Post Reply

[Q] htc location

OP raydm

17th April 2012, 05:34 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag chicago
Thanks Meter: 7
 
288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
So where is the free HTC navigation ? I thought it was part of sense .. can we cook it and install separately .I am on stock ics ... Att vivid.
17th April 2012, 05:40 PM   |  #2  
Aus_Azn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 107
 
896 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raydm

So where is the free HTC navigation ? I thought it was part of sense .. can we cook it and install separately .I am on stock ics ... Att vivid.

I have it on my Telstra one...

Just use Google Navigation. The ICS implementation is really nice.

Sent from my HTC Velocity 4G using XDA Premium App
17th April 2012, 07:44 PM   |  #3  
homeslice976's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Central Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 2,109
 
2,881 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
HTC Navigation is in the Locations app. Available for purchase by individual country for 9.99USD/30 days, 39.99USD/12months, 49.99/Unlimited

I love Google Navigation. Have never used HTC Navigation for the above reason
lmftmf
17th April 2012, 08:21 PM   |  #4  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by homeslice976

HTC Navigation is in the Locations app. Available for purchase by individual country for 9.99USD/30 days, 39.99USD/12months, 49.99/Unlimited

I love Google Navigation. Have never used HTC Navigation for the above reason

Same here its offers the same as the at&t navigator with the exception of the traffic camera notification.
17th April 2012, 09:53 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag chicago
Thanks Meter: 7
 
288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
And where is the location app ? There is att navigator which is different .. I guess att want some more cash from selling there offer.
Can some one extract HTC navigation from sensation ics and post ...
18th April 2012, 01:23 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 18
 
259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raydm

And where is the location app ? There is att navigator which is different .. I guess att want some more cash from selling there offer.
Can some one extract HTC navigation from sensation ics and post ...

On AT&T Vivids, the AT&T Navigator app probably replaced anything HTC might have added. I could not find an HTC branded navigation program on my Vivid. AT&T Navigator (and others based on the same system) has always been a fee-based program. My old HD2 had a similar program based on Navteq data. The fees would make sense only if you did a lot of traveling in unfamiliar areas.

Google Navigation (which shows up as a separate app, but is really part of Google Maps) works well as long as you have a data connection. (Actually you can pre-cache selected 10-mile wide areas for use without a data connection.)

Personally, I prefer Co-Pilot. I paid a flat, one-time fee of $30 (U.S.) and downloaded all the maps I need to my SD card. I can get updates as needed. And no data connection is required.
18th April 2012, 03:12 PM   |  #7  
vinceweis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fontana, CA
Thanks Meter: 23
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
When I select a contact from people and then select view location, an entirely different navigation program starts up. It is the locations program. It maps, but does not navigate as well as google maps unless you buy the nav part.

Sent from mobile phone.
Last edited by vinceweis; 18th April 2012 at 03:36 PM.
18th April 2012, 07:08 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag chicago
Thanks Meter: 7
 
288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
any rogers users collaborate on this. can we get htc location extracted from rogers version.
18th April 2012, 07:19 PM   |  #9  
homeslice976's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Central Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 2,109
 
2,881 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raydm

any rogers users collaborate on this. can we get htc location extracted from rogers version.

You don't have the locations app at all? I'm on WCX ATT Stock build and I have it. HTC Navigation is built into it. 30 day free trial, then prices as quoted above

Here's the HtcLaputa.apk and HtcLaputaInstaller.apk. Don't know if anything else is required.

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?n6i24rsqirvosld
Last edited by homeslice976; 18th April 2012 at 07:25 PM.
18th April 2012, 09:11 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 18
 
259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinceweis

When I select a contact from people and then select view location, an entirely different navigation program starts up. It is the locations program. It maps, but does not navigate as well as google maps unless you buy the nav part.

Sent from mobile phone.

On my AT&T Vivid, if I select a contact with an address, and tap on view address, I get a dialog asking me to choose between AT&T Navigator or Google Maps. I guess it all depends on what applicaitons HTC and/or the carrier installed the the various phones. I have a stock Vivid with ICS.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes