FORUMS

Moto X Style, Moto X Play and Moto G Forums Are Here!

The latest family members of the new generation of Motorola devices are … more

Galaxy Unpacked: What is Samsung Going to Unveil?

Amidst all the hype of the OnePlus 2 and the rain of Moto 2015 news, Samsung tried … more

Arrow Launcher: Good Effort Without Direction

Microsoft’s Android expansion has been well received on the productivity front, but … more

Two New Moto X and New Moto G – Specs & Details

Today’s Moto event just ended and now we have a clear look at all of … more

[How To] Flash Engineering HBOOT After S-OFF

3,070 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,122
 
By con247, Retired Recognized Developer on 21st April 2012, 11:44 PM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Thread Locked. A replacement hboot has been developed by the Juopunutbear team. It is a patched 2.11 hboot that is similar to the engineering hboot, but won't cause as many issues. It also allows for fastboot commands without HTCDev.com unlock, but not the full engineering set so it is safer for the average user.
This is for old firmware folks only! IF ARE RUNNING THE ICS LEAK FIRMWARE, DON'T FLASH THIS! Thanks again to jcase for posting this a couple months ago!

Warning: If you try to S-ON the device with this HBOOT on it, it will BRICK. Restore the original hboot first via RUU.
Steps:
-1.S-OFF the device
0. Make sure you aren't on ICS firmware
1. CHECK MD5!!!!
2. Put PH98IMG.zip on SD card
3. Reboot to HBOOT
4. Flash bootloader when prompted with volume up.


MD5: E58BFA220BDBD58EB41C54FE36C240EE

HBOOT is probably the most critical part of the phone. If it bricks, it is not anyone's fault except yours!



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	engboot.jpg
Views:	11316
Size:	39.3 KB
ID:	1017919  
Attached Files
File Type: zip PH98IMG.zip - [Click for QR Code] (389.4 KB, 1764 views)
Last edited by con247; 25th April 2012 at 04:24 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to con247 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
22nd April 2012, 12:04 AM |#2  
graymonkey44's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 388
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by con247

This is for old firmware folks only!


Steps:
1. CHECK MD5!!!!
2. Put PH98IMG.zip on SD card
3. Reboot to HBOOT
4. Flash bootloader when prompted with volume up.


MD5: E58BFA220BDBD58EB41C54FE36C240EE

Is the one from JuopunutBear for the new firmware? I flashed it manually, but it doesn't say eng hboot.
22nd April 2012, 12:15 AM |#3  
con247's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Ann Arbor
Thanks Meter: 3,122
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graymonkey44

Is the one from JuopunutBear for the new firmware? I flashed it manually, but it doesn't say eng hboot.

Nope, this is the real one. It doesn't say JuopunutBear. I would advice against flashing theirs if you are on GB firmware.
Last edited by con247; 22nd April 2012 at 12:20 AM.
22nd April 2012, 12:18 AM |#4  
graymonkey44's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 388
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by con247

Nope, this is the real one. It doesn't say JuopunutBear. I would advice against flashing theirs.

Why not? And would it be possible to get an eng hboot for the new firmware?
22nd April 2012, 12:20 AM |#5  
con247's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Ann Arbor
Thanks Meter: 3,122
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graymonkey44

Why not? And would it be possible to get an eng hboot for the new firmware?

Probably not... if you are on the new firmware, flashing theirs is probably a good idea.
22nd April 2012, 12:21 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Chandler, AZ
Thanks Meter: 85
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graymonkey44

Why not? And would it be possible to get an eng hboot for the new firmware?

I also am wondering why not. I installed theirs and it seems to be fine.

Edit: Read the post above.
22nd April 2012, 12:57 AM |#7  
taptaptouch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kalamazoo
Thanks Meter: 147
 
More
Woah hold up, where did yall get the juopunut s-off? Their thread hasn't been posted in in a while
22nd April 2012, 12:58 AM |#8  
yojoe600's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greensboro, NC
Thanks Meter: 452
 
Donate to Me
More
check general my friend
22nd April 2012, 01:12 AM |#9  
graymonkey44's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 388
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yojoe600

check general my friend

That same hboot works on the new firmware, too. I've had it for a while actually.
22nd April 2012, 01:22 AM |#10  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 11,270
 
Donate to Me
More
If this is the eng hboot I posted, avoid flashing it unless you know exactly what you are doing.

It may have issues with newer ICS radios.
22nd April 2012, 01:35 AM |#11  
con247's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Ann Arbor
Thanks Meter: 3,122
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase

If this is the eng hboot I posted, avoid flashing it unless you know exactly what you are doing.

It may have issues with newer ICS radios.

It is. That is why it states GB firmware only at the top.

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes