MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[How-to] S-Off ext SD Fix (With Screenshots)

OP sindroidx

23rd April 2012, 08:50 PM   |  #1  
sindroidx's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Guys, noticed a few people having trouble with the sd card fix so I ran it and took screenshots. Each screenshot is what you should see after running the command listed above the screenshot. (I am not going to post screenshots of how to open the command prompt.. if you made it this far you should already know)

Disclaimer: This formats your SD Card.

This requires busybox. I utilized the busybox installer found at https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...51bGwsMSwyLDNd


1. adb shell


2. busybox fdisk /dev/block/mmcblk1


3. type the letter "o"


4. type the letter "w"


5. busybox fdisk /dev/block/mmcblk1


6. Type the letter "n"


7. Type the letter "p" for primary


8. Type the number "1" for first partition


9. Press the enter key for default size.


10. Press the enter key for default size.


11. Type the letter "w"


12. busybox mkfs.vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p1


Edit: Step 13.. On your phone, click on the Notification that states "Blank SD Card" and choose format, the card should then format and mount properly.


This is my first How-to so if something does not make sense please let me know. Hope this helps guys.
Last edited by sindroidx; 24th April 2012 at 03:24 PM.
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to sindroidx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 09:01 PM   |  #2  
luis86dr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jersey
Thanks Meter: 1,591
 
2,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Nicely done. I'll add this to my FAQ thread. Great guide.

Sent from my Htc Rezound
Follow me on twitter @lmrtech
23rd April 2012, 09:48 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Somebody tipped me off to the "adb shell" and then proceed portion prior to this walkthrough, but I know others struggled with this issue as well. I'm sure they'll appreciate this info, thanks!
23rd April 2012, 10:11 PM   |  #4  
nnnnr14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lagrange
Thanks Meter: 243
 
1,452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Im getting this after entering the letter "w"
fdisk: WARNING: rereading partition table failed, kernel still uses old table: D
evice or resource busy
23rd April 2012, 10:24 PM   |  #5  
sindroidx's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nnnnr14

Im getting this after entering the letter "w"
fdisk: WARNING: rereading partition table failed, kernel still uses old table: D
evice or resource busy

Hmm, never got that before. Do you have your device mounted as Charge only? Also may reboot the device see if that resolves it.. Last would be to run it through the terminal emulator on the phone (that is how I fixed mine the first time, its a pain but it worked).

When doing it through the terminal emulator on the phone though you do not need to use the adb shell command, just the busybox commands.
23rd April 2012, 10:54 PM   |  #6  
nnnnr14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lagrange
Thanks Meter: 243
 
1,452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sindroidx

Hmm, never got that before. Do you have your device mounted as Charge only? Also may reboot the device see if that resolves it.. Last would be to run it through the terminal emulator on the phone (that is how I fixed mine the first time, its a pain but it worked).

When doing it through the terminal emulator on the phone though you do not need to use the adb shell command, just the busybox commands.

what radio are you using? like are you on the new leak or the old one..
23rd April 2012, 11:01 PM   |  #7  
sindroidx's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nnnnr14

what radio are you using? like are you on the new leak or the old one..

First time (when I ran it on my phone) I was on the ICS leak. When I took the screenshots for this post I had downgraded to the GB RUU so I could install the eng hboot.
23rd April 2012, 11:03 PM   |  #8  
graymonkey44's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 365
 
799 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
I'll add this to my OP in the S-Off Instructions thread. Thanks a lot.
24th April 2012, 12:31 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
i i followed the instructions to the t but i never got the root@android...my prompt is sh-3.2#, i didnt have any errors or anything but it still is not recognized when i plug it into the computer, i also tried it from the emulator on the phone and i get the warning about the kernel still uses old table, device or resource busy, any thoughts?
Last edited by hoebag; 24th April 2012 at 12:35 AM.
24th April 2012, 12:54 AM   |  #10  
sindroidx's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoebag

i i followed the instructions to the t but i never got the root@android...my prompt is sh-3.2#, i didnt have any errors or anything but it still is not recognized when i plug it into the computer, i also tried it from the emulator on the phone and i get the warning about the kernel still uses old table, device or resource busy, any thoughts?

Did you format the SD card at the end? Don't have a screenshot for that one since I had already got mine working but if no errors happened, you should be able to click on the notification that states "Blank SD Card" and choose format and it should format then mount.

Edit: Just modified OP for step 13.
Last edited by sindroidx; 24th April 2012 at 12:56 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes