Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,943 Members 52,919 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SMS INCREASE] REMOVE the 160+ SMS Limit on WP7 for HTC Arrive GOLD_C

Tip us?
 
mapaz04
Old
(Last edited by mapaz04; 3rd October 2012 at 08:39 PM.) Reason: UPDATE DUE TO CELL TOWERS
#1  
mapaz04's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 302
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Cool [SMS INCREASE] REMOVE the 160+ SMS Limit on WP7 for HTC Arrive GOLD_C

THIS METHOD IS DEPENDANT OF THE TOWERS NEAR YOU. PLEASE READ THE END OF THIS POST TO SEE A QUOTE FROM LEADPOIZON ABOUT THIS.

Alright, after searching time and time again. Trying time and time again... And Failing time and time again... (jejeje) I was finally successful at sending multiple messages through the HTC Arrive... I feel so stupid for not trying this as one of the first things but hey... You gotta deal with your own stupidity at times ... jejeje.
Anyway, what you guys have been waiting for...

HOW TO REMOVE THE 160 CHARACTER SMS LIMIT ON WP7
(I can only try this on the HTC Arrive as I do NOT have any other WP7 device)

I HAVE TESTED THIS ON ANSAR's CUSTOM ROM'S (16.04 TANGO V1 8773) DFT's CUSTOM ROM (Freedom V1) LEADPOIZONS ROMS (ALREADY INCLUDED IN SETTINGS ON BOTH 7.5 AND 7.8 ROMS) SIANTOS ROM (WP7.8 ALL)
BUT AS OF NOW, ITS DEPENDANT ON THE COMMUNICATION TOWERS NEAR YOU

Use the included REGISTRY EDITOR on EITHER ROM's to edit entree:

1.) Go to HKLM\Comm\Cellular\SMS\Router\CDMA and change the Contantenation entry from a 0 to a 1

2.)Select the EXIT from the Registry Editor
3.) Go to your text messages and try to send a 161+ character text message to YOURSELF

DEPENDING ON YOUR LOCATION, YOU MAY RECEIVE THE MULTIPLE MESSAGE... IF YOU DONT, CONTINUE TO HOPEFULLY TROUBLESHOOT

4.) REBOOT YOUR PHONE!!!
5.) Once your phone is back up, go back to the text hub and click on RETRY SEND to send the text message.
(This message will leave this time with no response from the Messaging App.)
***WAIT A MINUTE OR TWO TO RECEIVE THE MESSAGE, IF YOU DONT RECEIVE THEN FOLLOW THE NEXT STEP***

6.) Go back to your text hub and TYPE A NEW 161+ character message and try to send yourself again. This time you should receive 2+ messages after going through the network.

You can combine this tweak with my unlimited MMS size tweak and you are good to go!!! You can now have unlimited SMS characters and MMS size... jejeje
(For the MMS post, go here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1606865 )

THERE YOU GO... 160+SMS MESSAGE IS POSSIBLE THROUGH WP7... HTC ARRIVE... THANKS GO OUT TO ANSAR AND DFT FOR THE ROMS AND A SPECIAL THANKS TO LEADPOIZON FOR ALL THE HELP.



`-`-`-`-`-`UPDATE REGARDING THE COMM TOWERS, IF YOU HAVE ISSUES, PLEASE READ`-`-`-`-`-`

SINCE THERE HAVE BEEN DIFFERENT SUCCESS STORIES/FAILURES WITH THIS TWEAK WE HAVE BEEN PURSUING A "GLOBAL" FIX... JEJEJE. AFTER MUCH TESTING, LEADPOIZON CAME UP WITH WHAT WE THINK MAY BE FINAL RESULTS...

Quote:
Originally Posted by leadpoizon View Post
MY FINAL RESULTS:

This method is dependent on the towers near you, because of the following*:

Some Mobile Phone Operating Systems are designed to split up texts whens they are sent over the 160 character limit before they are sent to the network (even dumb phones can do this). Windows Phone does not seem to have this capability, it sends your message in its' entirety to the network and hopes that the network can sort it out into split texts. The problem is, not all Sprint towers seem to support this. For that reason, Sprint completely disabled the option to send a text over 160 characters.

When you know this method will work**:

1. Make the registry Edit (Reboots is not really needed, WP dynamically monitors the registry, it seems.)
2. Send yourself a text over the 160 characters. (It should allow you to after the registry edit.)
3. The text will give you an error either instantly or in a few minutes.
4. Reboot, if you want (just to be sure.). Then, resend the same text.
5. It will send without errors and you should receive the content back in more than one text. Done.

When you know this method will NOT work**:

1. Make the registry Edit (Reboots is not really needed, WP dynamically monitors the registry, it seems.)
2. Send yourself a text over the 160 characters. (It should allow you to after the registry edit.)
3. The text will not give you an error. After a LONG time (an hour or so, you will get the error.)
4. During the time between you sending the text and receiving the error, your MMS and SMS will be broken and you most likely will not receive or be able to send texts.
5. Reboot your phone and things should be back to normal. Change the registry back to default value to avoid making an accidental text over 160 characters. Go yell at MS and Sprint.

* Only speculation after my trials
** YMMV
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	371
Size:	111.5 KB
ID:	1021576   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	204
Size:	106.5 KB
ID:	1021577   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	96.4 KB
ID:	1021578   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	1021579   Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	76.3 KB
ID:	1021580  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	1021581  
teaMJPx/mapaz04 - WP7 & Android - Hit "THANKS" if i've been able to help you
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to mapaz04 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dandrayan
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
I've tried this registry key before without success, but I tried your directions anyway. I'm running the DFT Freedom ROM, but I never get the first "can't send" message. After rebooting, I can send texts like normal until I try to send one that is 161+ characters long. Then all messages fail to send, regardless of length until I reboot again. There has to be some other setting or registry key change that you have which, in combination with he CDMAConcatenation entry, allows it to work on your handset. I believe you did it, we just need to figure out what the magic combination is!
 
mapaz04
Old
(Last edited by mapaz04; 24th April 2012 at 06:35 AM.)
#3  
mapaz04's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 302
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by dandrayan View Post
I've tried this registry key before without success, but I tried your directions anyway. I'm running the DFT Freedom ROM, but I never get the first "can't send" message. After rebooting, I can send texts like normal until I try to send one that is 161+ characters long. Then all messages fail to send, regardless of length until I reboot again. There has to be some other setting or registry key change that you have which, in combination with he CDMAConcatenation entry, allows it to work on your handset. I believe you did it, we just need to figure out what the magic combination is!
I would agree with you except that I have reset the phone (Even FULL FACTORY RESET WITH ANSAR's)... Flashed to DFT and tried it, then flashed back into ANSAR's rom and tried it again... It worked when I did exactly the top... For some reason... I litteraly made this the ONLY edit on those ROM's to ensure it worked... and it did...


EDIT 1: And you did follow to the letter correct? No other texts until the process was done? I am currently downloading a STOCK ROM... I will flash to it and try, then I will flash back and report my findings... Again, as of now, I have been able to follow the directions I have posted and been successful 100% of the times...
teaMJPx/mapaz04 - WP7 & Android - Hit "THANKS" if i've been able to help you
 
dandrayan
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
I can't follow to the letter because I never get the "can't send" message. Otherwise, yes, I've followed the instructions exactly. No other texts incoming or outgoing besides the ones in your instructions.

I wonder if it's dependent on a setting at the tower or on the account within Sprint's systems that allows this?
 
mapaz04
Old
#5  
mapaz04's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 302
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by dandrayan View Post
I can't follow to the letter because I never get the "can't send" message. Otherwise, yes, I've followed the instructions exactly. No other texts incoming or outgoing besides the ones in your instructions.

I wonder if it's dependent on a setting at the tower or on the account within Sprint's systems that allows this?
I was thinking thesame thing... to an extent... You know how Microsoft was resetting devices as they were being unlocked? That is, once you synched with their server, your unlock would be gone...

When I first tried this it did not work... I gave up that day and came back to it yesterday... I have to say that the tweak was in my system for at least 24hrs... maybe there is something that has now bypassed this on MY particular account? I dont know...

Also: I just flashed a stock (Well not unlocked/tweaked/or anything) ROM and did a full factory reset, then I updated my PROFILE and PRL just to make sure that no settings were left on the phone from the previous flash. I then proceeded to flash the DFT ROM and all I had to do was the registry edit, when I went to the messaging... I sent the 161+ sms...

I dont know... Id have to say something flicked the switch... on one side or the other... Would you mind checking tomorrow throughout the day to see if this may be the issue...

If this is the issue, it makes sense why nobody had found it yet, they did the edit and did not let it get "registered" in their phone??? jejeje... Too many questions... jejeje
teaMJPx/mapaz04 - WP7 & Android - Hit "THANKS" if i've been able to help you
 
dandrayan
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Interesting theory. I'll keep the setting on and try again tomorrow to see if there is any change. Thanks for the help!
 
atm153
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 54
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lincoln
Worked on my Ansar 8773 V1 install! Thanks! Only complaint I had with this phone up to now.
 
mapaz04
Old
#8  
mapaz04's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 302
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by atm153 View Post
Worked on my Ansar 8773 V1 install! Thanks! Only complaint I had with this phone up to now.
AWESOME!!! Glad it worked for you...
teaMJPx/mapaz04 - WP7 & Android - Hit "THANKS" if i've been able to help you
 
atm153
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 54
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lincoln
Quote:
Originally Posted by mapaz04 View Post
AWESOME!!! Glad it worked for you...
Yeah, I just wish I knew why it wasn't working for dandrayan. Not enough to flash DFT Freedom to my Arrive though :P
 
houdini13
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jan 2007
Thanks Man. It worked for me without rebooting on dft. I made the change, and tried to send a 161 test to myself. It sent fine with no error and I received both texts within a minute. Thanks!

Tags
160character, limit, sms, sprint
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes