LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] bing 5.1.2010.6280 not working anymore?

OP hammerjr

19th April 2012, 05:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
have been running this version of bing since it came out and loved it. now keep getting message "sorry we couldn't find this location" or " we were unable to generate your route. try again?" same thing on wifes phone too. tried uninstalling and reinstalling but same thing. any ideas? if I just use locate me, it shows me on map and tracks me fine. no recent changes to our phones. is microsoft somehow not supporting this anymore?

mods, if this thread is in wrong place can you move it? I don't understand message I get about no questions in this forum? I have posted them in past?
28th April 2012, 04:48 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
WM 6.5 and Bing 5.1.2010.6280
I have same problem as previous poster - Bing can locate my current position but cannot locate any other position so navigation is unavailable.

Timing of this seems to be about when Microsoft dropped Windows marketplace for WM6.5 devices.

Are there any alternatives that provide turn-by-turn GPS navigation on WM6.5 devices? Any fixes for Bing?

Or is it time to move on to Windows Phone 7? If so I Will have to drop Verizon as they have no hardware selection, AT&T has some good stuff. Or maybe Android or iPhone...
29th April 2012, 08:08 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
oK, found this info from a thread on another forum.

msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc966764.aspx[/url]

this is the problem. was hoping someone could come up with fix? there is topic on migrating from tokens to keys, but it is code. since this is microsoft app, I guess they would have to rewrite the code. considering they turned their back on us win mo 6.5 users (stopped my phone service, stopping marketplace, now switching this bing) I doubt they will do it. Hoping someone else could?
5th May 2012, 05:31 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
bing wm6.5 gps fail
When I Google "bing wm6.5 gps fail" these posts above are top result, when I Bing it, nada.

Anyway, looking into the Bing config file I see a couple of interesting keys:

<add key="SearchPublicKeyUrl" value="http colon slash slash api.m.bing.net/SearchService/Search.svc/publickey" />

<add key="LocationServiceUrl" value="http colon slash slash api.m.bing.net/locateMeservice/locatemeservice.svc" />

Following the url to the locate me service appears to be an active service.

The url to search service indicates "Metadata publishing for this service is currently disabled."

The foregoing may be why my Bing on my WM 6.5 phone can locate me but find nothing else so navigation is effectively disabled.

911 and the Government/police can still track me tho...
Last edited by dannybill; 5th May 2012 at 05:43 PM. Reason: mispelling
6th May 2012, 11:12 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
this totally sucks! bing was a huge reason i am able to stick with a touch pro 2. now? why not just go to a dumbphone? or do i have to spend a good amount of money for something like copilot 8?

either way, major bummer
20th May 2012, 03:51 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Having same issue since Microsoft stop supporting windows 6.5
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes