27/12: There is a new version of ICS out for our phones and its ready to be installed with ICS Installer v1.2

UPDATE 9:43 AM 4/27/12: Updated patch! There was an error with ADB in the Motofail root section of the utility, my tests weren't catching it because I have ADB on my path. Sorry everyone!

UPDATE 12:57 PM 4/25/12: seems there was a problem with the first option, I have fixed it in a patch. Download it and the bottom of this post and replace the ICSInstaller.bat file in the zip with this one. Sorry everyone.

UPDATE 4/25/12: New version of my utility is OUT NOW! I have included RSD Lite in the zip file and the fastboot file that is required to make the switch to ICS. I have updated and thoroughly tested my instructions, and if followed EXACTLY as written, you will retain root after your installation. It is almost 100% fool proof. Enjoy the update! It will be posted as soon as it uploads to google!

Updated:
the root exploit to use latest Superuser.apk and su bin
the process to install ICS
style and layout of utility for usability
full instructions to fix your phone if you do something wrong
added the full 6.12.173 fastboot file
added RSDLite installer with instructions for use(just in case)
added instructions to retain root through ICS install (has worked 100%)
- no terminal app needed

Overall I feel it is much easier to follow, and much harder to screw something up. I just gave it to someone that has no idea what they are doing and they were able to gain root, preserve root, install ICS and regain root access. It is pretty much fool proof

UPDATE: Going though the posts i can see some people are having trouble with the instructions. Sorry I wasn't clearer. You need to have never used bootstrap or safestrap. Rule of thumb is if you've done anything besides just getting root, you're gonna have a bad time.

CDMA ONLY

I know that a bunch of you wanna get your hands on the ICS leak, but can't/don't want to go through all the steps to do so. I have a solution.

I have written a small utility to automate the process.

I am trying to get in touch with mattlegroff to add it to his utility, but in the meantime, I will release a standalone version.


INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Make sure your phone is completely stock 6.12.181 (it's ok if it has been rooted)
2. Make sure you have NEVER installed bootstrap, safestrap, or cwm. (If you have used these, skip option 1 and use RSDLite 5.6)
3. Unzip ICSInstallerv1.2.rar to an empty folder
4. Double click the ICSInstaller.bat file
5. Please READ and FOLLOW all instructions! (you will retain root)
6. You now have ICS!


ONLY WORKS IN WINDOWS!
DOWNLOAD THE USB DRIVERS FIRST!
DRIVERS

Please like if this helps you out!

GET IT HERE ICS Utility v1.2USE AT OWN RISK
TORRENT: ICS Utility v1.2USE AT OWN RISK


For anyone having trouble...
DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Use option 1 or RSD to get to .173
2. Use option 5 to get OTA walkthrough
3. Use option 2 to root
4. Use option 4 to preserve root
5. Use option 7 to upgrade to ICS 6.14.84.xt912
6. Use option 8 to regain root after upgrade

REMEMBER TO READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS AFTER PRESSING ENTER TO CONTINUE!

Last edited by Rouxe41; 30th April 2012 at 04:17 PM. Reason: .84 leak 6.14.84.xt912 not working
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to Rouxe41 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th April 2012, 05:25 PM   |  #2  
flashman2002's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby/Wichita Kansas
Thanks Meter: 84
 
1,254 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Guess I will be the first one to try this on my wife's phone. What you did is just put the soak leak into an installer package just to be clear?
14th April 2012, 05:27 PM   |  #3  
afmracer6's Avatar
Senior Member
RENO NEVADA
Thanks Meter: 47
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Sweet!

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium
14th April 2012, 06:09 PM   |  #4  
johnny0911's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 14
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Will this work for non root users?

Sent from my DROID RAZR using xda premium
14th April 2012, 06:21 PM   |  #5  
flashman2002's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby/Wichita Kansas
Thanks Meter: 84
 
1,254 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny0911

Will this work for non root users?

Sent from my DROID RAZR using xda premium

Yes. You can root using his installer, but I am having issues with root. It would allow somethings access and not others. I reinstalled root with OTA rootkeeper app and it completely screwed my root. Not saying it is due to the installer because it worked perfectly. Just something with ICS I assume. I will try to get root back somehow and install my bootstrap recovery because without that, I can't install zip packages through CWM.

Edit: Chances are the root loss is because of ICS. It is a known issue and there are terminal emulator steps that can help regain root if it is lost. And upon further testing I still don't have root access for bootstrap, ROM toolbox and others. I would not say it is directly related to the installer but something is going on to not allow me root access. I have root and full SU access on my phone which I updated the long way from the other forum. Not sure what is up with this.
Last edited by flashman2002; 14th April 2012 at 06:35 PM.
14th April 2012, 07:15 PM   |  #6  
Rouxe41's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City
Thanks Meter: 60
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Yes you must root first before using the ICS installer.

Also:

ICS leak sometimes has an issue with previous root methods. Mine worked fine, but 3/5 of the test phones I used had troubles after the install. Use the terminal emulator or adb shell to run the commands.

To Restore Root on the Ics Leak (Edited 4/2/12 @ 12:39PM PT):
Download Android Terminal Emulator for free from the market.
Enter the following commands EXACTLY as you see them listed here:
/system/su-backup


mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/system /system


cp /system/su-backup /system/bin/su
​Exit terminal & reboot.
Root should be restored at this point!

Again, you can use the terminal emulator or ADB shell to do these commands.

EDIT: you can also update the Superuser.apk and su binary by going to this page:

SUPERUSER
Last edited by Rouxe41; 14th April 2012 at 07:18 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Rouxe41 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th April 2012, 07:18 PM   |  #7  
flashman2002's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby/Wichita Kansas
Thanks Meter: 84
 
1,254 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
That's what i did and it would not allow root to my apps. I am going to start over and do the long way and see what happens.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
14th April 2012, 07:21 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
498 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashman2002

That's what i did and it would not allow root to my apps. I am going to start over and do the long way and see what happens.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

The key is to update your SU binary BEFORE you use voodoo. The standard motofail installs an old version that isn't compatible with ICS, update SU = rooted ics.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using xda premium
14th April 2012, 08:18 PM   |  #9  
flashman2002's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby/Wichita Kansas
Thanks Meter: 84
 
1,254 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronin3178

The key is to update your SU binary BEFORE you use voodoo. The standard motofail installs an old version that isn't compatible with ICS, update SU = rooted ics.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using xda premium

I didn't have to do that on my personal phone when I updated to ICS using the method outlined on the other forum.
14th April 2012, 08:48 PM   |  #10  
therazrguy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 409
 
398 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
It works only for the cdma right?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes