FORUMS

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[How To] Flash Engineering HBOOT After S-OFF

21st April 2012, 11:44 PM |#1  
con247's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Ann Arbor
Thanks Meter: 3,121
 
More
Thread Locked. A replacement hboot has been developed by the Juopunutbear team. It is a patched 2.11 hboot that is similar to the engineering hboot, but won't cause as many issues. It also allows for fastboot commands without HTCDev.com unlock, but not the full engineering set so it is safer for the average user.
This is for old firmware folks only! IF ARE RUNNING THE ICS LEAK FIRMWARE, DON'T FLASH THIS! Thanks again to jcase for posting this a couple months ago!

Warning: If you try to S-ON the device with this HBOOT on it, it will BRICK. Restore the original hboot first via RUU.
Steps:
-1.S-OFF the device
0. Make sure you aren't on ICS firmware
1. CHECK MD5!!!!
2. Put PH98IMG.zip on SD card
3. Reboot to HBOOT
4. Flash bootloader when prompted with volume up.


MD5: E58BFA220BDBD58EB41C54FE36C240EE

HBOOT is probably the most critical part of the phone. If it bricks, it is not anyone's fault except yours!



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	engboot.jpg
Views:	11188
Size:	39.3 KB
ID:	1017919  
Attached Files
File Type: zip PH98IMG.zip - [Click for QR Code] (389.4 KB, 1720 views)
Last edited by con247; 25th April 2012 at 04:24 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to con247 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
22nd April 2012, 12:04 AM |#2  
graymonkey44's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 383
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by con247

This is for old firmware folks only!


Steps:
1. CHECK MD5!!!!
2. Put PH98IMG.zip on SD card
3. Reboot to HBOOT
4. Flash bootloader when prompted with volume up.


MD5: E58BFA220BDBD58EB41C54FE36C240EE

Is the one from JuopunutBear for the new firmware? I flashed it manually, but it doesn't say eng hboot.
22nd April 2012, 12:15 AM |#3  
con247's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Ann Arbor
Thanks Meter: 3,121
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graymonkey44

Is the one from JuopunutBear for the new firmware? I flashed it manually, but it doesn't say eng hboot.

Nope, this is the real one. It doesn't say JuopunutBear. I would advice against flashing theirs if you are on GB firmware.
Last edited by con247; 22nd April 2012 at 12:20 AM.
22nd April 2012, 12:18 AM |#4  
graymonkey44's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 383
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by con247

Nope, this is the real one. It doesn't say JuopunutBear. I would advice against flashing theirs.

Why not? And would it be possible to get an eng hboot for the new firmware?
22nd April 2012, 12:20 AM |#5  
con247's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Ann Arbor
Thanks Meter: 3,121
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graymonkey44

Why not? And would it be possible to get an eng hboot for the new firmware?

Probably not... if you are on the new firmware, flashing theirs is probably a good idea.
22nd April 2012, 12:21 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Chandler, AZ
Thanks Meter: 85
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graymonkey44

Why not? And would it be possible to get an eng hboot for the new firmware?

I also am wondering why not. I installed theirs and it seems to be fine.

Edit: Read the post above.
22nd April 2012, 12:57 AM |#7  
taptaptouch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kalamazoo
Thanks Meter: 147
 
More
Woah hold up, where did yall get the juopunut s-off? Their thread hasn't been posted in in a while
22nd April 2012, 12:58 AM |#8  
yojoe600's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greensboro, NC
Thanks Meter: 448
 
Donate to Me
More
check general my friend
22nd April 2012, 01:12 AM |#9  
graymonkey44's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 383
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yojoe600

check general my friend

That same hboot works on the new firmware, too. I've had it for a while actually.
22nd April 2012, 01:22 AM |#10  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 10,376
 
Donate to Me
More
If this is the eng hboot I posted, avoid flashing it unless you know exactly what you are doing.

It may have issues with newer ICS radios.
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes