Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,633 Members 38,140 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Update to ICS available this morning

Tip us?
 
daraldf
Old
#111  
daraldf's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 95
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elsmere
I'm becoming obsessed checking my A100 for the update every couple of hours. I live in KY. Oh well, maybe if I check again, it will finally be there.

Darald
 
dansul
Old
#112  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by goofball2k View Post
Checked and got mine this morning. Had to downgrade from the RC03 version I was running back to HC 2007.01 but did all the required upgrades (2) before I got the notice to update to ICS. Located in Ottawa.
Why did you had to downgrade ?
 
goofball2k
Old
#113  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 725
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ottawa
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansul View Post
Why did you had to downgrade ?
I checked before and it never found an OTA update. So I downgraded, and the OTA update was there.
The Following User Says Thank You to goofball2k For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dansul
Old
#114  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by goofball2k View Post
I checked before and it never found an OTA update. So I downgraded, and the OTA update was there.
I see. Did you used one of the stock HC roms available here in the forums? Thanks.
 
cheeb
Old
#115  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 190
Join Date: Dec 2006
.......................is there a reason why some of you don't just install the 014 stock rom from the dev section? It's the same rom as the ota....
 
hahne
Old
#116  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Is OTA ICS upgrade the same as the last beta?

I have 2 A100 tablets. On one I have been running the leaked betas of ICS and on the other I have been running stock 3.21. A couple of days ago I received the notice to do the OTA upgrade to ICS on the Honeycomb tablet. Much to my surprise, when the update was done, it showed the same version as the leaked beta: The Image version is Acer_AV041_A100_RV01RC03_WW_GEN1. This looks like a "release candidate" beta to me, not a final version of the operating system.

This sounds like Acer is sending out a late beta on the air. They appear to still be polishing ICS and I suspect we can expect other minor revisions, hopefully soon. Since ICS locks up much more than Honecomb and runs slower for many tasks, I hope they will continue to polish it.
 
isketerol
Old
#117  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 15
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default RC does not necessarily mean Release Candidate

It's a pretty big jump to assume that RC necessarily means "Release Candidate". The label that they used for the build has meaning only internally to Acer.

I have installed all of the leaked builds including the final one from ZeroNull. I have to say there is progressive improvement in reliability and usability.

I did find that you do need to do a factory reset after installing the upgrade from HoneyComb. If you don't, the upgrade does not clean out remnants of HC and you will have issues.
 
.Gibson.
Old
#118  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 211
Posts: 385
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by isketerol View Post
It's a pretty big jump to assume that RC necessarily means "Release Candidate". The label that they used for the build has meaning only internally to Acer.

I have installed all of the leaked builds including the final one from ZeroNull. I have to say there is progressive improvement in reliability and usability.

I did find that you do need to do a factory reset after installing the upgrade from HoneyComb. If you don't, the upgrade does not clean out remnants of HC and you will have issues.
I have been wondering the same thing. I do not see how people just assume that means Release Candidate 3. I have yet to see any Beta or Alpha in the build string. Plus, I have never seen anyone use RC03 when referring to RC3. I believe it is just an assumption with no basis that is floating around.
 
goofball2k
Old
#119  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 725
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ottawa
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansul View Post
I see. Did you used one of the stock HC roms available here in the forums? Thanks.
Yes, I was using the stock roms from the thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1544486

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeb View Post
.......................is there a reason why some of you don't just install the 014 stock rom from the dev section? It's the same rom as the ota....
If you mean from this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1611696 I did but I wanted to ensure that I had the official OTA since I may have to send this unit back to Acer for repair, it doesn't always detect an SD card when inserted and I have to eject and reinsert a few times.
The Following User Says Thank You to goofball2k For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Cooper 5150
Old
#120  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: linden
Default question

Has anyone received the update while being stock rooted only with 3.2? I am rooted and I want to make sure that I can still get it and if not I will flash other version, couldn't hurt to see. Let me know please thanks peoples!

Coop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes