5,596,637 Members 41,910 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] htc location

Tip us?
 
raydm
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 288
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: chicago
Question [Q] htc location

So where is the free HTC navigation ? I thought it was part of sense .. can we cook it and install separately .I am on stock ics ... Att vivid.
 
Aus_Azn
Old
#2  
Aus_Azn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 896
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by raydm View Post
So where is the free HTC navigation ? I thought it was part of sense .. can we cook it and install separately .I am on stock ics ... Att vivid.
I have it on my Telstra one...

Just use Google Navigation. The ICS implementation is really nice.

Sent from my HTC Velocity 4G using XDA Premium App
Goodbye XDA, you won't be missed. Never have I seen a lousier Android community unwilling to take care of its devs.

Also, give me a refund for my XDA Premium app.
 
homeslice976
Old
#3  
homeslice976's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2093
Posts: 2,876
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Central Pennsylvania

 
DONATE TO ME
HTC Navigation is in the Locations app. Available for purchase by individual country for 9.99USD/30 days, 39.99USD/12months, 49.99/Unlimited

I love Google Navigation. Have never used HTC Navigation for the above reason
lmftmf Old
#4  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by homeslice976 View Post
HTC Navigation is in the Locations app. Available for purchase by individual country for 9.99USD/30 days, 39.99USD/12months, 49.99/Unlimited

I love Google Navigation. Have never used HTC Navigation for the above reason
Same here its offers the same as the at&t navigator with the exception of the traffic camera notification.
 
raydm
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 288
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: chicago
And where is the location app ? There is att navigator which is different .. I guess att want some more cash from selling there offer.
Can some one extract HTC navigation from sensation ics and post ...
 
brucegil
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 259
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Birmingham
Quote:
Originally Posted by raydm View Post
And where is the location app ? There is att navigator which is different .. I guess att want some more cash from selling there offer.
Can some one extract HTC navigation from sensation ics and post ...
On AT&T Vivids, the AT&T Navigator app probably replaced anything HTC might have added. I could not find an HTC branded navigation program on my Vivid. AT&T Navigator (and others based on the same system) has always been a fee-based program. My old HD2 had a similar program based on Navteq data. The fees would make sense only if you did a lot of traveling in unfamiliar areas.

Google Navigation (which shows up as a separate app, but is really part of Google Maps) works well as long as you have a data connection. (Actually you can pre-cache selected 10-mile wide areas for use without a data connection.)

Personally, I prefer Co-Pilot. I paid a flat, one-time fee of $30 (U.S.) and downloaded all the maps I need to my SD card. I can get updates as needed. And no data connection is required.
 
vinceweis
Old
(Last edited by vinceweis; 18th April 2012 at 03:36 PM.)
#7  
vinceweis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 172
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fontana, CA
When I select a contact from people and then select view location, an entirely different navigation program starts up. It is the locations program. It maps, but does not navigate as well as google maps unless you buy the nav part.

Sent from mobile phone.
1st Device: AT&T Vivid running WCX ICS 4.04 Sense 4.1 MOD or CM 11 Nightlies
2nd Device: Nook HD+ running CM 11 Nightlies
Other family phones: 2x HTC One-X, Samsung Galaxy Note 1, Tilt2 running Android
 
raydm
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 288
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: chicago
any rogers users collaborate on this. can we get htc location extracted from rogers version.
 
homeslice976
Old
(Last edited by homeslice976; 18th April 2012 at 07:25 PM.)
#9  
homeslice976's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2093
Posts: 2,876
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Central Pennsylvania

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by raydm View Post
any rogers users collaborate on this. can we get htc location extracted from rogers version.
You don't have the locations app at all? I'm on WCX ATT Stock build and I have it. HTC Navigation is built into it. 30 day free trial, then prices as quoted above

Here's the HtcLaputa.apk and HtcLaputaInstaller.apk. Don't know if anything else is required.

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?n6i24rsqirvosld
 
brucegil
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 259
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Birmingham
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinceweis View Post
When I select a contact from people and then select view location, an entirely different navigation program starts up. It is the locations program. It maps, but does not navigate as well as google maps unless you buy the nav part.

Sent from mobile phone.
On my AT&T Vivid, if I select a contact with an address, and tap on view address, I get a dialog asking me to choose between AT&T Navigator or Google Maps. I guess it all depends on what applicaitons HTC and/or the carrier installed the the various phones. I have a stock Vivid with ICS.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...