Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

[Q] Unable to write to "/system" on rooted LC4

23rd April 2012, 07:13 PM   |  #1  
Mister_Mxyzptlk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville, KY
Thanks Meter: 264
 
649 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
I am unable to write to my system partition on LC4. I flashed the superuser zip. Am I missing something?

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Mister_Mxyzptlk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 11:17 PM   |  #2  
icenight89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 718
 
2,602 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Yup, if ur using the original UCLA4 leak u need an unsecured kernel, mohan_kr or romracer unsecured
24th April 2012, 02:49 AM   |  #3  
Mister_Mxyzptlk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville, KY
Thanks Meter: 264
 
649 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Well, I flashed both and still can't write to system.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk
24th April 2012, 02:55 AM   |  #4  
icenight89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 718
 
2,602 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Then u need a custom rom



*#* Google dropbox, its useful.
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTcwNDE0ODUyOQ *#*
24th April 2012, 03:54 AM   |  #5  
cdshepherd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,176
 
1,886 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister_Mxyzptlk

I am unable to write to my system partition on LC4. I flashed the superuser zip. Am I missing something?

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk

Are you trying to push with adb?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
24th April 2012, 05:36 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
What are you using to write to /system ? Root explorer ? Make sure you mount partition as R/W.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA
24th April 2012, 02:58 PM   |  #7  
Mister_Mxyzptlk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville, KY
Thanks Meter: 264
 
649 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Mount as read/write doesn't work.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk
24th April 2012, 03:38 PM   |  #8  
icenight89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 718
 
2,602 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Flash a new ics custom rom, problem solved.



*#* Google dropbox, its useful.
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTcwNDE0ODUyOQ *#*
27th April 2012, 11:32 PM   |  #9  
promiseofcake's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 82
 
493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Was unable to get it to work no matter what I did until I flashed the Alien Base and am going from there. Decided to stop wasting time and just use that as a starting block.
28th April 2012, 06:38 PM   |  #10  
galaxyuser88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag On These Forums.
Thanks Meter: 397
 
487 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Here try this.. It has worked for me many times. Now i dont have any problems with losing root. It seems that when you wipe data/cache/dalvik and install a custom rom, or if you try to flash a custom rom without doing any wipe and get FC or any issues and you boot into CWM and do a wipe of any kind, this inculdes using any type of wiping program.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9&postcount=35

I know many people will say that this is not the problem, but i have tried numerous things to keep root with no luck until i did this and it works. This problem keeps popping it ugly head up every now and then (when i try to install a custom rom and have to do a wipe of anykind, but i just do what is in the above post and problem gone. What developers should do is when posting a custom rom, tell the people what version/type of root they used, and what version of busybox they are using, so that everyone can be on the same page and setting as the developers. Just my 2 cents. ( Flame On - if you want to build your post count or have nothing better to do.)
Last edited by galaxyuser88; 28th April 2012 at 06:44 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes